Skip to main content

Full text of "The Concord directory and guide: contains a complete resident and business ..."

See other formats


This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 







DEC 



6 1949 

Are e«..._ 



»G»«UAre SCHOOL 



iDigitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



V 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by LjOOQ IC 




:ory and Guide 



Contains a Complete Resident and Business 
Directory of the Town 

Names of Streets and their Location, Town Officers, Schools, Churches, 
Societies, Organizations, etc. Also, Historical Points of Interest, 

AND 

"WHAT TO see, and HOW TO SEE FT" 



CONCORD, MASS. 

E. H. SMITH & CO., Publishers 
1892 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 




BBACX>N PRBSS: 

THOMAS TODD, PRINTER, 

I SOMERSET ST., BOSTON. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE 

Advertisements 126-162 

Agricultural Society 97 

Antiquarian Society 94 

Banks 113 

Blocks and Buildings 12 

Business Directory (Concord) 50-61 

" ** (outside patrons) 4-6 

Cemeteries 12 

Charitable Society 87 

Churches and Church Societies 76-86 

Clubs, etc 87-106 

Concord Artillery 116, 117 

Concord Home School 114-116 

Concord Junction Hall Association 95 

Concord Lyceum 97»98 

Court, Central Middlesex District 74i75 

Fire Department 70-72 

Historical Tablets 122, 123 

Home for the Aged 88 

Index to Advertisers 163-165 

Justices of Peace and Notaries Public . . . • 74, 7 5 

Manufactories 106-109 

Massachusetts Reformatory 109-112 

Middlesex Mutual Fire Insurance Co. . . . 113,114 

Old Concord Post, G. A. R 95-97 

Parks and Public Grounds 12 

Places OF Interest 124,125 

Ponds and Rivers 13 

Post Offices 14 

Public Library 73 

Public Schools . 66-69 

Railroad Stations 13 

Resident Directory '5-49 

Societies, Lodges, Orders, etc 87-106 

STREEp. Directory 9-11 

TEM^EtiANCE Unions 88,89 

Town Officers 62-64 

Town Precincts 64, 65 

Town Valuation 62 

Water Works 74 

Weather Bureau 75 

WHAT TO SEE AND HOW TO SEE IT 118-121 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY OF PATRONS OUTSIDE 
OF CONCORD. 



Auctioneer. 
FORBUSH, OTIS H., East Acton. wSee page . . 130 

Carriage Painter. 
GARFIELD, MOSES B., East Acton. See page . . .130 

Caterer. 

COOK, T. D., & CO., 23 Avon St., Boston. Seepage . . 127 

Cattle Dealers. 

ROBBINS, CHAUNCY B., East Acton. See page . . .136 
ROBBINS, WEBSTER C, East Acton. Seepage ... 136 



Commission Merchants. 

BENJAMIN, W. W., 26 Mercantile St., Boston. See page 
DERBY, E. J., & CO., 46 Commercial St., Boston. See page 
NICKLES, DARMODY & CO., 14 Mercantile St., Boston. 

See page . 

PEABODY BROTHERS, 22 Mercantile St., Boston. See page 



127 
136 

134 
129 



Dry Goods. 
PEOPLE'S DRY GOODS CO., Maynard. See page . . 132 

Fertilizer. 

BOWKER FERTILIZER CO., 43 Chatham St., Boston. See 

page 139 

Furniture. 
KEELER & CO., cor. Washington and Elm Sts., Boston. See page, 1 26 

General Store. 

TUTTLES, JONES & WETHERBEE, South Acton. See page, 135 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 5 

Horse Dealer. 

ROBBINS, WEBSTER C, East Acton. See page ... 136 

Hotels. 

AMERICAN HOUSE, 50 Hanover St., Boston. See page . 128 

BEDFORD HOUSE, Bedford. See page 132 

Insurance Companies. 

C. F. SMITH, AGENT FOR 

NEW YORK LIFE INSURANCE CO. See page ... 134 

WILLIAM BARRETT, AGENT FOR 

iETNA INSURANCE CO. Seepage , .... 159 

AMERICAN INSURANCE CO. See page .... 159 

BOYLSTON INSURANCE CO. See page .... 160 

CAMBRIDGE MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE CO. See page, 159 

GERMAN-AMERICAN INSURANCE CO. See page . . 160 

HOLYOKE MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE CO. See page . 158 

HOME INSURANCE CO., of New York. See page . . 160 

INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH AMERICA. See page, 161 

MERRIMACK MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE CO. See page, 158 

PHCENIX INSURANCE CO., of Hartford. See page . . 161 

PROVIDENCE WASHINGTON INSURANCE CO. See page, 161 

QUINCY MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE CO. See page . 158 
SPRINGFIELD FIRE & MARINE INSURANCE CO. See 

page 161 

TRADERS' & MECHANICS* MUTUAL FIRE INSUR- 
ANCE CO. See page 158 

. WORCESTER MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE CO. See page, 159 

Men's Outfitters. 

THE W. H. RICHARDSON CO., 385 Washington St., Boston. 

See page 127 

Millinery. 

McCALLAR, J. F., 172 Hanover St., Boston. See page . . 134 

Nursery. 

TEBBETTS BROTHERS, Bedford. See page . . . .129 

Paints, Oils, Etc. 

JOHNS, H. W., M'F'G CO., 119 Federal St., Boston. See page, 135 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



6 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Printers. 

BEACON PRESS, JA Beacon St., Boston. See page . . 131 

ENTERPRISE PRINTING CO., Hudson. Seepage . . 137 

Publishers. 

LOTHROP, D., CO., 366 Washington St., Boston. See page . 128 

Reflectors. 

WHEELER REFLECTOR CO., 24 Washington St., Boston. 

See page 126 

Seeds, Bulbs, Etc. 

RAWSON, W. W., & CO., 34 South Market St., Boston. See page, 129 
Silver and Plated Ware. 

REED & BARTON, Taunton. Seepage 133 

Stationer. 
GROOM, T., & CO., 82 State St, Boston. See page . . 126 

Tailors. 

BROOKS, W. C, & CO., 15 MUk St., Boston. See page . . 129 
TOLMAN & BILLINGS, 7 Park St., Boston. See page . . 130 

Typewriters. 

BELCHER, W. M., & CO., 36 Bromfield St., Boston.. See page . 136 
REMINGTON TYPEWRITER, 15 School St., Boston. See page, 134 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



PREFACE. 



The publishers of the Concord Directory and 
Guide, while meeting with many obstacles in its prep- 
aration, have endeavored to make it correct and com- 
plete. Errors may be discovered, but we trust they 
will be few. The accounts of the various clubs, soci- 
eties, organizations, etc., have been verified by persons 
interested oflScially. We desire to express our thanks 
to all friends who have assisted us ; and would call par- 
ticular attention to the fine list' of advertisers, without 
whose aid and support we would have been unable 
to publish this little book ; we bespeak for them the 
patronage of our readers. 

The Concord Directory and Guide is offered to 
the public on its merits alone, and not in competition 
or comparison with any books of a similar character 
that have been written. 

E. H. SMITH & CO. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Concord. 



Incorporated September 12, 1635. 



Att the Genall Court holden att Newe Towne, 
Sept. 2, 1635, It is ordered that there shalbe a Plantac6n 
att Musketequid, & that there shalbe 6 myles of land 
square to belong to it, & that the inhabitants thereof 
shall have three yeares Immunities from all publ charges 
except traineings ; Further that when any that plant 
there shall have occac6n of carryeing of goods thither, 
they shall repaire to two of the nexte mgistrates 
where the teames are, whoe shall have power for a 
yeare to presse draughts att reasonable rates, to be 
payde by the owners of the goods, to transport their 
goods thither att seasonable tymes ; & the name of 
the place is changed, & hereafter to be called, 

CONCORD. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Street Directory. 



Academy Lane — from Main Street to Sudbury Road. 
Barrett's Mill Road — from Hildreth's Corner to Reform- 
atory. 
Barnes Hill Road — from Estabrook Road to Hildreth's 

Corner. 
Bedford Road, Old — from Merriam's Corner to Bedford 

line. 
Bedford Street — from Monument Square to Bedford Road. 
Belknap Street — from Main Street to Fair Ground. 
Bow Street — from Lowell Road to Boston & Maine 

Station. 
Byron Street — from Grant Street, to land of Fitchburg 

Railroad. 
Cambridge Turnpike — from Lexington Road to Lincoln 

line. 
Commonwealth Avenue — from Elm Street to Laws 

Brook Road. 
Conant Street — from Laws Brook Road to land adjoining 

Fitchburg Railroad. 
Cottage Street — from Old Stow Road to Old Marlboro 

Road. 
Crest Street — from Old Stow Road to its junction with 

Cottage Street. 
Davis Court — off Bedford Street. 

Devens Street — from Sudbury Road to Hubbard Street. 
Elm Street — from Main Street to Acton line. 
Estabrook Road — from Liberty Street to Carlisle line. 
Everett Street — from Walden Street to a point which 

would intersect with Stow Street. 
Elsinore Street — off Grant Street (not a town way). 

(9) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



JO CONCORP DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Fairhaven Street — from Sudbury Road to a private way 

to Fairhaven Hill. 
Grant Street — from Belknap Street to Sudbury Road. 
Hey wood Street — from Walden Street to Lexington Road, 
Hubbard Street — from Walden Street to the Railroad. 
Lang Street — from Monument Street to Boston & Maine 

Station. 
Laws Brook Road — from the Pail Factory to Acton line. 
Lexington Road — from Monument Square to Lincoln line. 
Liberty Street — from Lowell Road to Monument Street. 
Lov^ell Road — from Monument Square to Carlisle line. 
Main Street — from Monument Square to the Fitchburg 

Railroad Crossing. 
Middle Street — from Academy Lane to Thoreau Street. 
Monument Square — junction of Main Street, Lowell 

Road, Monument Street, Bedford Street, and Lexington 

Road. 
Monument Street — from Monument Square to Carlisle 

line. 
Nashawtuc Avenue —from Main Street to the Reservoir. 
Nine Acre Corner — Old Road, from Old Stow Road to 

Sudbury Road. 
Potter Street — from Fairhaven Street to Sudbury Road. 
River Street — from Elm Street to Main Street. 
Road to Willard Common — extension of Nashawtuc 

Avenue. 
Stow Street — from Sudbury Road to Hubbard Street. 
Strawberry-Hill Road — from Barrett's Mill Road to 

Acton line. 
Sudbury Road — from Main Street to Sudbury line. 
Thoreau Street — from Main Street to Walden Street. 
Virginia Road — from Old Bedford Road to Lincoln line. 
Walden Street — from Main Street to Lincoln line. 
Wood Street — from Elm Street to Main Street. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. II 



NAMES APPLIED BY THE INHABITANTS, BUT 
NOT ACCEPTED BY THE TOWN. 



Baker Avenue — from Elm Street to Main Street, near the 
Harness Manufactory. 

Derby Street — off Main Street, Concord Junction. 

Dowd's Lane — off Bedford Street. 

Fitchburg Turnpike — from Lee's Bridge, Nine Acre Cor- 
ner, to Sudbury line. 

Garfield Road — from Sudbury Road to Fitchburg Turn- 
pike, Nine Acre Corner. 

Harvard Road, Old — from junction Commonwealth Ave. 
and Barrett's Mill Road to Acton line. 

Love Lane — from Lexington Road to Cambridge Turnpike. 

Main Street — from Fitchburg Railroad Crossing to Acton 
line (Old Stow Road). 

Marlboro Road, Old — from Old Road to Nine Acre 
Corner to Sudbury line. 

Pine Street — off Main Street, Concord Junction. 

Railroad Lane — off Belknap Street. 

Seven Star Lane — from Sudbury Road to Old Road to 
Nine Acre Corner. 

Stow Road, Old — from Main Street, Concord Junction, 
to Acton line, near Powder Mills. 

Town Way — from Sudbury Road (on a curve) to Fitch- 
burg Turnpike, Nine Acre Comer. 

Westf ord Road — from Lowell Road to Carlisle line. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



12 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

BLOCKS AND BUILDINGS. 
Association Building . Laws Brook Road, Concord June. 

Brown's Block Main Street. 

Court House Block Monument Square. 

Friend's Block (in process) . cor. Main and Walden Sts. 

Garty's Block Main Street. 

Heywood's Block Main Street. 

Masonic Building Monument Square. 

Pierce's Block Main Street. 

Richardson's Block . . East cor. Main and Walden Sts. 
Town House Building . Monument Sq., cor. Bedford St. 

Union Block Main Street. 

Warner's Block . . . Laws Brook Road, Concord June. 

HALLS. 

Association Hall (Association Bldg.), Laws Brook Road, C.J. 

G. A. R. Hall (Garty's Block) Main Street. 

Town Hall (Town Hse. Bldg.),Monument Sq., cor. Bedford St. 

Walden Hall Main Street. 

Warner's "Hall (Warner's Blk.), Laws Brook Rd., Concord 
Junction. 

CEMETERIES. 

Hill Burying-ground . Lexington Road, centre of town. 
Old Burying-ground . . . Main Street, centre of town. 
Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Bedford St., near centre of town. 
St. Bernard's Cemetery, Bedford St., one mile from centre 
of town. 

PARKS AND PUBLIC GROUNDS. 

Battle Ground, 1775 Monument Street. 

Common Monument Square. 

Willard Common . • Nashawtuc Hill. 

(Presented to the town by William Wheeler, Esq.) 

PLAYGROUND. 

In rear of the Ripley School-house, Hubbard Street. Contains 
four acres. 
(Presented to the town by heirs of the estate of R. W. Emerson.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 13 



PONDS AND RIVERS. 

Bateman's Pond — lies east of Lowell Road, in northerly 

part of town ; covers about 30 acres. 
Fairhaven (Pond) Bay — on Sudbury River, in southerly 

part of town; covers about 75 acres. 
Goose Pond — lies east of Walden, in southeast part of 

town; covers about 20 acres. 
Walden Pond — In southeast part of town ; covers about 

65 acres. 
Warner's Pond — In west part of town; covers about 45 

acres. 
White Pond -^ In southwest part of town; covers about 

43 acres. 

Assabet River rises in Grafton, joins Concord at Egg Rock. 
Concord River, formed by junction of Assabet and Sudbury 

at Egg Rock, flows into the Merrimac at Lowell. 
Sudbury River rises in Hopkinton, joins the Concord at 

Egg Rock. 

RAILROAD STATIONS. 

CONCORD. 

Boston & Maine, Lowell Road, Franklin C. Farley, Station 

Agent. 
Fitchburg, Thoreau Street, George W. Hunt, Station Agent. 

CONCORD JUNCTION. 

Concord & Montreal, Laws Brook Road, John B. Studley, 

Station Agent. 
Fitchburg, Laws Brook Road, John B. Studley, Station Agent. 
Old Colony, Laws Brook Road, " " 

REFORMATORY. 

Boston & Maine, Elm St., Edward M. Surette, Station Agent. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



14 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



POST OFFICES. 

CONCORD. 

Mails Distributed — From the East at 8 a. m., 12,20, 6, 7 p.m. ; 

from the West at 9 a. m. 
Mails Close — For the East at 8 a.m., 12.50, 6.05 p.m. ; for 

the West at 7 a. m., 4.50 p. m. 
Office Hours from 6.45 a. m. to 8 p. m. ; Saturdays, 8.30 p. m. 

William Buttrick, Postmaster, 

CONCORD JUNCTION. 

Mails Distributed — From the East at 7.45 a.m., 3.45, 5.45 p.m. ; 

from the West at 8.45 a. m. ; from the North at 8.15 a. m., 

5.30 p. M. ; from the South at 6.45 p. m. 
Mails Close — For the East at 8.20 a. m., t.io, 5.20 p.m.; 

for the West at 7.20 a.m., 5.20 p.m.; for the North at 

7.20 A. M., 6.20 p. M. ; for the South at 7.55 a. m., 5.00 p. m. 
Office Hours from 6.30 a. m. to 9.30 p. m. 

LoRiNG N. Fowler, Postmaster. 

WESTVALE. 

Mails Distributed — From the East at 8 a. m., 5. 45 p. m. ; from 

the West at 8.40 a. m. 
Mails Close — For the East at 7.00 a.m., 5.00 p.m.; for the 

West at 7.00 A. M. 
Office Hours from 6.30 a. m. to 8.00 p. m. 

Ralph H. Damon, Postmaster. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Concord Resident Directory. 



Abbreviations : — ave., avenue; bds., boards ; bldg., building; C. J., 
Concord Junction ; cox. ^ corner ; tvixp.t employed ; 'junc, j'unclion ; Mass. 
Ref., Massachusetts Reformatory ; mgr., manager ; pub., public ; res., 
residence ; sec, section; sq., square ; st., street; supt., superintendent; 
* native of town, 

Abbott, Augustus H., harnessmaker, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Abbott, Allan P., hatter (131 Kingston St., Boston)) res. at 

A. H. Abbott's. 
Adams, Augustus E,, laborer, Town Way, Nine Acre Corner. 
Adams, Daniel H., carpenter, cor. Fairhaven and Potter Sts. 
Adams, Ellen J., Miss, housekeeper, cor. Main and Belknap 

Sts., res. at Mrs. Mary A. Stearns'. 
Adams, Mary J., Mrs., housekeeper, Elm St., C. J., res. at 

J. S. Scott's. 
Algeo, George, farmer, Virginia Road. 
Algeo, John O., farmer, Virginia Road. 
Algeo, Robert, farmer, Virginia Road. 
Allen, P. W., clerk at Mass. Ref., Main St., C. J. 
Andrews, Sara A., Miss, teacher, public schools, bds. at H. H. 

Buttrick's. 
Anderson, Augustus, laborer, bds. at William Connor's. 
Anderson,* Christian, switchman, B. & M. R. R., Elsinore St. 
Anderson, Lars, laborer, emp. at Henry Bull's. 
Anderson, Peter, laborer, Elsinore St. 
Angier, Daniel E., farmer, Barrett's Mill Road. 
Armstrong, Lewis W., spinner, Damon Mfg. Co., bds. at 

L. F. Jewett's. 
Arsnault, Andrew A., harnessmaker, Railroad Lane. 
Asbjornsen, Andrew, laborer, bds. at Rudolph Peterson's. 
Atherton, Albert, carriage trimmer, bds. at Wright Tavern. 
Avan, Albert, farmer. Nine Acre Corner. 
Ayles, John C., laborer, emp. at C. F. Nevins'. 

(15) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



1 6 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Back, George R., emp." at pail factory, Old Stow Road, 
Westvale. 

Back, Hiram S., laborer. Old Stow Road, Westvale. 

Baggeson, Charles, teamster, Elsinore St. 

Baird,* Eliza A., Mrs., Sudbury Road. 

Baker, George M., farmer, Baker Ave. 

Baker,* Sarah, Miss, res. at Mrs. Susan Brown's. 

Balanger, Joseph, laborer. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Ball, Angelina, Miss, Lowell Road. 

Ball, Elizabeth A., Miss, Lowell Road. 

Ball, Fred H., clerk, res. at G. V. Ball's, C. J. 

Ball, George V., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 

Ballou, George S., bds. at Murray Bailouts. 

Ballou, Murray, clerk (233 State St., Boston), Main St. 

Barker, Charles A., Walden St. 

Barker, Daniel F., Main St. 

Barnes, Lorenzo W., mill hand, bds. at W. C. Barnes', Westvale. 

Barnes, Ward C, farmer, Main St., Westvale. 

Barrett,* Benjamin F., Main St. 

Barrett, Daniel N., officer at Mass. Ref., off Elm St., C. J. 

Barrett,* Edwin S., leather, (192 Congress St., Boston), Lib- 
erty St. 

Barrett,* George H., farmer, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Barrett,* Harry E., clerk (67 Chauncy St., Boston), res. at E. S. 
Barrett's. 

Barrett, Julia, Mrs., Monument St. 

Barrett, Lucy A., Mrs., Monument St. 

Barrett,* M. Elizabeth, Miss, Hubbard St. 

Barrett,* Martha S., Miss, Hubbard St. 

Barrett, Nelson M., res. at E. S. Barrett's. 

Barrett,* Richard F., sec'y Mid. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., Main St. 

Barrett,* Sidney J., Monument St. 

Barrett,* William, asst. sec'y Mid. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., Main St. 

Barrett,* William G., Main St. 

Barrett,* William G., 2d, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Barry, Bartholomew, laborer, Bedford St. 

Barry, Theodore M., farmer, Bedford St. 

Bartlett,* Elizabeth B., Miss, Lowell Road. 

Bartlett,* Edward J., (storage, Lewis Wharf, Boston), Monu- 
ment St. 

Bartlett, George A., carpenter, Bedford St. 

Bartlett,* George B., author and journalist, res. at E. J. 
Bartlett's. 

Bartlett,* S. R., Mrs., Lowell Road. 

Bass, William C, clerk, Walden St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 7 

Batchelder, Carroll, switchman, F. R. R,, bds. at F, J. Hamp- 

son's, C. J. 
Batt, William J., Rev., chaplain at Mass. Ref., off Main St., C. J. 
Battles, Bernard A., janitor, Bedford St. 
Battles, Mary, Mrs., Bedford St. 
Battles, Michael, tesimster, Bedford St. 
Bean, Andrew J., hamessmaker, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Bean, L. Willis, express messenger, Main St. 
Bean, Silas A., clerk, res. at A. J. Bean's, C. J. 
Benedict, Watson, carpenter, bds. at Hugh Slimond's, Westvale. 
Benjamin,* Cyrus W., mason, Hubbard St. 
Benson, Henry H., clerk (125 Milk St., Boston), Sudbury 

Road. 
Bensen, Christian, farmer, off Monument St. 
Bennett, Emma, Miss, nurse, bds. at George Garfield's. 
Bentley, George A., mill hand. Main St., Westvale. 
Berry, George W., farmer. Old Marlboro Road. 
Bigelow, Edwin, Mrs., Sudbury Road. 
Bigelow,* George, curtain fixtures, Lexington Road. 
Bilalamero, Silvadore, fruit dealer, Walden St. 
Bisbee, William, laborer, bds. at Mrs. Newton's. 
Black, Ellen E., Mrs., Hubbard St. 

Blacker, Frank, harnessmaker, bds. at A. G. Fisher's, C. J. 
Blaisdell, Annie C, Miss, Christian Scientist, Thoreau St. 
Blaisdell, William A., Thoreau St. 
Blanchard, Walter S., Sudbury Road. 
Blodgett, Jonathan P., R. R. signal tower. Laws Brook 

Road, C.J. 
Blood, Samuel T., officer at Mass. Ref., off Elm St., C. J. 
Blossom, Wayne W., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Bollig, Frank, instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at C. A. Bow- 

ker's, C. J. 
Bordman, John, officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth Ave., C.J. 
Bordman, John, Jr., res. at John Bordman's, C. J. 
Bowker, Charles A., boarding-house keeper. Elm St., C. J. 
Bowker, George M., officer at Mass. Ref., Bow St. 
Bowman, Alfred F., provisions, Thoreau St. 
Bourne, George W., officer at Mass. Ref., bds. at C. A. Bow- 

ker's, C. J. 
Boylan, James, harnessmaker, Cottage St., C. J. 
Boyce, Charles, emp. at pail factory, Conant St., C. J. 
Braley, Henry H., physician. Main St. 
Brady, John, laborer, Bedford St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



1 8 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Bradley, William, laborer, bds. at G. Grimes'. 

Bradeen, William H^ l^orer, bds. at W. Connors'. 

Breed, Walter R., Rev., rector of Trinity Church, bds. at Mrs. 

Susan Jackson's. 
Brennan, Michael, farmer, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Brennan, William, laborer, Lexington Road. 
Brigham, Alonzo H., Mrs., Nine Acre Corner, Fitchburg 

Turnpike. 
Brigham, Andrew J., emp. at F. R. R., Old Road to Nine Acre 

Corner, C. J. 
Brigham, Fred W., teamster, res. at A. J. Brigham's. 
Brigham,* Harry W., farmer. Nine Acre Corner. 
Brigham,* J. Burt, clerk (151 Canal St., Boston), Nine Acre 

Corner. 
Brittain, W. H., shoemaker. Monument St. 
Britton, Stephen, laborer. Monument St. 
Brooks,* Charles E., off Railroad Lane. 
Brooks, George, farmer, Strawberry-Hill Road. 
Brooks,* George M., judge of probate, Sudbury Road. 
Brooks, L. E., Mrs., livery stable. Middle St. 
Brown, Amanda M., Mrs., Main St. 
Brown,* Benjamin W., grain dealer. Elm St. 
Brown,* Charles E*, dry goods. Main St. 
Brown,* Henry W., farmer, Lexington Road. 
Brown, James, laborer, emp. at Joseph Derby's. 
Brown,* John, farmer. Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Brown,* Joseph D., milk contractor, Main St. 
Brown, John H., barber. Main St., Westvale. 
Brown,* J. J., Mrs., Belknap St. 
Brown, J. W., Mrs., Monument St. 
Brown, M. G., Mrs., Hubbard St. 

Brown, Nettie F., Miss, clerk, res. at Mrs. M. G. Brown's. 
Brown, Rufus G., farmer, (603 Washington St., Boston), 

Lexington Road. 
Brown,* Susan, Mrs., Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Brown,* William H., salesman (481 Washington St., Boston), 

Lowell Road. 
Browning, Robert W., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth- 

Ave., C. J. 
Bruce, John L., officer at Mass. Ref., off Elm St., C. J. 
Brunt, Joseph, harnessmaker, bds. at F. Collins', C. J. 
Bryon, William J., harnessmaker, Cottage St., C. J. 
Bryden, Robert, supt. at pail factory. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Buchanan, David J., laborer, emp. at David Craton's. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. I9 

Buchanan, James, laborer, emp. at David Craton's. 

Buck, Edith A., Miss, milliner, bds. at Charles Thompson's. 

Buck, Evelyn M., Miss, miilliner, bds. at Charles Thompson's. 

Buckley, John, electrician, Lexington Road. 

Buckley, William, gardener, house on grounds of G. M. Brooks. 

Buffum, F. A., harnessmaker. Crest St., C. J. 

Bulger,* William, painter, Cambridge Turnpike. 

Bulkeley, Benj. R., Rev., pastor of Unitarian Church, Main St. 

Bull, Ephraim W., horticulturist, Lexington Road. 

Bull, Henry, farmer, Monument St. 

Bullock, Peter H., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 
Ave., C. J. 

Burbank, George H., instructor at Mass. Ref., Common- 
wealth Ave , C. J. 

Burke, Dominick, section hand, F. R. R., Con ant St., C. J. 

Burke,* John H., farmer, res. Thomas Burke-s. 

Burke, Michael, teamster, Main St, Westvale. 

Burke, Thomas, farmer, Old Bedford Road. 

Burns, Terrence, undertaker's assistant, Thpreau St. 

Burrill, Charles, farmer, Barnes Hill Road. 

Burrill, Frank H., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 
Ave., C.J; 

Bush, William Mack, Life Ins, Agt., Main St. 

Butcher, A. Milton, coachman, Mass. Ref., off Commonwealth 
Ave., C. J. 

Butterfield, Lucretia, bds. at Mrs. Julia Clark's. 

Butters, George A., supt. milk car. Bow St. 

Butters, George S., bookkeeper (29 Winter St., Boston), 
Main St. 

Butterworth, John, engineer, Main St., Westvale. 

Buttrick,* Adeline, Miss, Liberty St. 

Buttrick,* David, Monument St. 

Buttrick,* George, farmer. Liberty St. 

Buttrick,* Harriett, Miss, Liberty St. 

Buttrick,* Humphrey H., (Custom House), Lexington Road. 

Buttrick, Henry O., carriage painter, Westford Road. 

Buttrick,* Stedman, clerk (35 Congress St., Boston), res. at 
William Buttrick's. 

Buttrick,* William, postmaster. Monument St. 

Byron, James H., signal tower, Belknap St. 

Byron,* John H., laborer, res. at J. J. Byron's. 

Byron, James J., laborer, Byron St. 

Byron, Terrence, Grant St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



20 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Cabot, Chilton, bookkeeper (308 Congress St., Boston), 

Monument St. 
Cadwell, William O., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave, C. J. 
Calef, Asa F, farmer, Sandy Pond Road. 
Callahan, William, town farm, Walden St. 
Campbell, Walter W., Rev., pastor West Concord U. R S., 

Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 
Cantwell, Patrick, laborer, Bedford St. 
Carkin, Philena, Miss, Main St. 
Carlton, Grace, Miss, bds. at L. W. Bean's. 
Carney, Ann, Mrs., off Lexington Road. 
Carr, Joseph F., farmer, Monument St. 
Carr, Lyman A., policeman, Main St., C. J. 
Carroll, M. J., tailor at Mass. Ref., bds. at C. A. Bowker's, C. J. 
Carrigan, Myron J., farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Carson, Patrick, stone mason, Bedford St. 
Carson,* Philip, laborer, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Carter,* James W., paper hanger, Bedford St. 
Carter,* Robert H., lather, res. at Jas. W. Carter's. 
Carty, James R., farmer, Lexington Road. 
Cashman, John, laborer, emp. at F. G. Pratt's. 
Cassidy, Edward, harnessmaker, bds. at Francis Cassidy's, 

Westvale. 
Cassidy, Francis, emp. at pail factory. Main St., Westvale. 
Catarino, Antonio, fruit dealer, Walden St. 
Chamberlaine, Augustus P., Elm St. 
Chamberlin, Francis, farmer, off Old Marlboro Road. 
Chamberlin, William, farmer, off Old Marlboro Road. 
Chandler, Joseph G., journalist (23 School St., Boston), 

Elm St. 
Chaplin, Ada F., Miss, clerk, res. at William Chaplin's, C. J. 
Chaplin, William, officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Chaplin, Waldo, livery stable. Main St., C. J. 
Chapman, Henry H., carriage painter, cor. Hubbard and 

Thoreau Sts. 
Chapman, John H., architect (89 State St., Boston), Main St. 
Chapman, John V., officer at Mass. Ref., bds. at Charles T. 

Judge's, C. J. 
Chase, Abby C, Mrs., housekeeper at A. B. C. Dakin's. 
Chase, Abial H., farmer. Main St., C. J. 
Chase, G. Frank, violin-maker, at res. of J, H. Chase, C. J. 
Chase, Josiah H., officer at Mass. Ref., Main St., C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 21 

Chase, James N., instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at C. A. Bow- 

ker's, C. J. 
Cheney,* Caroline F., Miss, bds. at B. F. Wheeler's. 
Cheeney, Fred, baggage master, B. & M. R. R., bds. at C. A. 

Bowker's, C. J. 
Chisholm, William, carpenter, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Christoffersen, Andus, laborer, Monument St. 
Christoifersen, Andus, laborer, emp. at E. S Godfrey's. 
Christoifersen, Edward, laborer, bds. at Andus ChristofTer- 

sen's. 
Christoffersen, Mons, farmer, Lowell Road. 
Church, Henry H., car-inspector, O. C. R. R., bds. at F. J. 

Ham'pson's, C. J. 
Clahane,* Edward, painter, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Clahane,* John T., gardener, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Clarity, John, mason, Elsinore St. 
Clark,* Abel D., farmer, Lowell Road. 
Clark,* Benjamin, farmer, Lexington Road. 
Clark,* Cyrus, farmer, Estabrook Road. 
Clark, Cyrus, laborer, emp. at Anson Wheeler's. 
Clark,* Edgar F., farmer, Lowell Road. 
Clark, Frank, Mrs., Grant St. 

Clark,* George B., farmer, res. at Benjamin Clark's. 
Clark,* Harriet E., Miss, teacher in public schools, res. at 

R. G. Clark's. 
Clark, Julia, Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Clark,* Rufus G., farmer, Lowell Road. 
Clark, Thomas, harnessmaker, bds. at James Boylan's, C. J. 
Clems, Thaddeus, laborer. Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Cloutier, Arthur, blacksmith. Main St. 
Coan, John, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 
Coats, Alfred, mill hand, Main St., Westvale. 
Coggswell, Frederick, town farm, Walden St. 
Collins, Frank, harnessmaker, Main St., C. J. 
Collins, John, harnessmaker, bds. at F. Collins', C. J. 
Collins,* Michael J., laborer, off Sudbury Road. 
Conant,* Andrew, farmer. Monument St. 
Conant,* Cyrus, farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Conant,* Darius, farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Conant, Eugene, farmer, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Conant, Mark, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Connell, Thomas, gate-tender, F. R. R., Main St. 
Connors, Edward, Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Connors,* William, stone mason. Main St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



22 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Connorton, Robert, gardener, house on grounds of R. F. 
Barrett. 

Cook, Amos, farmer, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Cook, Clarence L., Mrs., Main St. 

Cook, Cyrus H., farmer, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Coolidge, Henry D., clerk Mass. Senate, Main St. 

Coolidge, Henry J., bds. at Mrs. S. E. Griffin's. 

Coolidge, William E., emp. at pail factory, Laws Brook Road, 
C.J. 

.Corbett, William E., mill hand, bds. at G. W. Wright's, West- 
vale. 

Corcoran, Daniel, painter, bds. at W. H. Hazel's, 

Corcoran, Thomas F., laborer, bds. at C. A, Bowker's, C. J. 

Costrove, Patrick, hamessmaker, bds. at Mrs. Margaret Shee- 
han's, C. J. 

Costello, William, farmer, Walden St. 

Cotton, Michael, harnessmaker. Old Harvard Road, C. J. 

Coughlin, Edward, farmer. Monument St. 

Coughlin,* John J., farmer, res. at Edward Coughlin 's. 

Coughlin,* Nicholas, farmer, res. at Edward Coughlin's. 

Coughlin, Patrick J., section hand F. R.R., off Commonwealth 
Ave., C.J. 

Coy, Woodford, carpenter, Belknap St. 

Craig,* William, policeman, cor. Grant and Elsinore Sts. 

Crane, Fanny, Miss, nurse, bds. at Mrs. Sarah D. Richardson's. 

Craton, David, farmer, Lexington Road. 

Cronin, William, telegraph operator, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Cross, William D., dry goods, Main St. 

Crosson, Harry, coachman, emp. at R. F. Barrett's. 

Crowe, John A., Rev., assistant rector, St. Bernard's Church, 
Monument Sq. 

Crowell, Betsey H., Mrs., Sudbury Road. 

Crowley, Timothy F., harnessmaker, Belknap St. 

Crown, John N., nurse, bds. at E. C. Damon's. 

Culkin, Michael, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 

Cull, John, farmer, Virginia Road. 

Cull, John W., farmer, Old Bedford Road. 

Cull, Patrick E., farmer, Virginia Road. 

Cullinane, Cornelius j., gardener. Wood St. 

CuUinane,* Daniel, brakeman, F. R. R., Grant St. 

Cullinane, Timothy, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 

Cunningham, George B., farmer, Bedford St^. 

Cunningham, William A., Monument St. 

Curran, Michael, laborer, Grant St* 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 23 

Curry, Thomas, instructor,Mass. Ref.,CommonwealthAve.,C J. 

Curtis, John F., mill hand, Main St., Westvale. 

Curtis, William W., instructor at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C.J. 
Curtis, William W., Jr., instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at W. W. 

Curtis', C. J. 
Cutler, Thomas T., instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at G. W. 

Shepardson's, C. J. 
Cutter, Frank E., machinists' supplies (131 Pearl St., Boston), 

Sudbury Road. 
Cutter, Margaret F., Mrs., Sudbury Road. 

Daigle, Fred, carpenter, bds. at A. Cloutier's. 

Dakin,* Alfred B. C, farmer, Lowell Road. 

Dakin,* Eli, bds. at I. H. Dakin's. 

Dakin,* Isaac H., carpenter, Lowell Road. 

Dakin, Joseph, Home for Aged, Walden St. 

Dakin,* Joseph A., carpenter, Lexington Road. 

Dalton, Patrick, farmer. Old Bedford Road. 

Dalton,* Patrick J., farmer, res. at Patrick Dalton's. 

Daly, Robert, harnessmaker, bds. at Mrs. Ellen Sullivan's, 
Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Daly, Thomas, farmer. Old Bedford Road. 

Daly, Thomas, laborer, bds. at J. Sheehan's, C. J. 

Damon,* Edward C, Treas. Damon Mfg. Co., Main St. 

Damon,* Henry S., Main St. 

Damon,* Ralph H., pres. Damon Mfg. Co., Main St., Westvale. 

Damon,* William C., res. at E. C. Damon's. 

Daniels, Joseph F., supt. trade school, Mass. Ref., Common- 
wealth Ave., C. J. 

Daniels, Nathan S., jeweler, Hubbard St. 

Dardis, Edward M., carriage painter, Sudbury Road. 

Davidson, Isabella, Mrs., Lexington Road. 

Davis, Cummings E., custodian Ant. Soc, Lexington Road. 

Davis, John H., coachman, Monument St. 

Davis, Nathan A., provision dealer, Main St. 

Davis,* Thomas T., bds. at Emma B. Miner's, Lowell Road. 

Davis, Wilbur Grove, dairy farmer, Strawberry-Hill Road. 

Dee,* John J., hairdresser, Bedford St. 

Dee, Joseph, charge of cemetery, Bedford St. 

Dee,* Joseph, Jr., gardener, emp. at E. W. Emerson's. 

Dee, Patrick, farmer, Lexington Road. 

Dempsey,* Edward F., clerk (72 Federal St., Boston), Grant §t. 

Dempsey,* Margaret, Mrs., Grant St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



24 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Dempsey, Michael, house painter, Sudbury Road. 

Deno, Clifford, laborer, emp. at M. J. Carrigan's. 

Derby,* Benjamin, farmer. Main St., C. J. 

Derby,* Charles, farmer. Liberty St. 

Derby,* Charles E., farmer, res. at Urban Derby's. 

Derby,* Edward, farmer. Main St., C. J. 

Derby, Fred B., farmer, res. at Urban Derby's. 

Derby, Harvey C, farmer, res. at Henry Derby's. 

Derby,* Henry, farmer, Garfield Road. 

Derby,* Henry, Jr., farmer, res. at Henry Derby's. 

Derby,* Joseph, farmer. Liberty St. 

Derby,* Nathan, butcher, Walden St. 

Derby,* Urban, farmer, Westford Road. 

Dickson, John E., harnessmaker, bds. at T. Hutchinson's, 

Westvale. 
Dodge,* Benjamin, Home for Aged, Walden St. 
Dodge, Lucy M., Mrs., housekeeper at Chas. S. Hart's, Elm St. 
Dolan, Ellen, Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Dolan, Patrick, laborer, emp. at G. H. Wright's. 
Dolph, Levi M., butcher, bds. at H. H. Hale's. 
Donovan, Bartholomew, laborer, bds. at T. Goulding's. 
Donovan, James, gardener, Dowd's Lane. 
Donovan, John, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Dentin, Daniel F., telegraph operator, bds. at A. G. Fisher's, 

C.J. 
Dowd,* Frank, Bedford St. 
Dowd,* Mar)', Mrs., Grant St. 
Drury, Thomas H., clerk. Main St. 
Ducy, James, laborer, off Lexington Road. 
Ducy, Patrick, Town Farm, Walden St. 
Ducy, Patrick, Mrs., off Lexington Road. 
Dugan, Elisha, town farm, Walden St. 
Dupie, Peter, pail factory, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Dutton, J. Frederic, Rev., Main St. 

Eachern, Ronald, harnessmaker, Cottage St., C. J. 
Eaton, Charles M., teacher in Concord Home School, bds. at 

James S. Garland's. 
Eaton, Lorenzo, carriage dealer. Monument St. 
Eaton, William L., superintendent of schools, Elm St. 
Edmunds, Alfred, farmer, Virginia Road. 
Edmunds, Arthur H., farmer, res., at Alfred Edmund's, 
Edwardsen, Andrew, laborer, res. at R. Peterson's. 
Eklof, Oswald, instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at J. Robert's, C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 25 

Ellison, Carl, carpenter, Belknap St. 

Elmes, Amos M., officer, Mass. Ref., Commonwealth Ave., C.J. 
Elwell, Frederick W., engineer, F. R. R., Fairhaven Road. 
Emerson, Charles, Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Emerson, Ellen T., Miss, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Emerson,* Edward Waldo, M.D., Lowell Road. 
Emerson, Ralph W., Mrs., Cambridge Turnpike. 
Emmott, Albert E., plumber, bds. at E. H. Whitcomb's. 
Emmott, George J., plumber. Bow Street. 
Englebretsen, Chafies, carpenter, Dowd's Lane. 
Englebretsen, John, carpenter, bds. at Chas. Englebretsen's. 
Englebretsen, Nicholas, mason, bds. at Chas. Englebretsen's. 
Erickson, Hans, laborer, bds. at Peter Anderson's. 
Everett, Mary E. M., Mrs., Walden St. 
Everett,* M. Louise, Miss, teacher in West Concord School, 
bds. at Mrs. M. E. M. Everett's. 

Fabens, Benjamin L., cashier of bank, bds. at Thoreau House. 

Fallon, Patrick, laborer, Grant St. 

Farmer,* Phcebe, Mrs., cor. Thoreau and Belknap Sts. 

Farnhara, Fred. A., harnessmaker. Cottage St., C. J. 

Farrar,* Harriet, Mrs., housekeeper at Charles A. Hayward's. 

Farrar,* Willard T., undertaker, Bedford St. 

Farley, Franklin C, station agent, B. & M. R. R., bds. at G. 

A. Butters'. 
Farrell, Bernard F., machinist, Mass. Ref., bds. at F. J. Hamp- 

son's, C. J. 
Farrell, Fred., laborer, Belknap St. 
Farrell, Michael J., emp. at Mass. Ref., bds. at C. A. Bowker's, 

CJ. 
Farrington, Mary, Mrs., cor. Grant and Elsinore Sts. 
Fee, Patrick, laborer, emp. at Granville Miles'. 
Feehan, John, section hand, B. & M. R. R., Dowd's Lane. 
Ferguson, Darby, laborer. Monument St. 
Ferguson, Lucia, Miss, sub. teacher in pub. schools, res. at 

R. G. Brown's. 
Ferguson,* John B., laborer, bds. at Thomas Skeehan's. 
Finegan, James, laborer, Bedford St. 
Finegan, Thomas, carpenter, bds. at James Finegan's. 
Finnell, Edward, harnessmaker, bds. at J. Fredrickson's. 

Westvale. 
Fisher, Albert G., boarding-house, Derby St., C. J. 
Fiske, George, Elm St. 
Fitz Gerald, Herbert, farmer. Main St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



26 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



Fitzgerald, William, laborer, Sandy Pond Road. 
Fitzpatrick, John, farmer, off Old Road to Nine Acre Comer. 
Fitzpatrick, John, Jr., farmer, off Old Road to Nine Acre Cor. 
Fitzpatrick,* Joseph, blacksmith, Bedford St. 
Flannery, Michael, laborer, bds. at John J. Flannery's. 
Flannery, John J., teamster, Bedford St. 
Flannery,* Patrick, laborer, Bedford St. 
Flarity, Mary, Miss, bds. at Darby O'Conneirs. 
Flavin, Michael, laborer, bds. at Thomas Skeehan's. 
Flavin, Philip, laborer. Liberty St. 

Fleming,James, sec. hand, B. & M. R. R., bds. at John Murray's. 
Fletcher, Cyrus, carpenter, Main St., Westvale. 
Fletcher,* Frank, clerk, bds. at Cyrus Fletcher's. 
Flint,* Emma C, Mrs., Monument St. 
Flint,* Waldo, farmer. Old Road to Bedford St. 
Florest, Truman S., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Floyd, George, farmer, Bedford St. 

Flynn, John, emp. at pail factory, bds. at P. J. Coughlin's, C. J. 
Foley, Mary, Mrs., Bedford St. 
Folsom, George W., carpenter. Middle St. 
Fosdick, Lucy H., Miss, housekeeper at E. J. Bartlett's. 
Foss,* Frank E., Walden St. 
Foss, William, farmer, Bedford St. 
Fowler, Loring N., grocer, Derby St., C. J. 
Frazier, Louis, harnessmaker, off Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 
Fredrickson, Julius, Main St., Westvale. 
Fredrickson, William J., harnessmaker, bds. at J. Fredrick- 
son's, Westvale. 
Freel, William S., laborer, emp. at Geo. F. Wheeler's. 
Friend, John C, pharmacist, (town treasurer). Main St. 
French, H. M., Mrs., bds. at Mrs. E. L. McLean's. 
Fuller, Carl, clerk, bds. at E. L. Tuttle's. 

Gaddis, Florence, Miss, clerk, res. at John Gaddis'. 

Gaddis, John, emp. at pail factory. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Gage, F. C, Mrs., Elm St. 

Gale, Frank W., officer, Mass. Ref., Commonwealth Ave., C.J. 

Gale, Fred W., officer, Mass. Ref., Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 

Gale, John L., blacksmith, bds. at William McDonald's, C.J. 

Gallant, George, laborer, Lexington Road. 

Gardner, George W., ret. sea captain, bds. at B.F. Russell's, C.J. 

Garfield,* Edward L., farmer, Garfield Road. 

Garfield, Enoch, farmer, Bedford St. 

Garfield,* Enoch, Jr., clerk, Monument St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 27 

Garfield,* Frank R., grocer, Monument St. 

Garfield, George, wheelwright, Bedford St. 

Garfield,* Timothy, farmer, Garfield Road. 

Garland, Frank L., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 

Garland, James S., master of Con. Home School, Wood St. 

Garland, William H., res. at J. S. Garland's. 

Garvay, John A., harnessmaker, Conant St., C. J. 

Garty, James, road commissioner. Middle St. 

Gates, Edgar, harnessmaker, bds. at G. W. Berry's, C. J. 

George,* J. P., Mrs., Barrett's Mill Road. 

George, Lewis H., carpenter, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Gibbs, William, laborer, bds. at E. M. Dardis'. 

Gillespie, Phebe A., Mrs., boarding-house. Monument St. 

Gilman, Herbert, emp. at Mass. Ref., bds. at F. J. Hamp- 

son's, C.J. 
Gilmore, John L., agt. of Western Transit Co. (232 Washington 

St., Boston), bds. at Thoreau House, Monument St. 
Gilmore, Frank W., clerk, O. C. R.R., Boston, bds. at Thoreau 

House, Monument St. 
Gleason,* Dennis, Jr., clerk, res. at Dennis Gleeson's. 
Gleason,* Jerome B., hairdresser, Davis Court. 
Gleason, Thomas, Thoreau St. 
Gleeson, Dennis, laborer, Thoreau St. 
Glover, Marshall P., farmer. Monument St. 
Godfrey, Edward S., farmer, Lowell Road. 
Goodrich, Etta, Miss, housekeeper at H. C. Ingerson's. 
Goodwin, Mary G., Mrs., Main St. 
Gordon, John, carpenter, bds. at G. Grimes'. 
Goson, George, laborer, emp. at Frank Wheeler's. 
Goudet, Albert, carpenter, bds. at A. Cloutier's. 
Goulding, John, carpenter, res. at T. Goulding's. 
Goulding, Timothy, farmer, Fairhaven St. 
Gourgas, F. R., Mrs., Monument St. 
Gourgas,* John M., Monument St. 
Grady, Patrick, section hand, F. R. R., Conant St., C. J. 
Grant, Charles E., farmer, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Grant, James, coachman at E. S. Barrett's. 
Grant, James A., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 
Graves, George R., laborer, Lexington Road. 
Graves, J. M., expressman, Bedford St. 
Graves, R. A., carpenter, bds. at J. M. Graves'. 
Gravsen, Martin, gardener. Grant St. 
Gray, George, carpenter, Walden and Everett Sts. 
Greene, Herbert L., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



28 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Griffin,* Arthur L., theatrical mgr., (32 Pemberton Sq., Bos- 
ton), bds. at Mrs. S. E. Griffin's. 
Griffin, S. K, Mrs., Middle St. 
Grimes, Gilbert, mason, off Lexington Road. 
Gross, Newton D., miller, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Hagerty,* Andrew, baker, Thoreau St. 

Hagerty,* George, harnessmaker, Elsinore St. 

Hagerty,* James, farmer, Sudbury Road. 

Hagerty,* John, farmer, Sudbury Road. 

Hagerty,* Margaret L., Miss, clerk, bds. at Thomas Hagerty's. 

Hagerty,* Patrick E., teamster, bds. at Thomas Hagerty's. 

Hagerty,* Thomas, jobbing. Potter St. 

Hale, Henry H., Byron St. 

Hall, Charles L., harnessmaker, Cottage St., C. J. 

Hall, Edward, Bedford St. 

Hall, George F., expressman, Bedford St. 

Hall, Cynthia A., Miss, Bedford St. 

Hallett, C, Ernest, clerk, bds. at E. H. Whitcomb's. 

Hampson, Flora J., Mrs., boarding-house. Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Handley, Delette O., clerk, Thoreau St. 
Handley, James, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 
Handley, Patrick, section hand, F. R. R., Belknap St. 
Hanlon, Patrick, coachman, house on grounds of Sam'l Hoar. 
Hansen, Christian, laborer, Davis Court. 
Hansen, H. J., shoemaker, bds. at W. A. KandaPs. 
Hansen, John, laborer, emp. at Frank Wheeler's. 
Hansen, Peter, laborer, emp. at Frank Wheeler's. 
Hanson, John, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Hanson, Mats, laborer. Main St. 
Harlow,* Martha H., Mrs., Main St. 
Harrington * John, painter, bds. at W. H. Hazel's. 
Harrington,* Lucy, Miss, off Old Marlboro Road. 
Harrington, Patrick, harnessmaker, bds. at A. G. Fisher's, C. J. 
Harrington, Patrick, farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Harris, Mervill M., carpenter, Byron St. 
Hart, Charles S., dept. supt. of Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 
Hartwell, Henry, gate-tender, F. R. R., Thoreau St. 
Hartwell,* Herman O., hackman, res. at Henry Hartwell's. 
Haskell, John O., carpenter, Hubbard St. 
Hastings, J. B., fireman, V>. & M. R. R., bds. at C. A. Bow- 

ker's, C. J. 
Hatch, Edgar H., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 29 

Hatch,* Lillian F., Miss, teacher in public schools, res. at 
M. L. Hatch's. 

Hatch, Myrick L., plumber, Hubbard St. 

Hawes, Fritz, emp. at pail facitory, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Hawkins, Fred H., harnessmaker, bds. at G. W. Berry's, C.J 

Hayden, Elbridge G., farmer, Fairhaven St. 

Hayes, Bernard N., harnessmaker, bds. at George Ryan's, C. J. 

Hayes, Daniel, section hand, F. R. R., Conant St., C. J. 

Hayes, David, blacksmith, bds. at John Prendergast's. 

Hayes,* Dennis L., painter, res. at Mrs. J. D. Hayes'. 

Hayes, Patrick, res. at Mrs. J. D. Hayes'. 

Hayes,* Joseph, hostler, bds. at Horace Tuttle's. 

Hayes, Julia D., Mrs., Belknap St. 

Hayes,* Patrick J., painter, res. at Mrs. J. D. Hayes'. 

Haynes, Ellas E., carpenter. Main St., C. J. 

Haynes, Samuel E., horse dealer, bds. at Horace Tuttle's. 

Hayward,* Charles A., farmer, Barrett's Mill Road. 

Hayward,* James, Derby St., C. J. 

Hazel,* William H., painter, Grant St. 

Heard, Grace A., Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at 
A. H. Chase's, C. J. 

Heath, Galutia, farmer, Sudbury Road. 

Helsjer, Martinus O.. farmer, off Westford Road. 

Hennessey, Patrick, carpenter, Davis Court. 

Heywood,* Charles Fay, clerk, res. at George Heywood's. 

Heywood,* George, lawyer, Lexington Road. 

Higgins, Boynton W., engineer. Cottage St., C. J. 

Hildreth,* George F., farmer, Lowell Road. 

Hildreth, G. W., Mrs., Lowell Road. 

Hinds, John J., emp. at Mass. Ref., bds. at Michael Mur- 
ray's, C. J. 

Hitchings, Albert F., farmer, Fairhaven St. 

Hoar,* Ebenezer R., lawyer. Main St. 

Hoar,* Edward S., Main St. 

Hoar,* Samuel, (counsel for B. & A. R. R., Boston), Main St. 

Hobson, Lucy J., Mrs., Middle St. 

Hockey, James W., gardener at H. Fitz Gerald's, bds. at 
M. Hanson's. 

Hodgman, Lucius R., instructor at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 
Ave., C. J. 

Hogan, Charles J., harnessmaker, bds. at W. E. Coolidge's, C.J. 

Hogan, Michael, shoemaker, Dowd's Lane. 

Holden,* Frank W., Hubbard St. 

Holden,* George W., farmer, res. at W. M. Holden's. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



30 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Holden,* Henry E., farmer, Garfield Road. 

Holden,* Marshall H., Garfield Road. 

Holden,* Nancy, Mrs., home for aged, Walden St. 

Holden,* Ralph, clerk (69 Summer St., Boston), res. at Mrs. 

S. W. Holden's. 
Holden,* S. Herbert, grocer, res. at Mrs. S. W. Holden's. 
Holden, Sarah W., Mrs., Bedford St. 
Holden, William M., farmer. Monument St. 
Holland, Frederic May, Academy Lane. 
Holland, Frederick W., Rev., Main St. 
Hooey, Henry, engineer, B. & M. R. R., bds. at C. A. Bow- 

ker's, C. J. 
Hoore, Murdock, emp. at pail factory, bds. at G. W. Poole's, 

West vale. 
Hopkins, George H., harnessmaker, Bedford St. 
Hopkins,* George W., clerk (87 Broad St., Boston), res. at 

G. H. Hopkins\ 
Hopkins,* Isabelle G., Miss, clerk, res. at G. H. Hopkins'. 
Hopkins, John, mason, Grant St. 
Hopkins, Margaret, Mrs., Byron St. 
Hopkins, Michael, laborer, emp. at George Buttrick's. 
Horrigin, Patrick, harnessmaker, bds. at Frank Collins*, C. J. 
Hosey, Margaret, Mrs., boarding-house, Belknap St. 
Hosmer,* Adelaide, Miss, off Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Hosmer, Anna E., Mrs., Devens St. 
Hosmer,* Alfred W., clerk, Lowell Road. 
Hosmer,* Charles M., inventor, (53 State St., Boston), Monu- 
ment Sq. 
Hosmer,* Densmore B., builder, Bedford St. 
Hosmer,* Ella S., Miss, clerk (25 Beacon St., Boston), res. 

at Mrs. Sophia S. Hosmer's. 
Hosmer,* Fanny L., Miss, music teacher, res. at Mrs. Sophia 

S. Hosmer's. 
Hosmer,* Henry J., Main St. 
Hosmer,* Herbert W., clerk, Lowell Road. 
Hosmer, John P\, clerk (88 Clinton St., Boston), bds. at 

H. H. Buttrick's. 
Hosmer, Sophia S., Mrs., Walden St. 
Hosmer, Sarah, Mrs., Bedford St. 
Houghton, M. Howard, Hubbard St. 
How,* Ashley P., clerk (43 Chatham St., Boston), res. at 

Mrs. E. S. How's. 
How, Ellen K, Mrs., Hubbard St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 3 1 

How,* George C, clerk (33 Summer St., Boston), res. at Mrs. 

E. S. How^s. 
How, Mary, Miss, Hubbard St. 

Howard, Josephine M., Mrs., cor. Hubbard and Devens Sts. 
Howe, Benjamin F., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Hoyle, Raphael M., Boston Harness Co., Lowell Road. 
Hubbard,* George D., farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Hubbard,* George R., farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Hubbard,* Harriet J., Miss, Sudbury Road. 
Hubbard,* Helen O., Mrs., Sudbury Road. 
Hubbard,* Susanna H., Miss, res. at Mrs. M. H. Harlow's. 
Hudson,* Woodward, lawyer (Boston office, B. & A. R. R. 

station), Main St. 
Hunt,* Charles H., bds. at George Gray's. 
Hunt, Charles W., provision dealer, bds. at George W. Hunt's. 
Hunt,* Edgar E., clerk, bds. at George W. Hunt's. 
Hunt,* Francis, carpenter. Monument St. 
Hunt, George W., carpenter. Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Hunt, George W., depot master, F. R. R., Thoreau St. 
Hunt, John C, trav. salesman (boots and shoes), Wood St. 
Hunt,* William H., farmer, Monument St. 
Hurd,* William F., Lowell Road. 
Hurlbut, Martha E , Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at 

W. A. Blaisdell's. 
Hutchins, Carroll, tourist agent (296 Washington St., Boston), 

Lowell Road. 
Hutchins, Charles L., Rev., Monument St. 
Hutchinson, John, hostler, bds. at Horace Tuttle's. 
Hutchinson, Thomas, cabinetmaker. Main St., Westvale. 

Ingerson, Henry C, butcher, Bedford St. 

Ingham, Benjamin, emp. at Amer. Powder Mills, Main St., 

Westvale. 
Ingham, Jeremiah R., harnessmaker, bds. at Thomas Ingham's. 
Ingham, John, harnessmaker. Main St., Westvale. 
Ingham, Thomas, farmer, Main St., Westvale. 
Ireland, John W., foreman of sec. gang, F. R. R., Byron St. 
Isnor, John, laborer, emp. at D. G. Lang's, bds. at W. H. 

Brittain's. 

Jackman, William P., mill overseer, June. Old Stow Road 

and Main St., Westvale. 
Jackson, Abram W., Rev., Walden St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



32 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Jackson, Susan, Mrs., Monument St. 

Jacobs, Alice, Miss, teacher in public schools, res. at Asa 

Jacobs'. 
Jacobs, Asa, Monument St. 

Jacobs, George E., laborer, emp. at Abial H. Wheeler's. 
Jacobson, Ernest, laborer, emp. at G. M. Baker's. 
Jacques, Gilbert C, carpenter, Walden St. 
James, Robertson, artist. Main St. 

Jennings, John J., emp. at Jonathan Wheeler's, Belknap St. 
Jensen, Neils, laborer, bds. at Peter Anderson's. 
Jensen, Olif, laborer, Belknap St. 
Jewett, Luther F., farmer. Main St., Westvale. 
Jlbbin, John, laborer, Bedford St. 
Johanson, Andrew, laborer, emp. at E. F. Lawrence's. 
Johanson, Johanes, farmer, off Westford Road. 
Jones,* Arthur C. H., farmer, res. at H. W. Jones'. 
Jones,* George E., farmer, res. at H. W. Jones.' 
Jones,* Hiram W., farmer, Westford Road. 
Jones, Reginald H., clerk (28 State St., Boston), River St. 
Joslyn, Henry B., clerk, Hubbard St. 
Joy, Alonzo, officer at Mass. Ref , Main St., C. J. 
Joyce, Benjamin R., musician, near depot, C. J. 
Judge, Charles T., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Judkins, Harold L, emp. at Mass. Ref., bds. at Thomas 

Curry's, C. J. 

Kandal, William A., upholsterer, Walden St. 

Karin, William J., stone mason, Sandy Pond Road. 

Kay, Mary, Mrs., Main St., Westvale. 

Keefe,* George B., res. at John Keefe's, Old Road to Nine 

Acre Corner. 
Keefe, John, farmer. Old Road to Nine Acre Corner. 
Keefe,* John E., clerk (14 Canal St., Boston), res. at John 

Keefe's. 
Keefe, Patrick, farmer, Old Harvard Road, C. J. 
Keefe, Thomas, farmer. Strawberry- Hill Road. 
Keefe,* T. Albert, commission dealer, 14 Concord Ave., res. 

at John Keefe's. 
Keese, Lewis, farmer, Lowell Road. 
Kelley, Barney, harnessmaker, bds. at W. J. Bryon's. 
Kelley, Helen W., Miss, teacher in public schools. Elm St. 
Kelley, James, harnessmaker, bds. at Patrick O'Riley's, C. J. 
Kelley, Mark, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 33 

Kelley, Martha, Mrs., boarding-house, off Main St., Westvale. 

Kelley, Thomas, moulder, Main St., Westvale. 

Kelly, Michael, gardener, Dowd's Lane. 

Kelly, Morris, gardener, emp. at A. P. Chamberlaine's. 

Kennedy, Louise, Miss, Monument St. 

Kennedy, Thomas, emp. at F. R. R., bds. at F. J. Hamp- 

son's, C. J. 
Kennedy, Timothy, harnessmaker, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Kent,* Charles G., clerk (89 Causeway St., Boston), bds. at 

S. D. Kent's. 
Kent, Samuel D., bookbinder, Main St. 
Kern, Herbert L., harnessmaker. Pine St., C. J. 
Kerrigan,* James, farmer. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Kerrigan,* Michael, harnessmaker, Conant St., C. J. 
Kerrigan, Patrick, farmer. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Keyes,* Alicia M., Miss, artist, res. at John S. Keyes'. 
Keyes,* George, (Custom House Boston), Liberty St. 
Keyes,* George S., clerk (62 State St., Boston), res. at 

George Keyes. 
Keyes,* John M., Monument St. 
Keyes,* John S., judge, dist. court. Monument St. 
Keyes,* Prescott, lawyer, (42 Court St., Boston), Main St. 
King, George A., lawyer, (Exchange Bldg., Boston), Sudbury 

Road. 
Kirby, Nathaniel H., physician. Main St. 
Knapp, A. Henry, plumber, bds. at Wright Tavern. 
Knight, Harry O., butcher, Belknap St. 
Knight, Mabel C, Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at 

Mrs. Mary Melvin's. 
Knowles, George F., officer at Mass. Ref., Main St., C. J. 

La Forest, Ann M., Mrs., Lexington Road. 

Leahy, Michael, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 

Lakin, Daniel A., officer at Mass. Ref., C. J. 

La Mountaine, Alphonse, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 

La Mountaine, Harry, mill hand, bds, at A. La Mountaine's, 

Westvale. 
La Mountaine, Peter, mill hand, bds. at A. La Mountaine's, 

Westvale. 
Landry, Jacob, harnessmaker. Crest St., C. J. 
Lane, Fred L., teamster. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Lane, Mary W., Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at Mrs. 

S. E. Griffin's. 
Lane, Henry M., instructor at Mass. Ref., Pine St., C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



34 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Laug, D. Goodwin, farmer, Monument St. 

Langmaid, John W., engineer, B. & M. R. R., Lexington Road. 

Lawler, James, mill hand, Main St., Westvale. 

Lawler, Thomas, mill hand, bds, James Lawler's, Westvale. 

Lawrence,* Abbott J., farmer. Monument St. 

Lawrence,* Edwin F., farmer. Monument St. 

Lawrence,* Henry A., farmer, res. at E. F. Lawrence's. 

Lawrence,* John E., farmer, res. at E. F. Lawrence's. 

Leary, Thomas O., harnessmaker, bds. at James Boylan's, C. J. 

Leavitt, Caroline, Miss, Main St. 

Leavitt, Josephine, Miss, Main St. 

Leavitt, Robert G., teacher at Concord Home School, bds. 
at J. S. Garland's. 

Leete,* Martha F., Mrs., matron of Home for Aged, Walden St. 

Legate, Helen A., Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at 
Mrs. R. W. Emerson's. 

Leland, Francis O., trav. salesman, (58 Bedford St., Boston), 
Elm St. 

Leland, Walter S,, officer at Mass. Ref., bds. at R. W. Brown- 
ing's, C. J. 

Lincoln, Charles I., supt. Damon Mfg. Co., Main St., Westvale. 

Linder,* Alice B., Mrs., res. at Mrs. Sarah B. Prescott's. 

Lindsay, Frank W., baggage mas., res.. Laws Brook Road, C.J. 

Loftus, John H., painter, Bedford St. 

Loftus,* Louis, painter, res. at Mark M. Loftus'. 

Loftus, Mark M., carpenter, Belknap St. 

Lo'ring, Alfred O. L., ice dealer, Barrett's Mill Road, C. J. 

Loring, John H., officer at Mass. Ref., Barrett's Mill Road, C.J. 

Lorentsen, Ever, bds. at A. G. Fisher's, C. J. 

Lothrop, Daniel, Mrs., author, Lexington Road. 

Loughlin, James, painter, Grant St. 

Lounsberry, M. Alice, Miss, teacher in public schools, res. at 
Mrs. F. L. Lounsberry's. 

Lounsberry, Frances L., Mrs., Hubbard St. 

Lowden, Andrew S., builder, Hubbard St. 

Lowden, Arthur S., res. at A. S. Lowden's. 

Lufkin, Randall, farmer, Sudbury Road. 

Lufkin,* Samuel E., farmer, res. at R. Lufkin's. 

Lynch, John, gardener, emp. at Rev. M. J. McCall's. 

Lyons, Edward J., clerk, bds. at James Lawler's, Westvale. 

Lyons, Elizabeth, Mrs., Conant St., C. J. 

Lyons, Thomas F., harnessmaker, res. at Mrs. Elizabeth 
Lyons', C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE, 35 

Magoran, Terrence, farmer, Old Road to Bedford St. 

Maguire, James, laborer, Bedford St. 

Maguire, Patrick, laborer, emp. at Levi Miles*. 

Maguire, Philip, laborer, emp. at Anson Wheeler's. 

Mahan, Albert J., farmer, at T. H. Mahan's. 

Mahan, T. Henry, farmer. Old Bedford Road. 

Mahoney, Dennis, section hand, F. R. R., Thoreau St. 

Mahoney, Margaret, Mrs., Davis Court. - 

Mahoney, Michael, gardener, Belknap St. 

Mahoney, Patrick, laborer, emp. at J. Sheehan's, C. J. 

Maker, Andrew R., supt. of town farm, Walden St. 

Maker, Edward H., jobbing, Walden St. 

Maker, George W., foreman of town roads, Walden St. 

Malanson, Henry, harnessmaker, res. at S. Malanson's, C. J. 

Malanson, Simon, harnessmakery^Cottage St. 

Manning,* Henry, carpenter, bds. at G. Grimes'. 

Manning,* John F., assistant janitor at C. W. Sanford's. 

Manning,* Manse J., expressman, bds. at G. Grimes'. 

Manning, Martha J., Mrs., Lexington Road. 

Manning, Michael, stone mason, bds. at G. Grimes'. 

Mansfield, Patrick, laborer, Walden St. 

Mara, Mark, painter, Davis Court. 

Marrs,* Harry S., clerk, res. at J. H. Marrs', C. J. 

Marrs, John H., trav. salesman, (250 Devonshire St., Boston), 

Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 
Marshall, Joseph, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Martell, Ellixia D., baker, bds. at Miss C A. Hall's. 
Martinich, Michael, laborer, bds. at George Jacobs'. 
Mason, David, farmer, Strawberry-Hill Road. 
Mason,* Everett E., farmer. Monument St. 
Mason, Frank E., farmer, at Ponkatasset Farm, Monument St. 
Mason,* Herbert C, farmer, res. at Marshall M. Mason's. 
Mason,* Marshall M., farmer. Monument St. 
Mason, Theophilus, ice dealer, Lowell Road. 
Matthews, Carrie A., Miss, bookkeeper, bds. at Nathan Derby's. 
Maxwell, Harry, harnessmaker, bds. at F. Collins', C. J. 
McAllister, Guy W., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
McAuliffe, John, mill hand, Main St., Westvale. 
McBuirne, Alonzo, laborer, emp. at A. B. C. Dakin's. 
McCaffrey,* Henry W., farmer, res. at Michael McCaffrey's. 
McCaffrey, Michael, farmer, Virginia Road. 
McCall, Rev. Michael J., rector of St. Bernard's Church, 

Monument Sq. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



36 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

McCallar, John F., merchant (176 Hanover St., Boston), 
Main St. 

McCarthy, Hannah, Mrs., Lexington Road. 

McCarthy, James L., teamster, Lexington Road. 

McCarthy, Thomas, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 

McCellen, Ronald, blacksmith, Lowell Road. 

McClellan, James, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 

McClair, Howard, laborer, emp. at Andrew Conant's. 

McDonald, Alexander B., marble cutter, Davis Court. 

McDonald, Fred W., clerk (34 Kilby St., Boston), res. at 
George McDonald's. 

McDonald, George, carpet beater, Bedford St. 

McDonald, John, laborer, off Lowell Road. 

McDonald, William, blacksmith, Main St., C. J. 

McEntin, Daniel, mill hand, bds. at Hugh Slimond's, West- 
vale. 

McEwen, P. H., mill hand, bds. at W. H. Wright's, Westvale. 

McFadden, William, blacksmith, Bedford St. 

McGrath, Patrick, farmer, Bedford St. 

McGuirk, Hugh, farmer, Lexington Road. 

Mcburn, Thomas, gardener, Belknap St. 

McHugh, Terrence, farmer, Lexington Road. 

Mclnnis, Angus, harnessmaker, bds. at A. G. Fisher's, C. J. 

McKenna, Neil, carpenter, Belknap St. 

McKenna, Edward, farmer, Elm St. 

McKenzie, Kenneth T., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 
Ave., C. J. 

McLean, Etta L., Mrs., Lexington Road. 

McManus, Daniel, farmer, Old Bedford Road. 

McManus, Francis, farmer. Railroad Lane. 

McManus,* Francis, Jr., horse dealer, res.at Francis McManus'. 

McManus, Francis, 2d, laborer, Lexington Road. 

McManus,* Philip, teamster, res. at Francis McManus'. 

McManus, James T., farmer, res. at Daniel McManus'. 

McManus, Terrence, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 

McMurray, Thomas, laborer, Lexington Road. 

McNulty, Edward, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 

McSweeney, John, gardener, Railroad Lane. 

McWalter, Patrick, mason. Railroad Lane. 

Mehagan, William, harnessmaker, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Melvin, Amos, Mrs., dressmaker, Lexington Road. 

Melvin,* Charles, farmer, Westford Road. 

Melvin, Mary, Mrs., Hubbard St. 

Melvin,* Susan, Miss, at Home for Aged, Walden St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE, 37 



Merwin, Henry C, asso. judge of dist. court, Monument St. 
Messer, George E., wood- turner (73 Haverhill St., Boston), 

Lexington Road. 
Mikkelsen, Andrew, carpenter, bds. at C. Thoreasen's. 
Mikkelsen, John, laborer, Lexington Road. 
Miles,* Granville, farmer, Nine Acre Corner, Fitchburg Turn- 
pike. 
Miles,* Joseph H., emp. at Mrs. L. E. Brooks'. 
Miles,* Levi, farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Miles,* Warren, lead works. Old Marlboro Road. 
Miller, Adam, harnessmaker, Crest St., C. J. 
Miller, Anton, farmer, Monument St. 
Miller, H. J., baggage master, B. & M. R. R., bds. at C. A. 

Bowker's, C. J. 
Milner,* William P., farmer, Fairhaven St. 
Miner, Charles L., jobbing, bds. at E. H. Maker's. 
Miner, Ernest B., farmer, Lowell Road. 
Miner, Joseph R., carpenter, Thoreau St. 
Monson, Elias, farmer, res. at M. Christoffersen's. 
Montague, George, harnessmaker, Crest St., C. J. 
Moody, Benjamin, sec'yof Bowker Fer. Co. (43 Chatham St., 

Boston), Hubbard St. 
Moore, Edward L., section hand, O. C. R. R., bds. at G. W. 

Berry's, C. J. 
Moore, Frank, broker (20 Federal St., Boston), Hubbard St. 
Moore,* John H., horticulturist, Lexington Road. 
Moreau, August, blacksmith. Railroad Lane. 
Morrissey, Thomas, harnessmaker, bds. at Frank Collins', C. J. 
Morrison, Alexander W., mill hand, bds. at L. F. Jewett's, 

Westvale. 
Morrison, Isabelle, Miss, res. at Mrs. Amanda M. Brown's. 
Morse,* Annie A., Mrs., res. at Mrs. George W. Hildreth's. 
Morton, John, mill hand, bds. at L. F. Jewett's, Westvale. 
Mosher, Frank, butcher, emp. at H. C. Ingerson's. 
Moshow, James, harnessmaker, bds. at Mrs. E. Sullivan's, C.J. 
Mountain, Michael, farmer, off Lexington Road. 
Moylan, Mary, Mrs., Dowd's Lane. 
Moylan, Patrick, painter, res. at Mrs. Mary Moylan 's. 
Moylan, Thomas P., emp. at J. S. Keyes'. 
Mulcahy, John, laborer, Belknap St. 
Mulcahy, Patrick, laborer, Byron St. 
Muldoon, James, section hand, O. C. R. R., off Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Muldoon, Peter, laborer, bds. at Thomas Skeehan's. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



38 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

MuUins, James, laborer, off Lexington Road. 

Mullins, Patrick, Grant St. 

Mullins, Thomas, section hand, O. C. R. R., Laws Brook 

Road, C. J. 
Munroe,* Alfred, photographer, cor. Main St. and Academy 

Lane. • 
Munroe,* Charles F., clerk (33 Summer St., Boston), cor. 

Main St. and Nashawtuc Ave. 
Munroe,* Eliza, Miss, cor. Main St. and Academy Lane. 
""Munroe,* Francis B., jeweler, Derby St., C. J. 
Munroe,* James, gate-tender, F. R. R., Main St., C. J. 
Munroe,* Mary, Miss, cor. Main St. and Academy Lane. 
Munroe, Phebe F., Mrs., cor. Main St. and Nashawtuc Ave. 
Murphy, Andrew, milkman, Lowell Road. 
Murphy, Michael, gate-tender, F. R. R., Railroad Lane. 
Murphy, Patrick, gardener, Lexington Road. 
Murphy, Patrick, carpenter, bds. at M. Mahoney's. 
Murr, Jacob, mill hand, bds. at G. W. Wright's, Westvale. 
Murray, Joseph D., grocer. Monument St. 
Murray, Michael, officer, Mass. Ref., Commonwealth Ave., C.J. 
Murry, John, foreman, sec. hand, B. & M. R. R., Davis Court. 

Nagle, Ann, Mrs., Lexington Road. 

Nagle, Daniel F., instructor, Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Nagle, James, harnessmaker. Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 
Neal, Albert G., farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Nealey, Edward F., wheelwright, Byron St. 
Nealey,* Herbert, clerk, Thoreau St, 
Nelson, Helman, laborer, off Railroad Lane. 
Nelson, James T., laborer, off Bedford St. 
Nelson, Peter, blacksmith, Belknap St. 
Nelson, Theodore, emp. at A. Harrington's, bds. at M. 

Graveson's. 
Nevens, Charles F., farmer, Old Bedford Road. 
Nevens, John, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Ne"wton, Betsey, Mrs., Bedford St. 
Newton, Charles H., farmer, Bedford St. 
Newton, Rebecca, Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Nicholson, Charles, harnessmaker, bds. at F. J. Hampson's, C.J. 
Nichols, Hanford, blacksmith, Walden St. 
Nolan, Peter, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Nolan, Thomas F., harnessmaker. Main St., Westvale. 
Noll, Jacob, instructor at Mass. Ref., Pine St., C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 39 

Norcross, Frances L., Miss, Sudbury Road. 
Norcross, Louise, Miss, Sudbury Road. 
Norderhaug, Ole, laborer, bds. at R. Pettersen's. 
Noyes, Moses K., Main St., Westvale. 
Nystrom, Helmer, laborer, Railroad Lane. 

O'Brien, Daniel, laborer, bds. at Martin O'Brien's. 

O'Brien, Daglin, laborer, Grant St. 

O'Brien,* James, town farm, Walden St. 

O'Brien, James, harnessmaker, bds. at Mrs. E, Sullivan's, C.J. 

O'Brien, John, laborer, bds. at Michael Curran's. 

O'Brien,* John H., painter, bds. at Mrs. Mary Foley's. 

O'Brien, Martin, laborer, Potter St. 

O'Connell, Darby, painter. Potter St. 

O'Connell, John, section hand, F. R. R., Belknap St. 

O'Connor, Michael, Lexington Road. 

Olsen, Benard, laborer, bds. at Lars Peterson's. 

Olsen, Carl, emp. at pail factory, C. J. 

Olsen, Helmer, section hand, F. R. R., bds. at H. Nelson's. 

Olsen, Ole, laborer, bds. at Lars Peterson's. 

Oleson, Anton, farmer, off Westford Road. 

Oleson, Christian, laborer, emp. at M. O. Helsjer's. 

Oleson, Nelson, laborer, Westford Road. 

Oleson, Peter, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 

O'Neil, Martin, switchman, F. R. R., off Grant St. 

O'Reilly, Patrick, harnessmaker. Cottage St., C. J. 

Osgood, Ida E., Miss, housekeeper at E, H. Maker's. 

Osgood, Hattie M., Miss, telephone operator, res. at E. H. 

Maker's. 
Owens, Mary, Miss, Main St., Westvale. 

Paasche, a. v., Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at A. H. 

Chase's, C. J. 
Page, Stephen W., engineer, Amer. Powder Mills, off Main 

St., Westvale. 
Paine, Horace G., farmer, Lexington Road. 
Pal meter, G. D., Mrs., Old Bedford Road. 
Palmeter, J. W., Mrs., Old Bedford Road. 
Palmeter, Lillie M., Miss, teacher in Bedford public schools, 

res. at Mrs. G. D. Palmeter's. 
Palmeter, Oliver C, Bedford St. 

Park, Wisner I., officer at Mass. Ref., bds. S. T. Blood's, C.J. 
Parker, Charles, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Parker, Margaret J., Mrs., Hubbard St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



40 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Parker, Samuel, mill hand, bds. at Charles Parker^s, Westvale. 
Parker, Thomas A., carpenter, off Lexington Road. 
Parmenter, Frank S., laborer, Fitchburg Turnpike. 
Parsons, Willard A., officer at Mass. Ref., bds. at H. L. 

Greenes', C. J. 
Partridge, Samuel H., harnessmaker. Crest St., C. J. 
Patch, Orlando E., farmer, Cambridge Turnpike. 
Payson, Alberto E., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Payson, Thomas E., baggage master, F. R. R., Railroad Lane. 
Penniman,* George J., teamster, Walden St. 
Penniman,* Ira, plumlDer's asst., res. Monument St. 
Penniman, Otis H., tavern keeper, I^exington Road. 
Perkins, L. S. W., Miss, Lowell Road. 
Perrault, Benjamin, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Perry,* George W., Mrs., housekeeper at Cyrus Clark's. 
Perry, Sarah, Miss, res. at Mrs. Jonathan Wheeler's. 
Peterson, Christian, laborer, emp. at Lars Peterson's. 
Peterson, Lars, farmer. Monument St. 
Peterson, Peter, farmer, Virginia Road. 
Pettersen, Rudolph, laborer. Monument St. 
Pettersen, Simon, farmer, Westford Road. 
Pettigrew, Charles O., car inspector, O.C.R.R., Main St., C.J. 
Phelan, John, hostler, bds. at Horace Tuttle's. 
Phelps, Edward F., billiard rooms. Old Road to Nine Acre 

Corner. 
Pierce, A. W., laborer, emp. at C. F. Nevens'. 
Pierce, Cyrus, Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Pierce,* Frank, boots and shoes, Hubbard St. 
Pierce, Frank C., farmer, res. at George H. Pierce's, C. J. 
Pierce, George H., merchant (6i Chatham St., Boston), 

Barrett's Mill Road, C. J. 
Pierce, George M., clothing, (441 Broadway, Chelsea), bds. 

at George H. Pierce's, C. J. 
Pierce, John H., cashier (69 South Market St., Boston), 

Thoreau St. 
Pierce, Porter G., tailor (441 Broadway, Chelsea), bds. at 

George H. Pierce's, C. J. 
Pierce, Thomas M., emp. at U. S. Fire Works Co. (22 India 

Sq., Boston), Elm St. 
Piatt, Lucy, Mrs., housekeeper at William H. Rice's. 
Poland, Andrew J., tinsmith, Bedford St. 
Poland, Arvidia,'Mrs., Fairhaven St. 
Poole, Clifford, mill hand, bds. at W. H. Wright's, Westvale. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 41 



Poole, George W., bookkeeper, Main St., Westvale. 

Potter,* Daniel F., upholsterer, Hubbard St. 

Potter, John S., carpenter, Belknap St. 

Powers, John, mill hand, bds. at L. F. Jewett's, Westvale. 

Powers, Martin, carpenter, Bedford St. 

Pratt,* Frederick G., Concord Nursery, Monument St 

Pratt, W. Frank, conductor, B. & M. R. R., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Pratt, Lorenzo A., Monument St 

Prendergast, John, section hand, B. & M. R. R., Davis Courts 
Prendergast, Mary, Mrs., Belknap St 
Prendergast, Thomas, gate-tender, B. & M. R. R., bds, at 

John Murry's. 
Prescott,* Charles W., farmer. Monument St. 
Prescott, Sarah B., Mrs., Monument St. 
Prescott,* William, town farm, W^lden St. 
Price, Edward J., harnessmaket, bds. at W. J. Bryon*s, C. J. 
Prichard,* Amelia M., Miss, Main St. 
Prichard,* Frances Jane H., Miss, Main St. 
Puffer, Charles, gate-tender, O. C. R. R., Conant St, C, J. 
Puffer, Charles S., billiard and pool. Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Puffer, John S., bds. at W. H. Wright's, Westvale, 
PufiFer, Lewis C., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Putnam, Alfred P., Rev., Main St 
Putnam, Endicott G., clerk (40 Water St., Boston), res. at 

Rev. A. P. Putnam's. 
Putnam, Marcellus C, emp. at Concord elevator^ bds. at 

J. S. Potter's. 

Qua, Henry H., officer at Mass. Ref., Barrett's Mill Road, C. J. 
Quigley, Edward, laborer,, Dowd's Lane. 
Quinn, Mary, Mrs., Belknap St. 

Racine, Frank, hamessmaker, Laws Brook Road; C. J. 

Raistrick, Jeremiah, mill hand„ Main St.,^ Westvale. 

Rand, Aionzo T., mill hand. Main St., Westvale. 

Rand, Mary, Mrs., off Main St., Westvale. 

Reed, Alexander, laborer, Town Way, leading oflE' Si*dbury 

Road. 
Reed,* Mary C, Mrs., Sudbury Roadv 
Reid, Henry A., farmer, Barrett's Mill Rpad,^ C. J^i 
Reynolds, Grindall, Rev.,, sec'y American Unitafiqitk A^so., 

Main St. 
Reynolds,* William H.^ batcher,. Walden St 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



42 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Rice,* Oliver, gate-tender, O. C. R. R., Old Stow Road, 

Westvale. 
Rice, William H., fanner, cor. Academy Lane & Sudbury 

Road. 
Richards, Dosity J., hamessmaker, bds. at John Nevens^ 

Westvale. 
Richards, John, hamessmaker, bds. at Simon Malanson's, C.J. 
Richards, Peter, hamessmaker, bds. at Simon Malanson's, C.J. 
Richardson, C. O., Mrs., Main St. 

Richardson, Charles S., clerk (204 State St., Boston), River St. 
Richardson, Henry A., lawyer (53 State St., Boston), Monu- 
ment St. 
Richardson, Henry P., Main St. 

Richardson,Horatio S., pharmacist, cor. Thoreau and Main Sts. 
Richardson,* Sarah E., Miss, Main St. 
Richardson,* Sarah D., Mrs., Main St. 
Ricketson, Walton, sculptor. Elm St. 
Rideout, Frank H., instructor at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Ring, Francis C, instmctor at Mass. Ref., Main St., C. J. 
Ritchie, William K., real estate (235 Washington St., Boston), 

Monument St. 
Robinson, Calvin S., officer at Mass. Ref, Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Roberts, John, instructor at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Rogers, Charles B., instmctor at Mass. Ref., Hubbard St. 
Rolfe, Henry C, trav. salesman. Middle St. 
Rood, Harriet P., Miss, teacher in public school, bds. at 

B. F. Wheeler's. 
Rood, Katherine, Miss, bds. at B. F. Wheeler's. 
Rooney, Martin,' laborieSr, Lexington Road. 
Ross, Andrew, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Ross, Daniel, grocer, bds. at Mrs. Mary Kay's, Westvale. 
Ross, John, mill hand, bds. at G. W. Wright's, Westvale. 
Ross, Joseph, laborer, emp. at Granville Miles'. 
Ross, William, grocer, bds. at Mrs. Mary Kay's, Westvale. 
Rotheray, Christopher, mill hand, bds. at R. Rotheray's, 

Westvale. 
Rotheray, Rouse, mill hand, Main St., Westvale. 
Ruffle, George, mill hand, off Main St., Westvale. 
Rustad, Ole P., lamplighter, bds. at D. F. Potter's. 
Russell, Benjamin F., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. . . 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 43 

Russell, Charles S., instructor at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 
Rus9^11, George G., grocer, res. at B. F. Russell's, C. J. 
Russell, James M., milkman, Main St., Westvale. 
Rufsell, Winslow, clerk (53 Devonshire St, Boston), res. at 

B. F. Russeirs, C. J. 
Ryan, George, harnessmaker. Cottage St, C. J. 
Ryan, Jane, Mrs., Bedford St 
Ryan, John, laborer, Sudbury Road. 
Ryan, John, carpenter, bds. at T. A. Parker's. 
Ryan, Mary, Mrs., Bedford St 

Ryan, Michael J., emp. at T, Mason's, bds. at M. H, Whitney's. 
Ryan, Patrick, laborer. Main St 

Sampson, Fanny E., Mrs., Stow St 
Sanborn, Frank B , journalist, Elm St 
Sanborn, John F., machinist, Main St., Westvale. 
Sanford, Charles W., real estate, (tax collector), Stow St. 
Saunders,* Abbie, Mrs., pension agent, Bedford St 
Sawyer, Alfred H., agent B. F. Slurtevant Co (34 Oliver St, 

Boston), Wood St. 
Sawyer, Ellen M., Miss, dressmaker, Lexington Road. 
Sawyer, Charles A., Wood St. 
Scanlan, David, harnessmaker. Crest St., C. J. 
Schureman, Alphonso B., farmer, Lexington Road. 
Schureman, Frederick A., clerk (10 Hamilton Place, Boston), 

res. at A. B. Schureman's. 
Scott, Joseph F., supt. of Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 
Scott, Walter, laborer, emp. at E. E. Mason's. 
Sculley, J. H., mill hand, bds. at G. W. Wright's, Westvale. 
Selmes, S. B., Mrs., Elm St 
Sexton, Patrick, farmer, Bedford St. 

Shapleigh, Forest E , officer at Mass. Ref., off Elm St., C. J. 
Shattuck, Elmer E., officer at Mass. Ref., bds! at S. T. 

Blood's, C. J. 
Shaughnessy, Henry, blacksmith, Thoreau St. 
Shaughnessy, Thomas F., officer at Mass. Ref., Laws Brook 

Road, C. J. 
Sheehan, Daniel W., farmer, Barrett's Mill Road, C. J. 
Sheehan, Jeremiah, farmer and stone mason. Main St., C. J. 
Sheehan,* John, farmer, res. at J. Sheehan's, C. J. 
Sheehan,*John B., farmer, res. at Mrs. Margaret Sheehan *s,C.J. 
Sheehan,* Thomas W., laborer, emp. at J. F. McCallar's. 
Sheehan, John M., blacksmith, Belknap St. 
Sheehan, Margaret, Mrs., off Old Marlboro Road, C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



44 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Sheehan,* Patrick J,, monumental work, Monument St, 
Sheehan,* Timothy R, farmer, res. at D. VV. Sheeban's, C. J. 
Shepardson, Charles A., instructor at Mass. Ref., Waldcn St. 
Shepardson, George W., <^cer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Simpson, William, farmer, Main St., C. J. 
Simonssen, Fetter, laborer, Lexington Road. 
Skeehan, Thomas, farmer. Elm St. 
Skinner, Frances M., Mrs., Lexington Road. - 
Slade, Herbert A., officer at Mass. Ref., off Elm St., C. J. 
Slimond, Hugh, mill band. Main St., Westvale. 
Slimond, Hugh J., mill hand, bds. at Hugh Slimond's, West vale. 
Small, Orrin W., wheelwright, bds. at Wright Tavern. 
Smith,* B. Farnham, clerk (44 Milk St., Boston), res. at H. F. 

Smith's. 
Smith,* Charles F., life insurance agent, Walden St. 
Smith,* Erastus H., publisher of Concord Directory, res. at 

J. A. Smith's. 
Smith, George A., instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at L. R. 

Hodgman's, C. J. 
Smith, Harold, J. T., laborer. Railroad Lane. 
Smith, Henry F., wool broker (620 Atlantic Ave., Boston), 

cor. Main St. and Academy Lane. 
Smith,* Henry F., Jr., clerk (66 Chauncy St., Boston), res. at 

H. F. Smith's. 
Smith,* Joseph A., farmer, Strawberry-Hill Road. 
Smith, John, mill hand, bds. at W. H. Wright's, Westvale. 
Smith,* J. Alfred, flour (219 State St., Boston), res. at J. M. 

Smith's. 
Smith,* Julius M., traveling salesman, Thoreau St. 
Smith,* William L., instructor (Institute of Technology, 

Boston), res. at H. F. Smith's. 
Snow, Charles, laborer, Lexington Road. 
Sohier, George D., Hubbard St. 

Sproul, Charles F., erop. at pail factory. Main St., Westvale. 
Stacy, Charles R., mill watchman, off Main St., Westvale. 
Stacy, E. F., instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at C. A. Bowker's, C.J. 
Staples, Samuel, auctioneer, Lexington Road. 
Stearns, Mary A., Mrs., cor. Main and Belknap Sts. 
Stearns, Milo B., officer at Mass. Ref., res. at Mrs. Cyrus 

Pierce's. 
Steinman, Matthew, harnessmaker, Crest St., C. J. 
Stewart,* Charles E., Main St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRBCTOKY AND GUIDE. 45 

Stewart, Edmund T., instructor at Mass. Ref., Common- 
wealth Ave., C. J. 

Stewart, John, Hubbard St. 

Stewart, Joseph, bds. at F. W. Lindsay% C. J. 

Stewart, Rensselaer S., Main St. 

Stewart, Reuben, Lowell Road. 

Stott, Collins, mill hand, bds. at G. W. Wright's. 

Stow,* Harriet, Miss, Walden St. 

Stow,* Nathan B., farmer, Walden St. 

Stow,* Sarah A., Miss, Walden St. 

Studley, John R, depot master, F. & O. C. R. R., Main St., C. J. 

Sullivan, Daniel, Mrs., Belknap St. 

Sullivan, Ellen, Miss, boarding-house. Laws Brook Road, C.J. 

Sullivan, Martin, harnessmaker, bds. at James Boylan's, C. J. 

Sullivan, Patrick, laborer, Conant St., C. J. 

Sullivan, Timothy, blacksmith, bds. at A. Moreau's. 

Surette,* Edward M., depot master, Ref., R & M. R. R., bds. 
at C. A. Bowker's, 

Surette, Louis A., Monument Sq. 

Surette,* Thomas W., music teacher, res. at L. A. Surette's. 

Sweet, James H., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 

Swensen, Christena, Miss, Elsinore St. 

Swensen, Olof, laborer, bds. at H. Nystrom's. 

Tarbell, Francena E., Mrs., Monument St. 

Tarbell,* Mary E., Miss, res. at J. P. George's. 

Tarbell, Sarah, Mrs., Monument St. 

Taylor, Edward, farmer, bds. at Mrs. Martha Kelley's, West- 
vale. 

Taylor, Henry, physician, Walden St. 

Taylor, Joseph J., harnessmaker, bds. at W. J. Bryan's, C. J. 

Taylor, Sarah J., Mrs., Monument St. 

Temple, James, carpenter. Main St., Westvale. 

Tewksbury, Rev. George A., pastor of Trin. Cong. Church, 
Walden St. 

Therien, Alexander, Mrs., Railroad Lane. 

Therien,* John L., painter. Railroad Lane. 

Thibout, Samuel, harnessmaker. Cottage St., C. J. 

Thompson, Charles, asso. judge of dist. court, Main St. 

Thompson, Harriet B., Mrs., Walden St. 

Thoreasen, Christian, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 

Thoreasen, Hans, laborer, Dowd's Lane. 

Thornton, Martin, laborer, emp. at Granville Miles', 

Thornton, Michael, laborer, emp. at Charles Burrill's. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



46 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



Thorpe, Emil, shoemakeF, bds. at Ole O. Thorpe's. 

Thorpe, Ole O., boots and shoes, Hubbard St. 

Tierney, William, carpenter, Belknap St. 

Tileston, John H., Fairhaven St. 

Tirrill, George W., clerk, Dowd's Lane. 

Tirrill, John, Mrs., Dowd*s Lane. 

Titcomb, George E., physician, Sudbury Road. 

Tobin, William, laborer, Belknap St. 

Todd, Thomas, printer (i Somerset St., Boston), Main St. 

Tolman, Adams, clerk, Liberty St 

Tolman,* Benjamin, printer (20 Devonshire St., Boston), 

Lexington Road. 
Tolman,* Charles E., clerk (30 Kilby St., Boston), res. at 

George Tolman's. 
Tolman, George, journalist, cor. Hubbard and Thoreau Sts. 
Tolman, William N., civil engineer (39 Court St., Boston), res. 

at George Tolman's. 
Toomey, James, laborer. Railroad Lane. 
Tower, Alonzo, milk contractor (386 Tremont St., Boston), 

Elm St. 
Tower,* Fred A., asst. observer at U. S. Weather Bureau, 

(P. O. Building, Boston), res. at Alonzo Tower's. 
Tower, Frank £., instructor at Mass. Ref., bds. at G. W. 

Shepardson's, C. J. 
Towle, Charles H., grocer, bds. at Mrs. S. E. Griffin's. 
Towle, George W., grocer, Hubbard St. 
Towle, Jeannette S., Mrs., Lowell Road. 
Towle, Peter H., mechanic, Old Harvard Road, C. J. 
Towler, David, farmer, Virginia Road. 
Towler, John, laborer, Lexington Road. 
Towler, Patrick, mason's assistant, Virginia Road. 
Tozier, John, harnessmaker, bds. at Frank Collins', C. J. 
Triscoll, Dennis, laborer, Barrett's Mill Road. 
Trull, Washington B., physician, cor. River and Main Sts. 
Tufts, William, tourist guide, Walden St. 
Tulis, Degnan, Mrs,, Belknap St. 
Turner, Elizabeth, Mrs., Lowell Road. 
Tuttle, Edward, butcher, Hubbard St. 
Tuttle, Edward L., fish dealer, Hubbard St. 
Tuttle, Frank, tailor, Hubbard St. 
Tuttle, Horace, livery stable, Walden St. 
Tuttle, Howard O., farmer, at A. J. Tuttle's. 
Tuttle,* Samuel H., clerk, bds. at Mrs. M. E. M. Everett's. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRKCTORY AND GUIDE. 47 

Underhill, O. H.,.Mrs., bds. at William Bultrick's. 

Varley, Edward, laborer, town roads, off Grant St. 

Varley, Patrick, night watchman, Grant St. 

Veazie, Daniel L., Bedford St. 

Vialle, George K, (Boston Nat. Bk., 95 Milk St., Boston), 

Main St, 
Vialle,* Walter G., clerk (246 Devonshire St., Boston), res. at 

George E. Vialle's. 
Vialle,* Herbert B., clerk (52 Boylston St., Boston), res. at 

George E. Vialie's. 
Viera,* Frank R., clerk (286 Columbus Ave., Boston), res. at 

Mrs. Mary Viera's. 
Viera, Mary E., Mrs., Hubbard St. 
Viera,* Joseph R., mechanic, res* at Mrs. Mary E. Viera's. 

Wagnor, Charles, harnessmaker, bds. at James Boylan's, C.J. 
Waite, Charles J., general country store, Main St., C. J. 
Waite, J. H., general country store, Main St., C. J. 
Walcott,* Charles H., lawyer (13 Beacon St., Boston), Main St. 
Walcott,* George K, grocer, Lexington Road. 
Walcott,* Henry J , treasurer (C. Brigham Co., 386 Tremont 

St., Boston), Main St. 
Walcott,* Henry J., Jr., res. at H. J. Walcotl's. 
Walcott,* Martha P., Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Wales, Charles W., clerk at Mass. Ref., bds. at G. W. Sbepard- 

son's, C. J. 
Walker, James, engineer at mill, off Main St., Westvale. 
Wallace, Michael, section hand, F. R. R., Elsinore St. 
Wallace, W. R., Mrs., nurse, Lexington Road. 
Warner, James E., instructor at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Warren, George A., boat builder, Lexington Road. 
Watson, H. Frank, officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Watson, John G., clerk, bds. at Nathan Derby's. 
Watts,* Horace, carpenter, VValden St. 
Watts,* Horatio C, carpenter, Walden St. 
Webster, Ellen W., Mrs., res. at D. G. Lang's. 
Webster, Jasper Y., harnessmaker, bds. at J. Frederickson's, 

Westvale. 
Weeks, Walter S., carpenter, cor. Thoreau and Hubbard Sts. 
Weir,* Elizabeth J., Miss, teacher in private school, Walden St. 
Weir, Maria J., Miss, Walden St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



48 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE, 

Welch, Lucy D., Miss, teacher in public schools, bds. at A. H, 

Chase's, C. J. 
Welch, Samuel L., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 
Wesson, John B., Home for Aged, Walden St. 
Wetherbee, Charles C, conductor, B. & M. R. R., Barrett's 

Mill Road, C, J, 
Wetherbee,* Daniel H., farmer, off Weslford Road. 
Wetherbee, Nancy C, Mrs., Lexington Road. 
Wheeler,* Abial H., fanner, Sudbury Road. 
Wheeler,* Alvah G., farmer. Nine Acre Comer, Town Way. 
Wheeler,* Anson, farmer, Nine Acre Corner, Town Way. 
Wheeler,* Arthur L., teacher, res. at G. F. Wheeler*s. 
Wheeler,* R F,, gardener, cor. Sudbury Road and Academy 

Lane. 
Wheeler,* Caleb H., farmer, Sudbury Road. 
Wheeler,* Edwin, Elm St. 

Wheeler,* Frank, farmer, Nine Acre Corner, Fitchburg Turn- 
pike, 
Wheeler,* Frank K., carpet beater, res. at B. F. Wheeler's. 
Wheeler,* Gardner, farmer, Nine Acre Corner, Town Way. 
Wheeler,* George, farmer, Nine Acre Corner, Fitchburg 

Turnpike. 
Wheeler,* George F., farmer, Fairhaven St. 
Wheeler,* Harry W., engraver (43 Milk St., Boston), res. at 

B. F. Wheeler's. 
Wheeler,* Harvey, Boston Harness Co., Elm St. 
Wheeler, Henry C., farmer, Virginia Road. 
Wheeler, Jonathan, Mrs., Sudbury Road. 
Wheeler,* Mason, farmer, Lowell Road. 
Wheeler,* Thomas R., farmer, res. at G. F. Wheeler's. 
Wheeler,* William, civil engineer (89 State St., Boston), 

Nashawtuc Ave. 
Wheildon, Misses, Main St. 
Whitcomb, Elwyn H., Walden St. 
Whitcomb,* Harriet L., Mrs., Sudbury Road. 
Whitcomb, Henry L., bookstore, Lexington Road, 
Whitcomb, S. E., Mrs., Main St., Westvale. 
White, Abram, Thoreau St. 
White, Patrick, laborer, Bedford St. 
White, Patrick J., carpenter, Bedford St. 
White, Patrick W., blacksmith, Belknap St. 
White, Susan, Mrs., Thoreau St. 
White, Winthrop F., farmer, Thoreau St. 
Whitehead, Howarth, wheelwright, Bedford St. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 49 

Whitney, Ellen F., Miss, librarian, Elm St. 
Whitney, Martin H., farmer, Lowell Road. 
Wight, Edwin O., carpenter, bds. at Wright Tavern. 
Wilkins, Lewis, mill hand, bds. at G. W. Wright's, Westvale. 
Willis, Fanny C., Miss, res. at Misses Wheildon's. 
Williams,* Charles H., farmer, res. at David Williams*. 
Williams, David, farmer. Old Marlboro Road, C. J. 
Williams,* Frank A., farmer, off Old Marlboro Road, C. J. 
Williams, John D., farmer, off Old Marlboro Road, C. J. 
Williams,* Martin A., farmer. Nine Acre Corner, C. J. 
Williams,* Richard H., farmer. Nine Acre Corner, C. J. 
Wilson, John, harnessmaker, bds. at George Ryan's'J C. J. 
Wilson, John D., officer at Mass. Ref., Commonwealth 

Ave., C. J. 
Withington, George S., harnessmaker, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Wood,* Albert E., civil engineer, Middle St. 
Wood,* James B., lumber dealer. Main St. 
Wood, Maria, Mrs., res. at Mrs. Ann M. La Forest's. 
Wood,* Richard F., clerk, res. at James B. Wood's. 
Wood, Robert H., clerk. Main St., Westvale. 
Wood, William H., officer at Mass. Ref., Main St., C. J. 
Woodworth, Randel C, harnessmaker, bds. at F. J. Hamp- 

son's, C. J. 
Worthingion, Charles H., mill hand. Main St., Westvale. 
Worthley, Hiram P., milkman, Lowell Road. 
Wright, Charles L., laborer, Baker Ave., C. J. 
Wright,* Emily, Miss, housekeeper at Francis Hunt's. 
Wright,* George A., farmer, Lexington Road. 
Wright, George H., farmer. Nine Acre Corner, off Fitchburg 

Turnpike. 
Wright, George W., painter, Main St., Westvale. 
Wright, Olin L., harnessmaker, Conant St., C. J. 
Wright, Walter A., painter, Main St., Westvale. 
Wright, William, farmer. Baker Ave., C. J. 
Wright, William H., painter. Main St., Westvale. 
Wright,* William H., farmer, Lexington Road. 

Young, George W., officer at Mass. Ref., Elm St., C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 



APOTHECARIES. 



FRIEND, JOHN C, Main St. (See pages 135, 139, 145.) 
JOHNSON, B. F., Laws Brook Road. (See page 143.) 
RICHARDSON, H. S., cor. Walden and Main Sts. (See 
page 149.) 

ARCHITECT. 

Chapman, John H., (89 State St., Boston), Main St. 

AUCTIONEERS. 

Munroe, F. B., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

SANFORD, CHARLES W., office at Whitcomb's bookstore. 

(See page 148.) 
Staples, Samuel, Lexington Road. 

BAKER. 
MARTELL, ELLEXIA D., Main St. (See page 143.) 

BANKS. 

Concord National Bank, Main St. 
Middlesex Institution for Savings, Main St. 

BILLIARD AND POOL ROOMS. 

Partridge, Samuel H., Main St., C. J. 
Phelps, Edward F., Main St. 
Puffer, Charles S., Main St., C. J. 

(50) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 5 1 

BLACKSMITHS. 

Cloutier, Arthur, Main St. 

McDonald, William, Main St., C. J. 

FITZPATRICK, JOSEPH, Main St. (See page 150.) 

HARRINGTON, AMASA, Walden St. (See page 142.) 

McCellen, Ronald, Lowell Road. 

MOREAU, AUGUSTE, rear of Fitchburg Depot. .(See 

page 155.) 
WHITE, PATRICK W., rear of Garty's Block, Main St. 

(See page 153.) 

BOARDING HORSES. 

BAKER, GEORGE M., (Hosmer Farm), Baker Ave. (See 

page 153.) 
PIERCE, FRANK C, Barrett's Mill Road, C.J. (See 

page 145.) 
WHEELER, WILLIAM, Elm St. (See page 143.) 

BOARDING-HOUSES. 

Bowker, Charles A., Elm St., C. J. 

BROOKS, GEORGE, Strawberry-Hill Road. (See page 144.) 

Fisher, Albert G., Derby St., C. J. 

Gillespie, Phebe A., Mrs., (Thoreau House), Monument Sq. 

Grimes, Gilbert, Mrs., off Lexington Road. 

Hampson, Flora J., Mrs., Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 

Hosea, Margaret, Mrs., Belknap St. 

Penniman, O. H., (Wright Tavern), Lexington Road. 

Sullivan, Ellen, Miss, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

BOOKBINDER. 

Kent, Samuel D., Main St. 

BOOKSTORE. 
WHITCOMB, HENRY L., Main St. (See page 146.) 

BOOTS AND SHOES. 

Pierce, Frank, Main St. 

THORPE, OLE O., Main St. (See page 146.) 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



52 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

POOT AND SHOE COBBLERS. 

Brittain, W. H., Monument St. 

Hogan, Michael, Main St. 

Pierce, Frank, Main St. 

THORPE, OLE O., Main St. (See page 146.) 

BUILDERS. 

Fletcher, Cyrus, Main St., Westvale. 

Hosmer, Densmore B., Bedford St. 

LOWDEN, ANDREW S., Hubbard St. (See page 140.) 

CARPENTERS. 

Adams, Daniel H., Fairhaven St. 
Bartlett, George A., Bedford St. 
Folsom, George W., Middle St. 
Gray, George, Walden and Everett Sts. 
Harris, Mervill M., Byron St. 
Haynes, Elias E., Main St., C. J. 
Hennessey, Patrick, Davis Court. 
Jacques, Gilbert, Lexington Road. 
Potter, John S., Belknap St. 
Powers, Martin, Bedford St. 
Tierney, William H., Belknap St. 
Watts, Horatio C, Walden St. 
White, Patrick J., Bedford St. 

CARRIAGE DEALERS. 

EATON, LORENZO, Monument St. (See page 141.) 
HARRINGTON, AMASA, Walden St. (See page 142.) 

CARRIAGE MAKER. 

HARRINGTON, AMASA, Walden St. (See page 142.) 

CATTLE DEALERS. 

Carr, J. Fletcher, Monument St. 

Derby, Nathan, Walden St. 

DERBY, BENJAMIN, Main St., C. J. (See page 146.) 

JONES BROTHERS, Westford Road. (See page 144.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 53 

CIDER MILL. 
Brooks, George, Strawberry-Hill Road. 

CIVIL ENGINEERS. 

Wheeler, William, Nashawtuc Ave. 

WOOD, ALBERT K, Middle St. (See page 138.) 

CLERGYMEN. 

Abbreviations* — C. T., Congregational Trinitarian ; E., Epis- 
copalian; C. U., Congregational Unitarian; U., Unsectarian; 
R. C, Roman Catholic. 

Batt, William J. (C. T.), oif Main St., C. J. 

Breed, Walter R. (E.), Monument St. 

Bulkeley, Benjamin R. (C. U.), Main St. 

Campbell, Walter W. (U.), Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 

Crowe, John A. (R. C), Monument Sq. 

Button, J. Frederic (C. U.), Main Street. 

Holland, Frederick W. (C. U.), Main Street. 

Hutchins, Charles L. (E.), Monument St. 

Jackson, Abram W. (C. U.), Walden St. 

McCall, Michael J. (R. C), Monument Sq. 

Putnam, Alfred P. (C. U.), Main St. 

Reynolds, Grindall (C. U.), Main St. 

Tewksbury, George A. (C. T.), Walden St. 

CLOTHING. 

BROWN, CHARLES E., Main St. (See page 150.) 
CROSS, WILLIAM D., Main Street. (See page 148.) 

COAL. 
WOOD, JAMES B., rear Fitchburg Depot. (SeeJpageJi4o.) 

CURTAIN FIXTURES. 

Bigelow, George, Bedford St. 

KANDAL, WILLIAM A., Main St. (See page 141.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



54 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

DENTIST. 
STETSON, J. T., Monument Sq. (See page 152.) 

DRESSMAKERS. 

Balanger, Joseph, Mrs., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

Barry, Mary, Miss, Bedford St. 

Briggs, E. M., Mrs., Main St. 

Brooks, L. E., Mrs., Middle St. 

Castle, Lizzie, Miss, Belknap St. 

Cook, C. E., Mrs., Main St. 

Drury, Thomas H., Mrs., Main St. 

Harrison, Kate, Miss, Hubbard St. 

Karin, Elizabeth T., Miss, Sandy Pond Road. 

Maguire, Elizabeth, Miss, Bedford St. 

McManus, Mary F., Miss, Railroad Lane. 

McManus, Annie T., Miss, Railroad Lane. 

Melvin, Amos, Mrs., Lexington Road. 

Prendergast, Annie, Miss, Belknap St. 

Quinn, Rose, Miss, Belknap St. 

Sawyer, Ellen M., Miss, Lexington Road. 

Sexton, Mary, Miss, Bedford St. 

Trundy, May, Miss, Cambridge Turnpike. 

Wallace, Mary, Miss, Elsinore St. 

Wetherbee, Lilla, Miss, off Westford Road. 

DAIRY FARMS. 

Ponkatasset Farm, Monument St. 

Wilbur Grove Farm, Strawberry-Hill Road. 

WORTHLEY, HIRAM P., Lowell Road. (See page 154.) 

DRUGGISTS. 
(See apothecaries.) 

DRESS GOODS. 

DAMON MANUFACTURING CO., Laws Brook Road, C.J. 
(See colored page.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 55 

DRY GOODS. 

BROWN, CHARLES E., Main St. (See page 150.) 
CROSS, W. D., & Co., Main St. (See page 148.) 

ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL SPECIALTIES. 
BUCKLEY, JOHN, Lexington Road. (See page 151.) 

EXPRESSES. 

American Express, Main St. 
National Express, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
TAYLOR'S EXPRESS (J. M. Graves, proprietor). Main St. 
(See page 148.) 

FANCY ARTICLES. 
WHITCOMB, HENRY L., Main St. (See page 146.) 

FISH DEALERS. 

HUNT, CHARLES W., Laws Brook Road, C. J. (See 

page 151.) 
TUTTLE, EDWARD L., Walden St. (See page 139.) 

FLOUR AND GRAIN. 

BROWN, BENJAMIN W., Sudbury Road. (See page 139.) 
HASTINGS, F. J., & Co., rear of Filchburg Depot. (See 

page 155-) 

FRUIT DEALER. 

Catarino, Antonio, Walden St. 

GENERAL COUNTRY STORES. 

FLAGG & RUSSELL, Commonwealth Ave., C. J. (See 

page 152.) 
Fowler, Loring N., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
Waite, Charles J., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

GRIST AND SAW MILLS. 

GROSS, NEWTON D., Barrett's Mill Road. (See page 154.) 
Damon Manufacturing Co., Main St., Westvale. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



56 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

GROCERS. 

Cutler, Frank C, Belknap St. 

FLAGG & RUSSELL, Commonwealth Ave., C. J. (See 

page 152.) 
Fowler, Loring N., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
MURRAY, J. D., Main St. (See page 142.) 
Ross, William, Main St., Westvale. 
TOWLE, G. W. & C. H., Main St. (See page 142.) 
Waite, Charles J., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 
WALCOTT, GARFIELD & HOLDEN, Main St. (See 

page 150.) 

HAIRDRESSERS. 
Brown, John H., Main St., C. J. 
Gleason & Dee, Main St. 
Kelley, Michael, Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

HARNBSSMAKERS. 

BOSTON HARNESS CO., Main St., C. J. (See page 153.) 
HOPKINS, GEORGE H., Main St. (See page 152.) 

INSURANCE AGENTS. 

BARRETT, WILLIAM, Monument Sq. (Seepages 158-162.) 
BUSH, WILLIAM MACK, Main St. (See page 156.) 
Smith, Charles F., Walden St. 

INSURANCE COMPANY. 

MIDDLESEX MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE COM- 
PANY, Monument Sq. (See page 157.) 

ICE CREAM. 

HUNT, GEORGE W., Main St. (See page 152.) 

MARTELL, ELLEXIA D., manufacturer. Main St. (See 

page 143.) 

ICE DEALERS. 

LORING, J. H., & SONS, Barrett's Mill Road, C. J. (See 

page 144.) 
MASON, T., & CO., cor. Barrett's Mill and Lowell Roads. 

(See page 154.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 57 

JEWELERS. 

DANIELS, N. S., Main St. (See page 149.) 
Munroe, F. B., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

JOBBING. 

Hagerty, Thomas, Potter St. 
Prescott, Charles W., Monument St. 
MAKER, E. H., Walden St. (See page 150.) 

LAWYERS. 

Brooks, George M., Main St. 
Heywood, George, Lexington Road. 
Hoar, Ebenezer R., Main St. 
Hoar, Samuel, Main St. 
Hudson, Woodward, Main St. 
Keyes, John S., Monument St. 
Keyes, Prescott, Main St. 
Merwin, Henry C, Monument St. 
Richardson, Henry A., Monument St. 
Thompson, Charles, Main St. 
Walcott, Charles H., Main St. 

LUMBER DEALER. 
WOOD, JAMES B., rear of Fitchburg Depot. (See page 140.) 

MANUFACTURING COMPANIES. 

BOSTON HARNESS COMPANY, Main St., C. J. (See 

page 153.) 
CONCORD WAGON WORKS, Walden St. (See page 142.) 
DAMON MANUFACTURING CO., Main St., Westvale. 

(See colored page.) 
Warner, R. & Co., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

MARKETS. 

(See provisions.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



58 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

MASONS. 
BENJAMIN, CYRUS W., Hubbard St. (See page 138.) 
Clarity, John, Elsinore St. 
Connors, William, (stone). Main St. 
Karin, William J., (stone), Sandy Pond Road. 
McWalter, Patrick, Railroad Lane. 
Sheehan, Jeremiah, (stone). Main St., C. J. 

MILK DEALERS. 

Reid, Henry A., Barrett's Mill Road, C. J. 

Russell, James M., Main St., Westvale. 

WORTHLEY, HIRAM P., Lowell Road. (See page 154.) 

MILLINERY. 
BUCK, EDITH A., Main St. (See page 145.) 

MONUMENTAL WORKS. 

Sheehan, P. J., Bedford St. 

MUSIC TEACHERS. 

Eaton, Harriet L., Miss, Monument St. 
Gleason, Kate A., Miss, Thoreau St. 
Hosmer, Frances L., Miss, Walden St. 
Karin, Catherine G., Miss, Sandy Pond Road. 
Leland, Walter S., Miss, Commonwealth Ave., C. J. 
Rolfe, Fanny D., Miss, Middle St. 
Sampson, Fanny E., Mrs., Stow St. 
Surette, Thomas W., Monument Sq. 

NEWSPAPER. 

CONCORD ENTERPRISE, John F. Wood, proprietor, 
Marlboro. (See page 137.) 

NEWSDEALERS. 

HUNT, GEORGE W., Main St. (See page 152.) 
WHITCOMB, HENRY L., Main St. (See page 146.) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 59 

NURSES. 
Bennett, Emma, Mrs., Bedford St. 
Crane, Fanny, Miss, Main St. 
Wallace, W. R., Mrs., Lexington Road. 

NURSERY. 
CONCORD NURSERY, F. G. Pratt, proprietor, Monu- 
ment St. (See page 143.) 

PAINTERS. 

Buttrick, Henry O., (carriage), Westford Road. 
CHAPMAN, H. H., (carriage), rear Fitchburg Depot. (See 

page 155.) 
CLAHANE, EDWARD, Walden St. (See page 153.) 
HARRINGTON, AM AS A, (carriage), Walden St. (See 

. page 142.) 
LOUGHLIN & DEMPSEY, Grant St. (See page 155.) 
MARA, MARK, Davis Court. (See page 141.) 
O'Connell, Darby, Potter St. 
Wright, Walter A., Main St., Westvale. 

PAPER HANGERS. 
Bigelow, George, Bedford St. 
Carter, James W., Bedford St. 

PAPER HANGINGS. 
WHITCOMB, H. L., Main St. (See page 146.) 

PHARMACISTS. 

(See apothecaries.) 

PHOTOGRAPHERS. 

Hosmer, Alfred W., Lowell Road. 
Munroe, Alfred, Main St. 

PHYSICIANS. 

Blaisdell, Annie C, Miss, (Christian Science), Thoreau St. 
BRALEY,* HENRY H., (homoeopathic), hours i to 3, and 
6 to 8 P. M., Main St. 

* Telephone connection. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



6o CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

GODFREY, JOSEPH W., hours 8 to 9 a.m., 12 to 2 p.m., 

6 to 8 P.M., Main St., C. J. 
KIRBY,* N. HARRIS, hours 1.30 to 3, and 7 to 8.30 p.m.. 

Main St. 
TITCOMB,* GEORGE E., hours 2 to 3, and 7 to 7.30 p.m., 

Sudbury Road. 

PLANTS (Small Fruits). 

WHEELER, GEORGE F., Sudbury Road. (See page 144.) 

PLUMBERS. 

EMMOTT, GEORGE J., Main St. (See page 149.) 
HATCH, MYRICK L., Main St. (See page 142.) 

PRINTER. 

TODD, THOMAS, Main St. (See page 131.) 

PRIVATE SCHOOLS. 

Brown, Abby, Miss, Main St. 

GARLAND, JAMES S., (CONCORD HOME SCHOOL), 
Wood St. (See page 147.) 

PROVISIONS. 

BOWMAN, ALFRED F., Main St. (See page 151.) 

DAVIS, NATHAN A., Main St. (See page 141.) 

HUNT, CHARLES W., Laws Brook Road, C.J. (See 

page 151.) 
Ingerson, Henry C, Bedford St. 

REAL ESTATE AGENTS. 

Munroe, F. B., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 

SANFORD, CHARLES W., office at Whitcomb's bookstore. 

(See page 148.) 
Staples, Samuel, Lexington Road. 

STABLES (Livery). 

BROOKS, L. E., MRS., Thoreau St. (See page 149.) 
Chaplin, Waldo, Main St., C. J. 
TUTTLE, HORACE, Walden St. (See page 145.) 
* Telephone connection. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 6 1 

STATIONERY, TOYS, Etc. 
WHITCOMB, H. L., Main St. (See page 146 ) 

STOVES, RANGES, TINWARE, Etc. 

EMMOTT, GEORGE J., Main St. (See page 149.) 
HATCH, MYRICK L., Main St. (See page 142.) 

TAILOR. 

Tuttle, Frank, Walden St. 

"THE KITCHEN." 
WILLIS, F. C, MISS, Middle St. (See page 138.) 

UNDERTAKER. 
FARRAR, WILLARD T., Bedford St. (See page 138.) 

UPHOLSTERERS. 

KANDAL, WILLIAM A., Main St. (See page 141.) 
Potter, Daniel F., Walden St. 

WHEELWRIGHTS. 

Garfield, George, Main St. 

HARRINGTON, A., Walden St. (See page 142.) 

Nealey, Edward F., rear of Fitchburg Depot. 

VARIETY STORES. 

HUNT, GEORGE W., Main St. (See page 152.) 
Joyce, A. P., Mrs., Laws Brook Road, C. J. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



TOWN OF CONCORD. 



Valuation May i, 1891. 

Real Estate Land $979,165.00 

Real Estate Building .... 1,429,615.00 

$2,408,780.00 
Personal Estate (including Resident Stock 

in Concord National Bank) . , $1,170,274.00 

^3,579^054.00 

Number of Polls 1,043 

Number of Houses 689 

Acres of Land i5>253 

Population (1890) 4,427 



TOWN OFFICERS FOR 1892-93. 

Town Clerk. — George Hey wood. 

Selectmen. — James B. Wood, Frank E. Cutter, Cyrus 

Fletcher. 
Assessors. — Benjamin W. Brown, George G. Russell, Albert 

E. Wood. 
Overseers of the Poor. — D. Goodwin Lang, George H. 

Wright, William H. Hunt. 
Treasurer. — John C. Friend. 
Auditor. — Stedman Buttrick. 
Collector of Taxes. — Charles W. Sanford. 
School Committee. — Prescott Keyes, William H. Hunt, 

Alice R. Wheeler, John A. Crowe, Annie S. Holden, 

John B. Studley, Charles S. Hart, Hiram P. Worthley, 

Anna M. Holland. 

(62) 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 63 

Library Committee. — George A. King, Alfred Munroe, 

Edward W. Emerson, Benjamin R. Bulkeley, James L, 

Whitney. 
Road Commissioners. — James Garty, Edwin Wheeler, George 

H. Wright. 
Water Commissioners. — Samuel Hoar, Henry J. Hosmer, 

Edward C. Damon, James B. Wood, John C. Friend. 
Trustees of the Town Donations. — John S. Keyes, Henry 

J. Hosmer, Samuel Hoar. 
Sleepy Hollow Cemetery Committee. — Alfred Munroe, 

Edward J. Bartlett, Edward W. Emerson. 
Board of Health. — James B.Wood, Cyrus Fletcher, Henry 

H. Braley, Frank E. Cutter, Henry F. Smith. 
Constables. — John O. Haskell, Densmore B. Hosmer, 

Charles W. Sanford, William Craig. 
Pound Keeper. — Andrew R. Maker. 
Fence Viewers. — Samuel Staples, Joseph Derby, George 

H. Wright. 
Field Drivers. — Charles W. Prescott, Oliver C. Palmeter, 

Benjamin Derby. 
Surveyors of Lumber. — James B. Wood, Cyrus Fletcher, 

Albert E. Wood. 
Measurers of Wood and Bark. — James B.Wood, George 

E. Walcott, Josiah H. Chase, Albert E. Wood. 
Engineers of Fire Department. — Densmore H. Hosmer, 

John F. Sanborn, Frank W. Holden, William Craig, 

George S. Withington. 
Registrars of Voters. — Henry A. Richardson, Joseph D. 

Murray, George Heywood, Julius M. Smith. 
Sealer of Weights and Measures. — Willard T. Farrar. 
Physician at Almshouse. — George E. Titcomb. 
Librarian. — Ellen F.Whitney. 
Superintendent of Schools. — William L. Eaton. 
Superintendent of Water Works. — John O. Haskell. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



64 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Superintendent of Almshouse. — Andrew R. Maken 
Police Officers. — William Craig, Lyman F. Carr. 
Keeper of Lock-Up. — William Craig. 
Lamplighters. — Daniel F. Potter, James M. Russell. 
Agent of Board of Health. — Erastus H. Smith. 
Janitor of Town House. — Densmore. B. Hosmer. 
Night Watchman. — Patrick Varley. 
Inspector of Cattle. — Joseph F. Carr. 



Division of the Town of Concord into Precincts. 

first precinct. 

Beginning at a stone monument that marks the point 
where the Acton and Concord town line crosses the road 
from the Massachusetts Reformatory to Wetherbee's Mill ; 
thence south 61° east, about 290 rods to a stone monument 
upon the northerly side of Barrett's Mill Road, 330 feet east- 
erly from house of Henry H. Qua; thence south 1° west, 
about 300 rods to a stone monument upon the northerly side 
of road leading from Concord to Concord Junction, and 
about 120 feet easterly from a private way leading to house 
of Jerry Sheehan ; thence south 28° west about 328 rods 
to a stone monument upon the northerly side of road from 
Concord Junction to Nine Acre Corner and about 150 feet 
southeasterly from where said road crosses Nut Meadow 
Brook ; thence south 48° west, about 410 rods, to a stone 
monument that marks the spot where the town line between 
Sudbury and Concord crosses the old Sudbury Road from 
Concord, and near the house of Jonathan Dakin in Sud- 
bury ; thence south 50° east, following said Concord and 
Sudbury line about 750 rods, to the middle of Concord 
River and near Bound Rock (so called), to the bound be- 
tween Concord and Lincoln ; thence following the said Con- 
cord and Lincoln bound, in the middle of said river north- 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 65 

erly to Fairhaven Bay about. 500 rods, and then by ii angles 
marked by stone monuments, about 1,453 rods to a stone 
monument, upon the Concord and Bedford line, marking the 
point where Concord, Lincoln, and Bedford join ; thence 
northerly and westerly along said Concord and Bedford line, 
by II angles marked by stone monuments about 691 rods, to 
the middle of the Concord River, and then northwesterly 
down the middle of said river, about 300 rods, to the point 
where the bounds between Concord, Bedford, and Carlisle 
join ; thence westerly along the Concord and Carlisle line by 
34 angles marked by stone monuments, about 2,290 rods to 
Acton and Concord line, to a stone monument where Concord, 
Carlisle and Acton join ; thence south 40° west about 774 rods, 
along said Concord and Acton line to point of beginning. 

SECOND PRECINCT. 

Beginning at a stone monument that marks the point 
where the Concord and Acton town line crosses the road 
leading from the Massachusetts Reformatory to Wetherbee's 
Mill: thence south 61° east about 290 rods, to a stone monu- 
ment upon the northerly side of Barrett's Mill Road, 330 feet 
easterly from house of Henry H. Qua; thence south 1° 
west about 300 rods, to a stone monument upon the north- 
erly side of the road from Concord to Concord Junction, and 
about 120 feet easterly from a private way leading to house 
of Jerry Sheehan; thence south 28° west about 328 rods, 
to a stone monument upon the northerly side of road from 
Concord Junction to Nine Acre Corner, and about 150 feet 
southeasterly from where said road crosses Nut Meadow 
Brook; thence south 48^° west about 410 rods, to a stone 
monument that marks the point where the town line be- 
tween Sudbury and Concord crosses the old Sudbury Road 
from Concord, near the house of Jonathan Dakin ; thence 
north 50° west about 428 rods along said town line, to a 
stone monument marking the corner of the four towns of 
Sudbury, Maynard, Acton, and Concord; and from thence 
along the Concord and Acton town line, north 40° east about 
882 rods, to the bound first mentioned. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



66 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 



Members of the School Committee, 1892-93. 

John A. Crowe Term expires 1893. 

Anna M. Holland " 1893- 

Hiram P. Worthley " 1893. 

Charles S. Hart " 1894. 

Annie S. Holden " 1894. 

John B. Studley " 1894. 

William H. Hunt " 1895. 

Prescott Keyes " 1895. 

Alice R. Wheeler " 1895. 

organization. 
Chairman^ Prescott Keyes. Secretary^ William H. Hunt. 

STANDING SUB-COMMITTEES. 

On High School — Messrs. Keyes and Crowe, and Mrs. 
Wheeler. 

On Emerson School — Messrs. Hunt and Keyes, and 
Mrs. Holland. 

On West Concord School ^^ Messrs. Hart and Studley, 
and Mrs. Holden. 

On Repairs — Messrs. Hunt, Worthley, and Studley. 

On Teachers and Promotion of Scholars — Messrs. Studley 
and Keyes, and Mrs. Wheeler. 

On Text-books^ Apparatus^ and Course of Study — Messrs. 
Hart and Worthley, atid Mrs. Wheeler. 

On Supplies — Messrs. Keyes and Crowe, and Mrs. 
Holland. 

On Conveyance of Scholars — Messrs. Worthley and 
Hunt, and Mrs. Wheeler. 

On Reports — Messrs. Keyes and Hunt. 



Digitized by LjOOQ IC 



CX)NCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 67 

On Music and Drawing — Mr. Crowe, Mrs. Holland, 
and Mrs. Holden, 

On Evening School — Messrs. Keyes and Hunt, and 
Mrs. Holland. 

SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS. 

William L. Eaton^ 

TRUANT OFFICERS. 

Charles W. Sanford. Elias E. Haynes. 

The regular meetings of the Committee are held on 
the Saturday preceding the last Saturday in each month at 
7.30 p. M. 



SCHOOL CALENDAR. 
1892-1893. 

Fall terra begins Tuesday, September 6, 1892, continues 
twelve weeks, and ends November 25, 1892. 

Winter term begins November 28, 1892, continues twelve 
weeks,* and ends February 24, 1893. 

Spring term begins February 27, 1893, continues fifteen 
weeks,* and ends June 16, 1893. This term for the High 
School continues sixteen weeks,* and ends June 23, 1893. 

VACATIONS. 

Fast week and Christmas week. 

HOLIDAYS. 

April 19 ; May 30 ; Thanksgiving Day and the Friday 
following (the schools to close at 12 m. on the Wednesday 
preceding); and February 22. ' 

•Exclusive of vacation. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



68 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

HIGH SCHOOL. 

Stow Street. 

Principal — William L. Eaton. 
Assistants — Harriet P. Rood, Annie B. C. Fisher,* Elizabeth 
S. White, May I. Nichols. 



EMERSON SCHOOL. 

Corner Stow and Hubbard Sts. 

Head Teacher — Helen A. Legate. 
Grammar Grade : A^istants — Sara A. Andrews, Martha E. 

Hurlbut, Helen W. Kelley, Mary W. Lane. 
Primary Grade: Assistants — M. Alice Lounsberry, Alice 

Jacobs,* Lillian F. Hatch. 



RIPLEY SCHOOL. 

Hubbard Street 

Primary and Sub-Primary Grade: 

Head Teacher— Harriet E. Clark. 
Assistant — Nellie F. Worthley. 



WEST CONCORD SCHOOL. 

Main Street. 

Head Teacher — Areminta V. Paasche. 
Grammar Grade: Assistant — Grace A. Heard. 
Primary Grade : Assistants — M. Louise Everett, Lucie D. 
Welch. 



Teacher of Music — Charles E. Boyd. 
Teacher of Drawing — Jessie N. Prince. 



♦Leave of absence for 1892-93. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 69 

The system of education in Concord has undergone a 
complete change within the last fifteen years. Prior to 
1880 the district schools were attended by the children until 
they became fitted for the High. In 1880 the School Com- 
mittee, following the example of the town of Quincy, built 
an eight-room building — the "Emerson School." The dis- 
trict schools were closed, and the children transported from 
the outskirts to the centre. The success of this undertak- 
ing was largely due to the indefatigable labor and untiring 
energy of the Superintendent, Mr. John B, Tileston, now a 
resident of Milton. 

In 1887 a large four-room school building was built at 
West Concord to accommodate the large number of children 
in that part of the town ; and in 1889 the new High School- 
house was built, the old building being moved to Hubbard 
Street, to be used as an overflow for the Emerson School. 
The total cost of these buildings was in the neighborhood 
of fifty thousand dollars, and the town annually appropri- 
ates from fifteen to twenty thousand dollars for their sup- 
port. In the winter of 1891 an Evening School was opened 
for two evenings a week, with an attendance of one hundred. 
Concord feels a just pride that pupils from her schools enter 
the colleges and other institutions of learning with honors. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



yo CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

The Fire Society was organized May 5, 1794; each 
member was equipped with two buckets and a bag. The 
engine company was formed soon after, and a small hand 
. engine procured. In 1827 a volunteer company was organ- 
ized, and in 183 1 sufficient money was raised by subscription 
to purchase a new engine. 

No regular report was made of the department until 
1850. At this time the town owned three fire engines, 
namely. Tiger, No. i ; Lion, No. 2 ; and Independence, 
No. 3. At the present time the Fire Department is made 
up as follows : 

Chief Engineer — Densmore B. Hosmer. 
First Assistant Engineer — John F. Sanborn, West vale. 
Second Assistant Engineer and Clerk — Frank W. Holden. 
Third Assistant Engineer — William Craig. 
Fourth Assistant Engineer — George S. Withington, Con- 
cord Junction. 

Concord Hose Company, No. i. 

House, Bedford St., rear Town House. 

Foreman — William Foss. 
Assistant Foreman — George McDonald. 
C7(?r/^ — Bernard A. Battles. 
Steward — George McDonald. 

hose men. 
Andrew J. Poland. Francis Wallace. 

John G. Watson. Frank McDonald. 

Ira F. Penniman. George J. Penniman. 

Christian Anderson. Jerome B. Gleason. 

George H. Hopkins. Charles C. Davis. 

Edwin O. Wight. Robert H. Carter. 

George A. Barker. 

Has 1,500 feet of hose. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 7 1 

Westvale Engine Company, No. 2. 

House, Main St, Westvale. 

Foreman — Hugh J, Slimond. 
First Assistant Foreman — James Wialker. 
Second Assistant Foreman — Patrick Coughlin. 
Steward — Alonzo T. Rand. 
Treasurer — Daniel Ross. 
Cyif/^i^— Edward Finnell. 

engine men. 

James Lawlor. John Donovan. 

John Ingham. Daniel Mclntyre. 

Edward Back. George R. Back. 

Dominick Burke. Rouse Rotheray. 

William Cobbett. John McAuliff. 

Mark Kelley. Jasper Webster. 

Robert Wood. Charles Worthington. 

Michael Burke, John Collins. 

Thomas Lawlor. Charles Boyce. 

Patrick Riley. James Boyland. 

Michael Kerrigan. Edward McNulty. 
Michael Cotton. 

Rescue Hook and Ladder, No. 5. 

House, Main St., Westvale. 

Foreman — William Frederickson. 

Men are detailed from Engine Co., No. 2, to operate 
this apparatus, as no organized company is allowed. . 
1,400 feet of hose with No. 2 Engine. 

Independence Engine Company, No. 3. 

House, Independence Court, off Main St. 

Foreman — George Hagerty. 
Assistant Foreman — Michael Kelly. 
Clerk — Edward Clahane. 
Steivard—W\\\\z.m H. Hazel. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



72 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



ENGINE MEN. 



Joseph Dee, Jr. 
John H. Burke. 
M. J. Collins. 
Thomas Finegan. 
Henry Manning. 
L. M. Loftus. 
James Toomey. 
John Flannery, Jr. 
John Ferguson. 
Frank Hennesey. 
P. J. Sheehan. 



John J. Dee. 
J. W. Harrington. 
John K. Byron. 
John F. Manning. 
Charles Byron. 
M. J. Manning. 
John Finegan. 
Patrick Flannery. 
William E. McFadden. 
Michael Dee. 
Patrick Hayes. 
James Handley. 



800 feet of hose. No organized company on Hook and 
Ladder, No. 4. 



The following have held the office of Chief Engineer 
up to the present time : 



Asa C. Collier. 
Simon Brown. 
Francis Monroe. 
George Heywood. 
Francis E. Bigelow. 
George L. Prescott. 
Nathan S. Hosmer. 
Moses Hobson. 

Densmore B. 



Ephraim C. Wetherbee. 
Jonas Melvin. 
Henry L. Whitcomb. 
John C. Sanborn. 
James C. Melvin. 
William H. Benjamin. 
Edward F. Nealey. 
My rick L. Hatch. 
Hosmer. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 73 

CONCORD FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY. 

Junction of Main Street and Svdbsry Road. 

OPEN EVERY DAY, EXCEPT SUNDAYS AND HOLIDAYS, FROM 9 A.M- 

TO 12 M., AND FROM 2 TO 6 P.M. SATURDAY EVENINGS 

FROM 7 TO 9. 



This beautiful building was built under the direction of 
the late William Munroe, and by him presented to th« town. 
It was opened October i, 1873. It contains at the present 
time over twenty-four thousand volumes, and the number is 
being constantly increased. The Reading Room contains, 
beside the daily papers, every magaxine and periodical of 
note. The Reference Department is a storehouse of infor- 
mation, not the least interesting being the Concord Alcove, 
which contains a complete set of books written by Concord 
authors — a veritable library in itself. There are miany in- 
teresting articles of virtu, works of art, sculpture, relics, his- 
torical manuscripts, data, etc., which are both valuable and 
interesting. 

The Library derives its support, in part, by town appro- 
priations, and from the income of funds left ftfr its main- 
tenance by the late William Munroe, and others. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Trustees — E. Rockwood Hoar, Chairman; George M. Brooks, 
Grindall Reynolds, George Keyes, Henry F, Smith. 

Treasurer - — Woodward Hudson. 

Library Committee — George A. King, Chairman ; Edward W. 
Emerson, Benjamin R. Bulkeley, Alfred Munroe ; Wood- 
ward Hudson, Secretary. 

Librarian — Miss Ellen Frances Whitney. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



74 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

WATER WORKS. 

Constructed 1874. 

Sandy Pond, situated in the town of Lincoln, is the 
source of Concord's water supply. The Mill Dam, or centre 
of the town, is one hundred feet below the level of the 
pond; consequently a good head is obtained, sufficient to 
throw the water on to the roof of any building. The water is 
of singular purity, making it excellent for drinking purposes. 

The original cost of the Water Works was $48,000. 
The Reservoir on Hurd Hill was built, in 1883, as an addi- 
tional head for the Massachusetts Reformatory, and also in 
case of break in main pipe. Up to March j, 1892, there had 
been expended $i53,24q.82 ; and twenty-five miles of main 
pipe have been laid. There are at the present time one 
hundred and fourteen hydrants, and six hundred takers of 
the water. The receipts for the year ending March i, 1892, 
were $14,661.64. 
Wafer Commissioners — Samuel Hoar, James B.Wood, Henry 

J. Hosmer, John C. Friend, Edward G. Damon. 
Treasurer — John C. Friend. 
Superintendait — John O. Haskell, 



CENTRAL MIDDLESEX DISTRICT COURT. 

Insurance Building, Monument Square. 

Judge — John S. Keyes. 
Associate Judges -^Os\2iX\^% Thompson, Henry C. Merwin. 
Probation Officer^ Central Middlesex District Court— Charles 

W. Sanford, 
Medical Examiner for Concord --r- Gtoxge E. Titcoriib. 

Justices of the Peace in Concord, 
Edwin S. Barrett, Walter S. Blanchard, George M. Brooks, 
Charles E. Brown, Charles Burrill, Frank E. Cutter, Lor- 
ing N. Fowler, Charles Fay Heywood, George Heywood, 
Samuel Hoar, George H. Hopkins, Henry J. Hosmer, 
Woodward Hudson, Asa Jacobs, Prescott Keves. Henry 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 75 

C. Merwin, Geo. W. Poole, Henry A. Richardson, Charles 
W. Sanford, Charles Thompson, Thomas Todd, Charles 
H. Walcott, James B. Wood. 

Notaries Public, 
George Heywood, John F. Hosmer, Prescott Keyes, Charles 
F. Munroe. 

CONCORD WEATHER BUREAU. 

At residence of Alonzo Tower, Elm Street. 

The Weather Signals. — Explanation of the weather 
signals adopted by the United States Weather Bureau : 

1. A square white flag indicates clear or fair weather; 
cloudy weather without rain or snow is included under the 
head of fair weather. 

2. A square blue flag indicates rain or snow. 

3. A white and blue flag (parallel bars of white and 
blue) is used principally during the summer months, and 
indicates that local rains or showers will occur, and that the 
rainfall will not be general, 

4. A black triangular flag always refers to temperature ; 
when placed above either of the preceding three flags it indi- 
cates warmer, and when below either of them, colder weather; 
when it is not displayed the indications are that the temper- 
ature will not vary more than five degrees from the tem- 
perature of the same hour of the preceding day. 

5. A square white flag with black square ia centre indi- 
cates the approach of a sudden and decided fall in tempera- 
ture. This signal is not displayed unless it is expected that 
the temperature will fall to forty-two degrees, or lower, and is 
usually ordered at least twenty-four hours in advance of the 
cold wave. 

6. A square red flag with black square in centre indi- 
cates that the storm expected will be of marked violence. 

The signals are arranged to read downward; thus the 
white square flag with the triangular black flag above it, and 
the square blue flag below it, are interpreted fair weather, 
warmer, followed by rain. Fred A. Tower, Display man. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



76 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

CHURCHES. 



First Parish Church (Unitarian Congregational). 

Organized in 1636. Lexington Street. 
TIMES OF REGULAR SERVICES. 

Sunday Morning Service, 10.45 5 Sunday School at 12 m. 

Sunday Evening Service, 7.40 (omitting July and August, 
and part of June and September). 

Week-day Devotional Meeting, 7.30 p.m., Friday, from 
October to May, including part of each. 

Guild Meeting, Sunday evening, 7 o'clock, from October 
to May inclusive. 

Communion Service, 12 m., on the first Sunday of every 
other month, beginning with January. 

Preparatory Service, Friday before Communion, at 
7.30 P.M. 

Church Members' Meeting during the week following 
Communion Sunday, the evening determined at each Com- 
munion Service. 

The First Parish is the oldest society in the town, and 
their church building is the largest, besides being one of the 
landmarks; built in 1712; enlarged in 1792; remodelled in 
1841 ; and an addition built in 1882. 

The First Provincial Congress met in this church Octo- 
ber II, 1774. The historical "Wright Tavern," that stands 
near the church grounds, is the property of the parish, being 
a gift from the Hon. E. R. Hoar and the late R. N. Rice. 

The annual meeting is held the first Monday in May. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Pastor — Rev. Benjamin R. Bulkeley. 
Parish Standing Committee and Assessors — William L. Eaton, 

Harvey Wheeler, James S. Garland. 
Treasurer — James B. Wood. Clerk — Charles E. Brown. 
Collector — John C. Friend. Sexton — Henry H. Chapman. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 77 

MINISTERS SINCE CHURCH WAS FOUNDED. 

Peter Bulkeley, 1635 to 1659; John Jones, Assistant, 1636 to 
1644; Edward Bulkeley, 1659 to 1696; Joseph Esta- 
brook, 1667 to 1711 ; John Whiting, 1712 to 1737; Daniel 
Bliss, 1738 to 1764; William Emerson, 1765 to 1776; 
Ezra Ripley, 1778 to 1841 ; Hersey B. Goodwin, 1830 to 
1836 ; Barzillai Frost, 1837 to 1857 ; Grindall Reynolds, 
1858 to 1882 ; Benjamin R. Bulkeley, 1882 to — 

OFFICERS OF SUNDAY SCHOOL. 

Superintendent — Charles E. Brown. 

Assistant Superintendent — Rev. Benjamin R. Bulkeley. 

Secretary — Thomas W. Surette. 

Treasurer — Charles E. Brown. 

Librarian — Miss Harriet L. Eaton. 

Assistant Librarian — R. M. Hoyle. 

THE GUILD OP THE FIRST PARISH. 

Organized January 27, 1889. 

Its object is to develop the interest of the young in the 
church, to hold religious meetings, and to engage in chari- 
table work. Meetings are held in the vestry of the church 
every Sunday evening at 7 o'clock, from October to May 
inclusive. The present membership is about fifty. The offi- 
cers, elected annually, consist of a Committee of Arrange- 
ments of five, which elects its own Chairman and Secre- 
tary; a Committee on Services at Concord's Home for the 
Aged, and a Committee on Special Work. The Committee 
of Arrangements has charge of the list of meetings, and 
the choice of subjects and leaders. 

PRESENT COMMITTEE. 

Chairman — Ashley P. How. 
Secretary ^M\^s Carrie P. Holden. 
Miss Matilda Linder. Miss Edith C. Bean. George G. King. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



y78 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

WOMEN'S PARISH ASSOCIATION. 

(First Parish.) Organized in 1881. 

Has a membership of about two hundred ladies, who 
pay an annual assessment of twenty-five cents. Entertain- 
ments are given each year, and the money made thereof is 
expended both at home and abroad, the larger portion being 
used to aid struggling societies and missions of the Unitarian 
faith. Sewing meetings are held once a month. The annual 
meeting is held in the vestry of the church the third week 
in April. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President— lUrs. B. R. Bulkeley. 

Vice-Presidents — Mrs. Edward Hoar, Mrs. E. S. Barrett. 

Secretary — Miss Mary L. Keyes. 

Assistant Secretary — Miss Clara D. Hoar. 

Treasurer — Mrs. Prescott Keyes. 



NORWEGIAN AND DANISH M. E. CHURCH. 

Organized July 6, 1887. 

Services are held the first and fourth Thursdays of 
every month at place elected. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

-Pi^j/ic^r— Rev. O. Forsgren. 
. Secretary — Charles Baggeson. 
Treasurer — Peter Anderson. 



ST. BERNARD'S CHURCH (ROMAN CATHOLIC). 

Organized in 1865. Monument Square, comer of Bedford St. 
TIMES OF REGULAR SERVICES. 

Every week-day morning at 7 o'clock. 
Sundays at 9 and 11 a.m., alternately. 
Sunday School at 2.30 p.m. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY ANt) OUIDE. 79 

The church building has recently been extensively en- 
larged and renovate'd, under the direction of the pastor. 
Its interior decorations, statues, altars, and fresco work are 
elaborated to harmonize with the solemnity of Catholic wor- 
ship and the taste and devotion of the congregation. From 
its commanding site it looks down on the centre of the 
town, and stands sentinel beside the graves of the first 
settlers and Revolutionary heroes. 

Pastor— Ktw. Michael J. McCall 
Associate Pastor — Rev, John A. Crowe. 

PRIESTS SINCE CHURCH WAS ORC^ANIZED. 

P. J. Canney, 1868 to 1870; F. Delahanty, 1870 to 187 1; 
John O'Brien, 187 1 to 1873; T. Brosnahan, 1873 to 
1877 ; M. J. McCall, 1877 ; John A. Crowe, Assistant. 



TRINITARIAN CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

Organized 1826; incorporated 1891. Comer of Hubbard and Walden Sts. 
TIMES OF REGULAR SERVICES. 

Sundays, 10.45 a.m., and 7.30 p.m. 
Fridays, 7.30 p.m., prayer meeting ia vestry. 
Sabbath School, after the morning service. 

The Trinitarian Congregational Church of Concord was 
organized June 5, 1826, and was composed of sixteen mem- 
bers, of whom ten were dismissed by letter from the First 
Congregational Church, They began to worship at once in 
their new, meeting house, which was then partially built. The 
Building Committee were Messrs. Moses Davis, John Vose, 
and Ebenezer Hubbard, names well known to the citizens 
of Concord. The present membership of the church is 
one hundred and eighty. The pastor is the Rev. George A. 
Tewksbury, formerly of Plymouth, Mass., and more recently 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



So CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

of Cambridge, Mass,, and of Seattle, Washington. In 1891 
the church adopted the plan which is now so generally pre- 
ferred in church government, and became incorporated ; and 
in the spdng of 1892 the parish transferred its property to 
the church, and became extinct as an organization. The 
fountain in front of the church was erected in the year 1888, 
as a memorial of a former pastor, the Rev. Henry Martyn 
Grout, D.D., who died in 1886. 

The annual meeting is held the third Monday in 
September. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Pastor — Rev. George A. Tewksbury. 
Deacons — George H. Hopkins, term expires in 1893; Thomas 
Todd, term expires in 1894. 

Clerk ^0\^ O. Thorpe. 
Treasurer — Charles Thompson. 
Church Committee — The Pastor, Deacons, Clerk, Benjamin 

Moody, and James H. Farrar. 
Standing Committee — Charles Thompson, Willard T. Farrar, 
and Daniel F. Potter. 

Collector ^ Thomas Todd. 
Auditor— Henry Q. Rolfe. 
Sexton — Wi\\2iXd T. Farrar. 

MINISTERS SINCE CHURCH WAS FOUNDED. 

Daniel S. Southmayd, 1827 to 1832 ; John Wilder, 1833 to 
1839; James Means, 1839 ^^ 1^44; William L. Mather, 
1844 to 1849 ; Luther Farnham, 1849 ^^ ^^5^ ^ Daniel 
Foster, 1850 to 185 1 ; Luther H. Angier, 185 1 to 1858; 
Charles B. Smith, 1861 to 1863 ; Edmund S. Potter, 
1863 to 1866 ; Frank Haley, 1866 to 1867 ; C. H. S. 
Williams, 1867 to 1870; Andrew J. Rogers, 187 1 to 
1872 ; Henry M. Grout, 1872 to 1886 ; William A. 
DePew, 1886 to 1890 ; George A. Tewksbury, 1891 to — 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 8 1 

THE SABBATH ^SCHOOL. 

Organized in 1828. 

This school has preserved its organization uninterrupt- 
edly up to the present time. It has a membership of two 
hundred and twenty. The session of the school is on 
Sunday mornings at the close of the preaching service. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Superintendent — Thomas Todd. 

Superintendent of Primary Department — Mrs. Abby F. Rolfe. 
Assistant Superintendent and Secretary '• — George W. Hopkins. 
Treasurer — Benjamin Moody. 
Librarian — Mrs G. A. Lounsberry. 

Assistant Librarians — John Lawrenpe and Miss Lillian 
Hatch. 

SABBATH SCHOOL MISSIONARY ASSOCIATION. 

Organized in 1837. 

This association was organized "with the desire that 
the younger persons should be trained into habits of benev- 
olence in the various departments of Christian work, in con- 
nection with the Sabbath School." The annual meeting is 
held in May. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Treasurer and Secretary — Miss Mary Munroe. 
Advisory Board — The Superintendent and officers of the 
Sabbath School. 

CONCORD MISSION CIRCLE. 

Organized in the Primary Department of the Sabbath 
School, and auxiliary to the Woman's Board of Missions. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President— Mrs. Abby F. Rolfe. 

Secretary and Treasurer — Miss Alice H. Damon. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



82 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

THE LADIES' MISSIONARY SOCIETY. 

Organized in 1828. 

This society has a home and foreign department of 
labor, in which its interests have been enlisted. The annual 
meeting is held in January. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Mrs. George A. Tewksbury. 

Vice-President — Miss Mary Munroe. 

Secretary and Treasurer — Miss Harriet J. Hubbard. 

This society has a foreign department, which is auxiliary 
to the Woman's Board of Missions. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Mrs. Frederick A. Reed. 
Secretary and Treasurer — Miss Mary Munroe. 

THE YOUNQ PEOPLE'S SOCIETY OF CHRISTIAN 
ENDEAVOR. 

An organization connected with the Trinitarian Congre- 
gational Church. Its motto is, " For Christ and the Church," 
and its threefold object is to promote an earnest Christian 
life, to increase mutual acquaintance, and to be more useful 
in Christian service. 

It was organized April 24, 1883, or within two years 
after the movement was inaugurated, near Portland, by Rev. 
Dr. Francis E. Clark. It was one of the first fifty societies, 
all located in New England, whose combined membership 
was 2,870, and is now one of the 21,080 societies existing 
in all parts of the world, with a total membership of over 
1,370,200. 

The present membership of the Concord Society is 112. 
Meetings are held Sunday evenings in the vestry of the 
Trinitarian Congregational Church at half-past six o'clock, 
and all young people, of whatever race or creed, are welcome 
to its social and religious services. The annual business 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 8*3 

meeting for the election of officers, and for the transaction 
of other matters of importance, is held in . the month of 
October of each year. Whatever expenses are incurred are 
met by collections. The following are its present officers : 

President — Benjamin Moody. 
Vice-President — William C. Bass. 
Secretary — Miss Alice M. Jacobs. 
Treasurer — Miss Alice M. Damon. 



THIRD CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

Organized May 13, and incorporated May 19, 1890. Main Street, Westvale. 
TIMES OF REGULAR SERVICES. 

Sundays, 10.30 a.m., and 7.30 p.m. 

Thursdays, 7.30 p. m., Prayer and Conference Meeting. 

Sunday School, after the Morning Service. 
Has no settled minister. At the present time the ser- 
vices are conducted by George S. Dodge, M.D., of West 
Acton, Mass. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Treasurer — Edward C. Damon. 

Clerk — Q^oxgit R. Back. 
Deacons — Edward C. Damon, Alfred Coates, Mrs. Mary E. 

Wright. 
Superintendent of Sunday School — George W. Poole. 



TRINITY CHURCH (PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL). 

Organized as a Mission, June 5, 1883 ; as a Parish, May 23, 1887. 
Elm Street, West End. 

TIMES OF REGULAR SERVICES. 

During March, April, May, September, October ajid Novem- 
ber, Sundays, at 10.45 ^•^• 
During June, July and August, Sundays, at 4.30 p. m. 
During December, January and February, Sundays, at 4 p.m. 
Sunday School, after the regular service. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



84 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

The first services of this society were held at the build- 
ing now used as a Mortuary Chapel, on Sunday afternoons. 
The comer stone of the present church edifice was laid 
May 21, 1884 (Ascension Day), and it was consecrated Jan- 
uary 3, 1885. The building is of stone, exceedingly pretty 
in design. In the chancel is a beautiful triple window of 
stained glass, in memory of the late Orlando H. Underhill, 
the first warden of the church. 

The society was organized as a parish, May 23, 1887, 
and was admitted into union with the convention of the 
Diocese of Massachusetts, May 22, 1889. The present num- 
ber of communicants is sixty-five. 

PRESENT OFFICERS, 

Rector — Rev. Walter Russell Breed. 
Wardens — William M. Bush, Reginald H. Jones. 
Treasurer — John L. Gil more. 
Clerk — Asa Jacobs. 
Sexton — George McDonald. 

MINISTERS SINCE CHURCH WAS ORGANIZED. 

Edward A. Rand, to June, 1886 ; Benjamin Judkins, to June, 
1888 ; Walter Russell Breed. 

KING'S DAUGHTERS (TRINITY CHURCH). 

Oi^anizedin 1891. 

The object of the society is to lend a hand in the care 
of the church, and to assist in any other good work. It has 
a membership of eight, and the assessment is twenty-five 
cents a month. The society is under the direction of the 
rector, Rev. Walter R. Breed. 

TRINITY CHURCH AID SOCIETY. 

Oi^ganized in 1884. 

Its object is to give any assistance in its power desired 
or needed by the church. Its efforts have met with success ; 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 85 

and from its income from yearly assessments, fairs, and work, 
it was able to do much for Trinity Mission, and now that the 
mission has become a church the greater demands upon it 
are met with proportionally greater results. It has a mem- 
bership of sixty-seven, and the annual dues are one dollar. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Mrs. George M. Brooks. 
Vice-President "^^x^. William Buttrick. 
Secretary — Mrs. M. G. Goodwin. 
Assistant Secretary — Miss Abby Brown. 
Treasurer — Miss Lidian E. Jackson. 
Assistant Treasurer — Mrs. Charles H. Walcott. 



WEST CONCORD RELIGIOUS SOCIETY. 

Oii^nised February 21, 189 1. 

This society is unsectarian in creed. Its meetings are 
held at Association Hall, Concord Junction. Services as 
follows : 

Sundays, 10.30 a. m., and 7.30 p. m. 

Tuesday evenings, Prayer Meeting. 
Sunday School every Sunday afternoon. 

Pastor — Rev. Walter Webster Campbell. 
Superintendent — George F. Knowles. 

OFFICERS OF SOCIETY. 

President — Charles S. Hart. 
Secretary — John D. Wilson. 
Treasurer — Andrew J. Bean. 
Auditor — Charles A. Hunt. 
Collector — George F. Knowles. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



86 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

KING'S DAUGHTERS (CONCORD JUNCTION). 

Organized April 23, 1892. 

Has a membership of twenty. Annual dues are sixty 
cents. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Miss Maria Ball. 
Vice-President -i— Miss Ida Robinson. 
Secretary — Miss Mabel Marrs. 
Treasurer — Miss Vira Curry. 

JUVENILE KING'S DAUGHTERS. 

Organized in June, 1S91. 

Has a membership of fourteen. Annual dues are sixty 
cents. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Miss Annie Chase. 
Vice-President — Miss Ethel Higgins. 
Secretary — Miss Edith Chase. 
Treasurer — Miss Josie Marrs. 

LADIES' UNION. 

Organized October 27, 1889. 

The object of this society is to work for the good of the 
church. Meetings are held twice a month, at the home of 
some member. Present membership is thirty. Annual dues 
are fifty cents. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Mrs. William Cadwell. 
Vice-President — Mrs. Henry Marrs. 
Secretary — Miss Mary Curry. 
Treasurer — Miss Florence Russell. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 87 

CLUBS, SOCIETIES, Etc. 



UNION BIBLE SOCIETY. 

Organized in 1847; 

Mrs. William Munroe was the founder of this society, 
whose object is to aid the Massachusetts Bible Society. 
Meetings are held at times and places as elected. The 
annual meeting is held in January. The yearly dues are 
twenty-five cents. Present membership is seventy. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Miss Mary Munroe. 

Vice-President — Mrs. Nathan B. Stow. 

Secretary and Treasurer — Miss Ellen T. Emerson. 



CONCORD FEMALE CHARITABLE SOCIETY. 

Organized in 18 14. 

The object of this society is to help the poor and needy 
of the town, to feed the hungry and clothe the naked. The 
society has a small fund invested, but the main income is 
derived from the yearly dues of one dollar paid by members. 

Meetings are held monthly in the parlor or vestry of the 
Unitarian Church. Annual meeting is held during the sec- 
ond week of January. Present membership is one hundred 
and twenty-two. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Mrs. Humphrey H. Buttrick. 
Vice-President — Mrs. Thomas Todd. 
Secretary — Mrs. Eliza Barrett. 
Treasurer — Mrs. Walter S. Blanchard. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



88 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

CONCORD'S HOME FOR THE AGED. 

Incorporated in 1887. 

Following the example of many other towns, the citizens 
of Concord, seeing the need of an organization whereby a 
home might be secured for worthy people who, by the force 
of circumstances, were rather necessitated to be assisted in 
their declining years, met and formed a society called ** Con- 
cord's Home for the Aged," and became incorporated in the 
year 1887. It received its first impetus from a gift of $20,000 
from Miss Martha Hunt, of Somerville, Mass., who preferred 
to be the almoner of her money while living, and thus to be 
permitted to see some of the results of her own benevolence. 
The late J. Story Gerrish bequeathed to the Home the sum 
of $1,000, and the heirs of Mr. Adolphus Merriam, of South 
Framingham, knowing Mr. Merriam's wishes, sent the Home 
$1,000. The heirs of Mr. John Brown, of Concord, in like 
manner, handed to the Treasurer of the Home the sum of 
$500. The Home occupies a large building on Walden 
Street, and has at present six in the famil}', the oldest of 
whom is ninety-six years old. It is managed by a Board 
of Officers, consisting of a President, Secretary, Treasurer, 
Board of Directors, and a Board of Managers. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Samuel Hoar. 
Secretary •— Miss Abby F. Gourgas. 
Treasurer — Henry J. Hosmer. 



CONCORD WOMEN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE 
UNION. 

Organized in March, 1882. 

The object of the union is to try and create such a 
healthful public sentiment as shall demand and secure the 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 89 

banishment of intoxicants. Their work is almost entirely in 
educational lines. Meetings are held the first Tuesday of 
every month at the house of some member. The annual 
meeting is held the first Tuesday in January. The annual fee 
is fifty cents. It has sixty-one regular members, and twenty- 
four honorary members. The following pledge is their only 
bond: 

" We, the undersigned, pledge ourselves to abstain from 
all intoxicating liquors as a beverage, and to discountenance 
the use of the same by others ; also to use our influence to 
banish the traffic for this purpose from the town." 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Mrs. Henry C. Rolfe. 
Vice-Presidents — Mrs. Edward C. Damon, Miss Harriet J. 

Hubbard, Mrs. Daniel E. Angier. 
Secretary — Mrs. Harvey Wheeler. 
Treasurer and Collector — Mrs. Henry H. Chapman. 



SCANDINAVIAN TEMPERANCE SOCIETY. 

Organized in 1885. 

The object of this society is to promote temperancei. 
Meetings are held once a month in the vestry of the Trini- 
tarian Church. Annual meeting is held in January. Yearly 
dues are $1.20. Present membership is fifty. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President— 0\^ O. Thorpe. 
Vice-President— Y., O. Thorpe. 
Secretary — Andrew Wold. 
Treasurer — August Graff. 
Recording Secretary — Lars Andersen. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



90 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

B. C. AND W. CLUB. 

Organized October 23, 1S5S. 

This club was formed for social intercourse and recre- 
ation. Its rooms on Main Street are open both day and 
evening. The present membership is thirty-one. The yearly 
dues are fifteen dollars. The annual meeting is held the first 
Saturday in January. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Directors — George M. Brooks, J. Alfred Smith, Lorenzo 

Eaton. 
Secretary and Treasurer — Henry H. Benson. 



CONCORD CANOE CLUB. 

Organized May 20, 1887. 

This club was formed to keep control of certain points 
bordering on the river; to prevent their sale, or use by objec- 
tionable people for camps, etc., and thus shut off Concord 
people from them. The club controls by lease a number of 
the most charming picnic grounds on the river. Once or 
twice during the season, on some holiday, the club has an 
all-day picnic, with canoe and boat races, at Fairhaven Bay. 
The annual meeting is held in May. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President— Geoxge^ B. Bartlett. 
Secretary — John H. Chapman. 
Treasurer — Stedman Buttrick. 
Commodore — Charles S. Richardson. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 9 1 

CONCORD CHORAL CLUB. 

Organized January 24, 1887. 

Meets during fall and winter on Monday evenings at 
jG. A. R. Hall. Gives generally two public performances. 
Annual meeting the fourth Monday in May. Present mem- 
bership is forty. 

OFFICERS. 

President — William Barrett. 
Vke-Presideni—Thomz.^ Todd. 
Secretary and Treasurer — Charles H. Towle. 
Librarian and Conductor — T. W. Surette. 
Accompanist — Miss Fanny D. Rolfe. 



CONCORD JUNCTION LITERARY AND 
SOCIAL CLUB. 

Organized in 1881. 

It has fifty-one members, both ladies and gentlemen. 
Meetings are held at the home of some member every 
second Saturday. The annual meeting is held on the first 
Saturday in January. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — George G. Russell. 
Vice-President — John Bruce. 
Secretdry — Ur^. W. R. Hall. 
Corresponding Secretary — Miss Ada Chaplin. 
Treasurer — Mrs. W. Chaplin. 
Sergeant-at'Arms — K. T. McKenzie. 
Editor — U.XS. K. T. McKenzie. 
Assistant Editor — Miss Florence Russell. ^i 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



92 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

THE CONCORD SATURDAY CLUB. 

Organized in May, 1876. 

May Alcott Nieriker was the founder of the club. "Its 
object is- to promote social relations, hospitality to visitors 
in Concord, the pursuit of literature, the arts, and generaU 
culture." 

A lecture, reading, musical entertainment, art exhibi- 
tion, or formal conversation, may be given at any meeting. 

The regular meetings are held the last Saturday of each 
month, from September to May inclusive. Special meetings 
subject to call. Its membership is fifty. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Edward W. Emerson. 
Vice-Presidents — Frederick M. Holland, William Wheeler. 
Secretary — Mrs. Prescott Keyes. 



THE LADIES' TUESDAY CLUB. 

Organized in 1888. 

A social club that meets at the homes of the members 
on Tuesday evenings, beginning the first week in November. 
Membership is limited to forty. The only officer is a Presi- 
dent, the office being continuous. 

President — Mrs. John H. Chapman. 



MONUMENT STREET CLUB. 

Organized in 1891. 

A literary and social club for residents of Monument 
Street only. Meets at houses of members on Monday 
evenings during the winter months. Present membership 
about twenty-five. 

OFFICERS. 

President — George B. Bartlett. 
Secretary — John M. Gourgas. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



93 



THE SOCIAL CIRCLE. 

Organized in 1782. 

It grew out of the Committee of Safety of the Revolu- 
tion, and is said to be the second oldest society of this kind 
in America. Number of members limited to twenty-five. 
Meets at residence of members on Tuesday evenings from 
October to March. The circle has published two volunies 
of memoirs of deceased members. Only officer of the 
society is a Secretary, who is elected annually the first 
Tuesday of January. 

MEMBERS. 



E. R. Hoar. 
John S. Keyes. 
Lorenzo Eaton. 
E. W. Bull. 
Samuel Staples. 
N. B. Stow. 
Grindall Reynolds. 
J. M. Smith. 



G. M. Brooks. B. R. Bulkeley. 



E. C. Damon. 
H. F. Smith. 
George Keyes. 
H. J. Hosmer. 
E. W. Emerson. 
H. J. Walcott. 
J. B. Wood. 



W. H. Hunt. 
W. T. Harris. 
D. G. Lang. 
G. A. King. 
Alfred Munroe. 
Prescott Keyes. 
Woodward Hudson. 



William Barrett, Secretary, 



THE TUESDAY CLUB. 

Organized October 23, 1879. 

A social club that meets at the homes of members on 
Tuesday evenings, beginning the first week in November. 
Membership is limited to twenty. The only officer is a Sec- 
retary, who is elected annually. 



MEMBERS. 



Edwin S. Barrett. 
Richard F. Barrett. 
Edward J. Bartlett. 
Charles E. Brown. 
William H. Brown. 
William M. Bush. 
Joseph G. Chandler. 
John H. Chapman. 



Henry D. Coolidge. 
William L. Eaton. 
Samuel Hoar. 
Frank Moore. 
George E. Titcomb. 
Charles H. Walcott. 
William Wheeler. 
Jas. L. Whitney, Secretary, 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



94 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

YOUNG MEN'S CLUB. 

Organized in October, 1887. 

This club was formed for social intercourse. Its rooms 
in Brown's Block, Main Street, are open day and evening. 
Special meetings are held the first and fourth Thursdays of 
each month. 

Present membership is twenty-five. Yearly dues are 
six dollars. The annual meeting comes the first Thursday 
in January. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — James Loughlin. 
Secretary and Treasurer — John F. Manning. 



THE CONCORD ANTIQUARIAN SOCIETY. 

Organized December 13, 1886. 

"To collect and preserve objects of antiquarian and 
historical interest, and to stimulate research into local his- 
tory and antiquities, especially of the towns included within 
the old limits of Concord." The society owns a house on 
Lexington Road, which contains a fine collection of antique 
furniture, china, etc. The collection is on exhibition during 
the day, twenty-five cents being the admittance fee. The 
present membership is one hundred. Annual dues two dol- 
lars. Regular meetings are held on the first Monday in 
every month, except July and August. Annual meeting is 
held in September. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — George M. Brooks. 
Treasurer — Henry J. Hosmer. 
Secretary — George Tolman. 
Custodian — Cummings E. Davis. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 95 

CONCORD JUNCTION HALL ASSOCIATION. 

Chartered in January, 1891. 

The Concord Junction Hall Association is a corpora- 
tion having for its object to provide a public hall for society 
meetings, entertainments, etc. For this purpose a large, 
three-story building was built. It has a commodious hall, 
with a seating capacity of four hundred. There is also in 
the upper story a banquet hall supplied with tables, and 
capable of seating one hundred and fifty at table. The Odd 
Fellows Hall is also in this building. The association has a 
capital stock of $10,000. There are two hundred and sixty 
shares of stock issued. Its par value is $25 per share. 
There are ninety stockholders. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Pnrsident—Wiilisim H. Wood. 
Treasurer — Percy W. Allen. 
Secretary — Charles S. Hart. 
Directors— W\\\\2S£i H. Wood, Peter H. Bullock, Cyrus 
Fletcher, Edward Derby, Jeremiah Sheehan. 



GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC. 

OLD CONCORD POST, NO. l8o — DEPARTMENT OF MASSA- 
CHUSETTS. 

Organized December 20, 1884. 

, . Meets the second and fourth Thursdays of every month 
at G. A. R. Hall, Garty*s Block, Main Street. The annual 
meeting comes the second Thursday in December. Since 
organization the Post has lost ten members by death, and 
eleven have been transferred to other Posts, or have 
resigned. The annual dues are three dollars. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



96 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

OFFICERS FOR 1892. 

Commander — Myrick L. Hatch. 
Senior Vice-Commander — George F. Hall. 
Junior Vice-Commander — Lewis H. George. 
Adjutant — Asa Jacobs. 
Quartermaster — Edward H. Maker. 
Surgeon — George Gray. 
Chaplain — George F. Wheeler. 
Officer of the Day — Andrew R. Maker. 
Officer of the Guard — George B. Cunningham. 
Sergeant Major — Vacant. 
Quartermaster Sergeant — Hiram P. Worthley. 

PAST COMMANDERS. 

George P. How, 1885 (died June 7, 1885); Edward J. Bartlett 
from August 11, 1885, and 1886; Caleb H. Wheeler, 
1887; George V. Ball, 1888; George F. Wheeler, 1889; 
Edward F. Phelps, 1890; George Buttrick, 1891. 

Trustees of the Post Property and of the Relief Fund, 
William H. Hunt, Caleb H. Wheeler, George F. Wheeler. 
Present membership is sixty-four. 

MEMBERS. 

Bartlett, Edward J. Buttrick, Humphrey H. 

Bartlett, George A. Buttrick, William. 

Ball, George V. Carter, Edward. 

Bemis, Frank E. Carter, James W. 

Benjamin, Cyrus W. Cavenaugh, Michael. 

Benjamin, William H. Carr, Lyman A. 

Berry, George W. Chase, Abial H. 

Blossom, Wayne W. Church, Henry H. 

Brown, John, 2d. Clarity, John. 

Brown, John H. Cunningham, George B. 

Bruce, John L. Cutler, Emerson B. 

Butters, George A. De Pew, William A. 

Buttrick, George. Derby, Joseph. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



97 



Fisher, Albert G. B. 
Flint, Waldo. 
Flagg, Warren F. 
Forbush, Charles. 
Folsom, George W. 
George, Lewis H. 
Gray, George. 
Hall, George F. 
Hatch, Murick L. 
Haynes, Elias E. 
Hayward, James E. 
Herrick, Noyes B. 
Hosmer, Edward M. 
Hunt, William H. 
Jacobs, Asa. 
Joy, Alonzo. 
Keefe, Patrick. 
Litchfield, Charles D. 
Loring, John H. 



Maker, Andrew R. 
Maker, Edward H. 
Martell, Ellexia D. 
McClellan, William R. 
Messer, George E. 
Morey, Henry G. 
Phelps, Edward F. 
Sampson, Albert P. 
Sherman, George E. 
Stacey, Charles R. 
Sweet, James H. 
Tasker, John. 
Trull, W. Benson. 
Veazey, Daniel L. 
Watts, Horatio C. 
Wheeler, C-aleb H. 
Wheeler, George F. 
Wood, William H. 
Worthley, Hiram P. 



MIDDLESEX AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

Organized in 1794. 

Until within a few years the annual fairs of the society 
were held in Concord; but becoming deeply in debt they 
gave up their grounds near the Fitchburg R. R. Station, and 
now hold their exhibitions in different parts of the county. 



PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — W. W. Rawson. Secretary - 
Treasurer — B. W. Brown. 



W. H. Hunt. 



CONCORD LYCEUM. 

Organized January 7, 1829. Incorporated in January, 1881. 

The oldest continuous course in America. Gives a 
series of lectures and entertainments, consisting generally 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



98 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

of ten, during the winter months, usually on Wednesday 
evenings. The price of season tickets is two dollars. The 
annual meeting is held on the first Monday in March. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — William H. Brown. 
Treasurer — Henry L. Whitcomb. 
Clerk — Prescott Keyes. 
Directors — William H. Brown, John L. Gilmore, and George 
G. Russell. 



ANCIENT ORDER OF UNITED WORKMEN. 
HARMONY LODGE, No. 14. 

Instituted July 25, 1879. 

A fraternal beneficiary society. Pays a death benefit 
of $2,000, also a sick benefit to needy members. Present 
membership is one hundred and three. Has lost five mem- 
bers by death, paying $10,000 to the families of the de- 
ceased. Cost of membership, inclusive of medical exami- 
nation, initiation fee, benefit certificate, and first assessment 
and quarter's dues, is twelve dollars. Average assessments 
a year are twelve. Meetings are held the first and third 
Thursdays of each month in Union Hall, Main Street. The 
annual meeting is held on the first Thursday in January. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Past Master Workman — Elmus C. Oliver. 
. Master Workman — Mark M. Loftus. 
Foreman — Edward McKenna. 
Overseer — Jerome B. Gleason. 
Recorder — Thomas H. Drury. 
Financier — Frank Pierce. 
Receiver — Henry B. Joslin. 
Guide — Martin H. Whitney. 
Inside Watchman — Andrew W. Murphy. 
Outside Watchman — William Tierney. 
Medical Examiner — George E. Titcomb. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 99 

DAUGHTERS OF REBEK AH — WILLOW LODGE. 

Chartered April 12, 1893. 

It has twelve charter members, and one hundred and 
two present members. 

Meetings are held at Odd Fellows Hall, Association 
Building, Concord Junction, on the first and third Wednes- 
days of each month. 

The annual meeting is held on the first Wednesday in 
January. Yearly dues are one dollar. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

N. G, — Addie McKenzie. 
V. G^. — Mary J. Wood. 
Secretary — Mary Curry. 
Treasurer — Jessie Withington. 
Financial Secretary — Ada Chaplin. 



HOME CIRCLE, PEARL WAYNE COUNCIL, No. 112. 

Organized in 1888. Concord Junction. 

A benefit order that pays one, two, and three thou- 
sand dollars at death. Assessments are graded. Annual 
dues are three dollars. Present membership is fifty. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Leader— Chdocl^s S. Hart. 

Vice- Leader — Mrs. Peter H. Bullock. 

Secretary — Miss Ida Hall. 



I. o. O. F. — CONCORD LODGE. 

Chartered September 19, 1891. 

Has twenty-five charter members and ninety-two 
present members. Meetings are held in Odd Fellows 
Hall, Association Building, Concord Junction, every Thurs- 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



lOO CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

day evening. Yearly dues are four dollars. Its present 
officers are : 

N, G, — Lucius R. Hodgman. 

K G. — Elmer E. Shattuck. 

Secretary — Walter A. Wright. 

Treasurer — Loring N. Fowler. 

Per, Secretary — John O. Haskell. 
Past Grands — GeorgQ V. Ball, Peter H. Bullock. 



INDEPENDENT ORDER OF RED MEN. 
Nashawtuc Tribe, No. 98. 

Instituted April 17, 1890. 

A charitable and beneficial order. Pays four dollars a 
week sick benefit, and in case of death pays funeral 
expenses to the amount of forty dollars. Present member- 
ship is fifty-four. 

Cost to members is four dollars a year. Regular meet- 
ings are held at G. A. R. Hall, Main Street, the first and 
third Tuesdays of each month. Officers elected semi- 
annually. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Sachem — ¥.. E. Shattuck. 
Senior Sagamore — L. R. Hodgman. 
Junior Sagamore — O. W. Small. 
Prophet—^, G. Watson. 
Chief of Records— V. H. Bullock. 
Keeper of Wampum — D. B. Hosmer. 
Collector of Wampum — R. F. Wood. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. lOI 

MASONIC SOCIETIES. 



CORINTHIAN LODGE. 

Chartered in 1797. 

Meets at Masonic Hall, Lowell Road, Monday evening, 
on or before the full of the moon. Annual dues are four 
dollars. Present membership is sixty-six. Annual meeting 
comes in October. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Worshipful Master — Densmore B. Hosmer. 
Senior Warden — John M. Keyes. 
Junior Warden — Alfred F. Bowman. 
Treasurer — Henry H. Benson. 
Secretary — D. Goodwin Lang. 
Marshal — George E. Vialle. 
Chaplain — Henry F. Smith. 
Senior Deacon — Thomas H. Drury. 
Junior Deacon — Lewis H. George. 
Senior Steward — Theophilus Mason. 
Junior Steward — George D. Sohier. 
Inside Sentinel — Nathan A. Davis. 
Organist — Sidney J. Barrett. 
Tyler — Daniel E. Angier. 



WALDEN ROYAL ARCH CHAPTER. 

Chartered in 1873. 

Meets at Masonic Hall, Monday evening, the week fol- 
lowing the Lodge meeting. Annual dues are four dollars. 
Present membership is forty-six. Annual meeting comes in 
October. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

M. E. High Priest— Peter H. Bullock. 
Excellent King — Densmore B. Hosmer. 
Excellent Scribe — Horatio S. Richardson. 
Treasurer — Henry H. Benson. 
Secretary — D. Goodwin Lang. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



102 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Captain of Bost— John O. Haskell. 
Principal Scjourner — Lucius A. Hesselton. 
Royal Arch Captain — Herbert L. Green. 
Master Third Veil — George W. Shepardson. 
Master Second Veil — Gustavus V. Bowen. 
Mc^ter First Veil — Augustine Hosmer. 
Senior Steward — George J. Emmott. 
Junior Steward — Alfred F. Bowman. 
Chaplain — George H. Hopkins. 
Organist — Sidney J. Barrett. 
Tyler — John W. Ireland. 



MUTUAL BENEFIT ASSOCIATION OF THE 
MASSACHUSETTS REFORMATORY. 

Organized October i, 1890. 

The object of this association is to help its members 
in case of sickness. There is also a death benefit, equal to 
the amount of one dollar for each member, which is paid 
to the family of a member immediately after his decease. 
Fifteen dollars a week is allowed a member during sickness, 
commencing two weeks from date of disability, and continu- 
ing not exceeding thirteen weeks in any six months, or for 
any continuous disability. 

Assessments are subject to call by the Board of Direct- 
ors. Quarterly dues are fifty cents. Regular meetings are 
held the first Wednesday of January, April, July, and- 
October. Special meetings subject to call. Annual meet- 
ing the first Wednesday in October. Present membership 
is eighty-four. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

President — Joseph F. Scott. 
Vice-President — Peter H. Bullock. 
Secretary — Herbert A. Slade. 
Treasurer — William H. Wood. 
Directors — Elmer E. Shattuck, George W. Shepardson, 
Josiah H. Chase, Frank H. Rideout. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. I03 

ORDER OF UNITY — CONCORD LODGE, No. 39. 

Organized May 27, 1890. 

A benevolent assessment fraternity, which provides for 
its sick and disabled members, and pledges to pay each, 
either $250, $500, $750, or $1,000, in seven- years. 

Cost of Membership — Initiation fee, $2.00; registra- 
tion fee, $1.50; medical examination fee, $1.50; certificate 
fees, ^1.50. Assessment calls are made as often as may be 
necessary to meet all sick and accident claims, and any 
certificate at its maturity. The amount of assessment is 
graduated by the amount of the certificate the member car- 
ries, ranging from fifty cents for a $250 certificate, to two 
dollars for a $1,000 certificate. The average number of 
calls a year is thirteen. The Concord Lodge has at the 
present time ninety members. Amount of assessments paid, 
$3,557.50. Received in benefits, $1,920. First certificate 
will become due in 1897. 

Meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesday even- 
ings of each month at Union Hall. The present officers are : 

Fast President— O, E. Patch. 
President— D. F. Potter. 
Vice-President— E. L. Tuttle. 
Secretary — F. C. Farley. 
Treasurer — O. O. Thorpe. 
Chaplain — ^. T. Farrar. 
Marshal — M. M. Loftus. 
Assistant Marshal — A. S. Patch. 
Guard— S. C. Fuller. 
Sentinel— \^. A. Kendal. 
Medical Examiner — N. H. Kirby. 

Trustees— A, S. Lowden, E. L. Tuttle, and G. H. Hopkins. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



I04 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

PATRONS OF HUSBANDRY — CONCORD GRANGE, 

No. 150. 

Organized in January, 1888. 

" An organization united by the strong and faithful tie of Agriculture.'* 

SOCIAL AND LITERARY. 

Regular meetings are held at Union Hall, Main Street, 
the second and fourth Mondays of each month. Annual 
meeting the second Monday in December. 

The cost of membership is as follows: Initiation fees — 
For men, tiiree dollars; for women, one dollar; for the four 
degrees and quarterly dues, thirty-five cents for women, and 
sixty cents for men. Present membership is forty-two. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

IV. il/l — George P. Davis. 

O. — T. M. Barry. 

Lecturer — Mrs. Addie Garfield. 

S, — O. E. Patch. 

A. S, — Carl Fuller. 

Chaplain — yirs, G. D. Palmeter. 

Treasurer — ^, A. Flint. 

Secretary — George Buttrick. 

G, AT. — T. Mason. 

Pomona — Mrs. C. E. Barry. 

Flora — Miss L. M. Palmeter. 

Ceres— M.x^, E. D. Flint. 

Z. A. S, — Miss Amy B. Garfield. 



ROYAL ARCANUM — CONCORD COUNCIL, 
No. 963. 

Instituted April 12, 1886. 

Its benefits are : $3,000, in case of death, and payment 
of all dues and assessments during total disability. It has 
nineteen charter members and sixty-one present members. 
Has lost one member by death. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 105 

Cost of Membership — Initiation fee, $5.00; medical 
examination, $2.50; benefit, certificate, $2.00. One quar- 
ter's dues, $1.00 and one assessment. Average assessments 
are one a month. Meetings are held at Odd Fellows Hall, 
Association Building, Concord Junction, on second and 
fourth Saturdays of each month. The annual meeting is 
held on the second Saturday in December. Its present 
officers are : 

^^g'^/ — William H. Wood. 
Vice-Regent — John B. Studley. 
Orator — Daniel A. Lakin. 
Fast Regent — Peter H. Bullock. 
Secretary — Frank H. Rideout. 
Collector— G^oxgt W. Poole. 
Treasurer — Wayne W. Blossom. 
Chaplain — George S. Withington. 
Guide — Calvin S. Robinson. 
Warden — Thomas Kennedy. 
Sentry — Alonzo T. Rand. 
Medical Examiner — Charles B. Saunders. 



ROYAL ARCANUM — MUSKET AQUID COUNCIL, 
No. 872. 

Instituted January 8, 1885. 

Pays a death benefit of $3,000, also sick benefits to 
needy members. Since organization the Council has lost 
four members by death, and has paid $12,000 to the families 
of the deceased. The present membership is fifty. 

Cost of Membership — Initiation fee, $5.00; medical 
examination, $2.50 ; benefit certificate, $2.00. One quarter's 
dues, $1.00 and one assessment. Average assessments are 
one a month. The Council meets every second and fourth 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



I06 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Thursday evening in each month at Walden Hall, Main 
Street The annual meeting is held on the third Thursday 
in April. The officers for 1892 are : 

Regent—^. W. Brown. 
Vice-Regent— C. H. Cook. 
Orator— Y., H. Whitcomb. 
Past Regent — Benj. Moody. 
Secretary — Frank Pierce. 
Collector— S. H. Tuttle. 
Treasurer — W. D. Cross. 
Chaplain — N. A. Davis. 
Guide— G, C. How. 
Warden — Lewis Keese. 
Sentry— K. F. Wood. 
Trustees— "Si. F. Barrett, G. E. Titcomb, and N. A. Davis. 
Medical Examiner — George E. Titcomb. 



MANUFACTORIES. 



BOSTON HARNESS COMPANY. 

The Boston Harness Company began its existence 
about twelve years ago in a very small way in the city of 
Boston. It changed hands in 1882, when Mr. Harvey 
Wheeler, of its present management, bought the entire busi- 
ness. It has gradually developed, so that in April, 1890, it 
occupied its present quarters at Concord Junction. At that 
time Mr. R. M. Hoyle took an interest with Mr. Wheeler, 
and the business has been continued since as a partnership 
under the same name. 

The main building occupied for the business is 180 x 40 
feet wide, and two stories high, having boiler and engine 
room, storeroom and stable, additional. About one hundred 
and twenty hands are employed, mostly men, on all kinds 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. I07 

of harnesses, except the very cheapest grades. The goods 
manufactured are sold almost exclusively to the wholesale 
trade, the yearly output being about 20,000 harnesses. This 
exceeds the product of any other harness factory in New 
England. Already the increasing business makes the pres- 
ent quarters inadequate to meet the demands. 

Harvey Wheeler is Treasurer and General Manager, 
and R. M. Hoyle is Assistant Manager. 



CONCORD WAGON WORKS. 

Established in 1875. 

Albert B. Black was the founder of this manufactory, 
and its proprietor until two years ago, when Amasa Harring- 
ton, of Waltham, became a partner, and having recently 
purchased Mr. Black's interest, is now the sole owner. 
The plant, situated on Walden Street, comprises a build- 
ing 80 X 60 feet, four stories in height, and basement, with 
ample facilities for a manufacturing and jobbing business. 
The work is confined mostly to the heavier grade of vehicles, 
from ten to twenty men being constantly employed. 



DAMON MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

Chartered in December, 1880. 

Concord was one of the first places where water power 
was utilized, and at the village of Westvale was built the first 
of the many dams which now develop the power of the 
Assabet River. 

In 1660 a company was chartered to erect iron works 
there, the dam built, and the business carried on for about 
thirty years, when the supply of ore was exhausted. A 
grist mill then occupied a part of the power, and later was 
added a fulling mill for the finishing of home-woven cloths. 

In 1808 Hartwell & Brown's cotton mill began opera- 
tions, and continued, with several changes in the firm, until 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Io8 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

about 1833, when James Derby, of Exeter, N. H., bought it 
with the purpose of manufjfcturing cotton and wool machin- 
ery. In December, 1834, he sold out the entire property to 
Calvin C. Damon, then of Saxonville, who began the manu- 
- facture of satinets, but soon changed to the well-known and 
popular "Damon's original domett." This business was 
continued by him until his death in January, 1854. • 

Edward C. Damon began to keep the books in Novem- 
ber, 1852, and continued the manufacture of dometts, after 
the death of his father, until the burning of the mill in 
1862. The new brick mill began operations in 1863 on 
dometts. In May, 1864, Henry F. Smith was taken into 
partnership, and the business was largely increased and diver- 
sified by the manufacture of all-wool and shaker flannels. 
This firm continued until the fall of 1876, and the new firm 
of Damon & Almy started business the first of December of 
the same year, and still further diversified and increased the 
product. 

December, 1880, the Damon Manufacturing Company 
was organized and incorporated. They continued on the same 
goods with variations for ten years, making many styles of 
white dress goods, tennis cloths, and piece dyed goods. At 
present hey are devoting their whole attention to the pro- 
duction of cloakings, dress goods, Bedford cords, worsteds, 
serges, etc. The works are run by water wheels giving one 
hundred and twenty-five horse power,, and an engine of a 
capacity of one hundred and seventy horse power. The 
land connected with the establishment is about twenty acres, 
on which are situated the mill and forty tenements. The 
number of employees for full capacity is one hundred and 
seventy-five, and thje weekly pay roll is about $1,300. New 
York City is the distributing centre for the products. The 
capital stock of the company is $120,000. The officers of 
the corporation are : 

^President — Ralph H. Damon. 
Treasurer — Edward C. Damon. 
Superintendent ^■^C\i2iT\ts I. Lincoln. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. IO9 

PAIL FACTORY. 

Established in 1850. 

The pail factory at Concord Junction is owned and 
operated by R. Warner & Co., of Boston. The plant covers 
a number of acres, and furnishes employment for thirty to 
thirty-five men. About seven hundred cords of pine timber 
are yearly made into pails and tubs, which find a ready- 
market in this country and in England. 



THE MASSACHUSETTS REFORMATORY. 

Elm Street, Concord Junction. r 

This institution is located in the western part of the 
town, two and one half miles from the centre, and three 
fourths of a mile from Concord Junction.. It was originally 
designed and opened in 1878 as a State prison. Within its 
walls are twenty-three acres of land, upon which is erected 
this mammoth structure, together with its industrial adjuncts. 
It was opened as a reformatory, December 20, 1884, and 
since that date there have been committed to it about five 
thousand and two hundred persons ; and the releases for 
the same period have been about four thousand and three 
hundred, of whom about seven eighths were released upon 
permit. 

When opened as a reformatory, one hundred* and fifteen 
men were left from the State prison, and others were trans- 
ferred from the prison at Charlestown and various houses 
of correction within the Commonwealth. Subsequently men 
were sentenced from the different courts of the State with 
definite sentences, but a subsequent act of the Legislature, 
which went into effect in July, 1886, provided for indeter- 
minate sentences, and its reformatory effect is marked. The 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



no CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

men now confined have mostly come on these indefinite sen- 
tences; and this, with the recent enactment establishing an 
age limit of forty years, has proved of inestimable value. 
About seventy-five per cent of those released have done 
sufficiently well to not again appear before the courts. The 
present number of inmates is about nine hundred. 

Each inmate is carefully examined on his arrival as to 
his possible attainments and capacity, and is then given a 
suitable place in the schools. The schools are divided into 
fift-een classes, and there are nine teachers. Over seven hun- 
dred men and boys are in the schools. Some few who are here 
are educationally advanced, and no classes being suitable for 
them, they are excused from school work. Industrial teaching 
is also a valued feature of reformatory instruction. The fol- 
lowing trades are taught: blacksmithing, plumbing, printing, 
tinsmithing, bricklaying, carpentry, wood-turning, engraving, 
and painting. There are at the present time four hundred 
and four inmates under trades instruction. There is now 
under construction an addition to the reformatory, to con- 
tain two hundred and thirty-six cells, all the work upon which 
is to be performed by the industrial school classes. The 
reformatory buildings are commodious and convenient. They 
are of brick, with granite trimmings. The entire plant rep- 
resents an outlay of about $1,000,000. 

In the last annual report of the late Superintendent, 
Col. Gardiner Tufts, there occurs this truism : " When the 
State makes the violators of its laws prisoners, it incurs 
thereby the obligation to educate and train them to good 
citizenship, and make them competent to earn an honest 
living. The State is unmindful of its duty and its welfare 
when it merely holds the offender a prisoner, making no 
effort to reform the man." In this statement is found the 
reason for and the necessity of the existence of the reforma- 
tory and its work. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



III. 



Following is a complete list of the officers, instructors, 
teachers, and other employees: 



OFFICERS OF THE MASSACHUSETTS REFORMATORY. 

Superintendent — Joseph F. Scott. 
Deputy Superintendent — Charles S. Hart. 
Chief Clerk — Percy W. Allen. 
Chaplain — Rev. William J. Batt. 
Physician — George E. Titcomb, M.D. 
Chief Engineer— V^t^r H. Bullock. 



Ball, George V., turnkey. 

Browning, Robert W., " 
Leland, Walter S., 

Park, W. Irving, " 
Barrett, Daniel N., watchman. 

Blood, S. Thompson, " 

Blossom, Wayne W., " 

Bordman, John, *' 

Bourne, George W., " 

Bowker, George M., ** 

Brooks, Fredson P., ** 

Bruce, John L., ** 
Burrill, Frank H., 

Cadwell, William O., " 
Chaplin, William, 

Chapman, John V., ** 

Chase, Josiah H., ** 

Elmes, Amos M., " 
Gale, Frank W., 
Gale, Fred. W., 

Garland, Frank L., ** 

Grant, James A., ** 

Greene, Herbert L., ** 

Hatch, Edgar H., " 

Howe, Benjamin F., " 



Joy, Alonzo, watchman. 

Judge, Charles T., 
Knowles, George F., 
Lakin, Daniel A., 
Loring, John H., 
McAllister, Guy W., 
McKenzie, Kenneth T., 
Murray, Michael, 
Parsons, Willard A., 
Payson, Alberto E., 
Qua, Henry H., 
Robinson, Calvin S., 
Russell, Benjamin F., 
Shapleigh, Forest E., 
Shattuck, Elmer E., 
Shaughnessy, Thos. F., 
Shepardson, George W., 
Slade, Herbert A., 
Stearns, Milo B., 
Sweet, James H., 
Watson, H. Frank, 
Wilson, John D., 
Wood, William H., 
Young, George W., 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



112 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



INSTRUCTORS, ETC., OF THE MASSACHUSETTS 
REFORMATORY. 

Bollig, Frank E instructor in trades school. 

Butcher, A. Milton . ... expressman. 

Chase, Fred. H teacher. 

Chase, James N instructor. 

Curry, Thomas instructor. 

Curtis, William W superintendent of shoe dep*t. 

Curtis, William W., Jr. . . . instructor. 

Daniels, Joseph F superintendent of trades school. 

Eklof, Oswald instructor, Swedish Slojd system. 

Farrell, B. F machinist. 

Farrell, Michael J instructor. 

Haskell, John O instructor in trades school. 

Hodgman, Lucius R superintendent of chair ^ep*t. 

Judkins, Harold I record clerk. 

Lane, Henry M instructor. 

Leland, Mrs. Emma .... organist. 

Loring, Benjamin C. . . . . laborer. 

Nagle, Daniel F instructor. 

Noll, Jacob tailor. 

Rideout, Frank H instructor. 

Ring, Francis C instructor in trades school. 

Rogers, Charles B conduct clerk. 

Roberts, John instructor. 

Shepardson, Charles A. . . . 5 superintendent of societies and 

^ ( mstructor m trades school. 

Smith, Fred O instructor of drawing. 

Smith, George A instructor. 

Stacy, E. F instructor. 

Stuart, Edmund T. . . . . tailor. 

Studley, John B teacher. 

Tower, Frank E instructor. 

Towle, Peter H instructor in trades school. 

Truette, Joseph instructor. 

Wales, Charles W bookkeeper. 

Warner, James E instructor. 

Welch, Samuel L stockyard watchman. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. II3 

CONCORD NATIONAL BANK. 

Incorporated March 3, 1832. Reorganized under the National Banking Act, 
February 23, 1865. ' 

ROOMS, MAIN STREET. 

Has a capital of $100,000. Business hours from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. 

OFFICERS. 

President — George Hey wood. 
Cashier — B. Louis Fabens. 
leller— C. Fay Heywood. 
Directors — George Heywood, Edward C. Damon, Joseph 
Derby, George M. Brooks, Henry J. Hosmer. 



MIDDLESEX INSTITUTION FOR SAVINGS. 

Incorporated March 4, 1835. 
ROOMS IN BANK BUILDING. 

Has over $1,000,000 in deposits. Pays four per cent on 
deposits not exceeding $1,000. Business hours from 9 a.m. 
to 2 P.M. 

OFFICERS. 

President — Samuel Hoar. 

Vice-President — Henry J. Hosmer. 

Treasurer — George Heywood. 

Clerk — Herbert W. Hosmer. 
Trustees — John S. Keyes, George M. Brooks, Samuel Staples, 
Lorenzo Eaton, Nathan B. Stow, Julius M. Smith, Ed- 
ward C. Damon, Henry J. Hosmer, Charles H. Walcott, 
William Wheeler, Samuel Hoar. 



MIDDLESEX MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE 
COMPANY. 

This company was incorporated March 3, 1826. Hon. 
Abiel Heywood was the first President, and Hon. Nathan 
Brooks the first Secretary. Its first place of business was 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



114 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

in the law office of Mr. Brooks ; later it built, in connection 
with the Concord Bank, the brick building now occupied by 
the bank and post office, where its office was until 1868, when 
it bought the Court House building, which it has since occu- 
pied. Presidents, since Mr. Heywood, have been Hon. John 
Keyes, Daniel Shattuck, Hon. George M. Brooks, and Hon. 
George Heywood. 

The company since its incorporation has had but three 
secretaries. Richard Barrett succeeded Mr. Brooks, and 
Richard F. Barrett succeeded Mr. Barrett. Frona a very 
small beginning, by a conservative and good management, 
the business has so increased that today the "Middlesex" 
is recognized as one of the strongest mutual companies, 
and is represented in every large city and town in the State. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

/VwiWJfw/— George Heywood. 

Secretary and Treasurer — Richard F, Barrett. 

Assistant Secretary — William Barrett. 
Directors — George Heywood, George M. Brooks, Dudley 
Foster, John Cummings, Francis Murdock, John S. 
Keyes, John S. Sawyer, Richard F. Barrett, Charles F. 
Stone. 



CONCORD HOME SCHOOL. 

The Concord Home School, a school for boys opened 
in 189 1 and conducted by its founder, Mr. James S. Garland, 
is one of the " live " institutions of the town. It is situated 
upon the old Wood estate on the west side of the Sudbury 
River, and embraces seventy-five acres of beautiful upland, 
extending westward from the river, between Elm Street on 
the north, and the Fitchburg Railroad on the south. The 
new school building stands on the brow of the hill overlook- 
ing the river. Behind, stretch away to the westward the 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. II5 

ample playgrounds, many acres in extent. The building is 
planned upon a generous scale, and admirably arranged and 
equipped for a family school. It is lighted with gas, and 
heated with an interchangeable hot water and steam appa- 
ratus by indirect radiation. The dormitory is a distinctive 
feature. The pupils have separate rooms, on the English 
plan, all opening into one great hall, thus securing proper 
ventilation and surveillance, and at the same time sufficient 
privacy. This arrangement has been found most conducive, 
also, to the intimate family life so desirable in a boarding- 
school. The Principal and his household are domiciled 
near by in the ancient house of the Wood family (built in 
1760), but take their meals with the scholars at the school, 
and are in the closest relations of intimacy with them. 

The courses of study are such as are commonly pursued 
in preparatory schools of high grade, but, owing to the small 
number of scholars, are exceedingly flexible. The partic- 
ular needs of each pupil are considered, and such studies 
prescribed as are best suited to each case. 

Among the special features may be mentioned careful 
training in the English language ; practical teaching in 
French and German with a view to give the student facility 
in speaking and understanding them ; thorough courses in 
Latin and Greek within the limits of preparation for college ; 
and special instruction in mathematics and science, with 
laboratory practice in physics and chemistry. It is the aim 
of the school to prepare such pupils as intend to take a col- 
lege course for as early entrance as possible, by a judicious 
shaping of the course of study. 

Sufficient but not undue attention is given to athletics. 
The well-equipped gymnasium offers every facility for exer- 
cise when inclemency of weather prevents activity in the open 
air, but the lawn tennis courts and ball fields offer the most 
Useful and popular forms of recreation on land. Land sports, 
however, are n6t the only ones which the student at Con- 
cord has at his command. The river, which forms the east- 
em boundary of the school grounds, possesses unrivaled 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Il6 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

attractions for lovers of the water. The Concord and its two 
branches, the Sudbury and Assabet, furnish together nearly 
forty miles of smooth water for canoes and small boats. The 
school has a large new boathouse, already well stocked with 
canoes, which on any pleasant afternoon after school hours 
may be seen cleaving the shining waters as they speed up 
or down the placid stream. 

In short, it is an ideal school in an ideal place, and the 
fortunate youth who are received under its hospitable roof 
may well be envied their unrivaled opportunities for pleas- 
ure and improvement. The number of pupils now admitted 
is limited to twenty- five, but the demand for places is so 
great that an enlargement of its capacity will have to be 
made in the near future. 



CONCORD ARTILLERY, COMPANY I, 
SIXTH REGIMENT, M.V.M. 

Organized in 1804. 

Armory on Walden Street. 
OFFICERS. 

Captain — Frank E. Cutter. 

First Lieutenant — Samuel H. Tuttle. 

Second Lieutenant — Cyrus H. Cook. 

NONCOMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant —John VV. Cull. 

Sergeants. 
Bernard A. Battles. Thomas L. Giles. 

Ashley P. How. John Bordman, Jr. 

Corporals. 
B. Farnham Smith. George C. How. 

Joseph S. Hart. Herbert B. Vialle. 

Musician — John G. Watson. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



117 



PRIVATES. 



Frank M. Backus. 
Fred J. Bamforth. 
George A. Barker. 
William A. Bennett. 
Williani Brown. 
Walter M. Bush. 
William V. Clark. 
Edwin Conant, 2d. 
Thomas F. Collins. 
Charles C. Davis. 
Harvey C. Derby. 
Frank O. Elms. 
George Faber. 
Simeon C. Fuller. 
Edgar Goodwin. 
James A. Grimes. 
Thomas J. Hanley. 
George W. Hoi den. 
Howard B. Jackson. 
George G. King. 
Charles J. Marquedant. 



James L. McCarty. 
Charles J. McGovern. 
•James P. McManus. 
Everett L. Miner. 
Thomas P. Moylen. 
Howard M. Mulholland. 
James W. Nagle. 
Herbert W. Phillips. 
C. Porter G. Pierce. 
William G. Reed. 
Charles B. Rod way. 
William Rod way. 
Jerome O. Smith. 
Percy Stevens. 
Carleton C. Taylor. 
Frank R. Vieria. 
John H. Watkins. 
Ralph N. Wheeler. 
Thomas R. Wheeler. 
Herbert E. Willis. 
Oliver D. Wood. 



In 1887 the town built the new Armory building on 
Walden Street, at a cost of sixty-seven hundred dollars. 
John H. Chapman was the architect, and A. S. Lowden the 
contractor. The main, or head house, is 51x26 feet, two 
stories in height, and contains reading and recreation rooms, 
coat and equipment room, officers' and non-commissioned 
officers' room and lavatory. Adjoining and connected is 
the drill shed, a one-story structure 60 x 49 feet, with natural 
wood finish. The building is complete in its appointments, 
and is pronounced by military experts as one of the best in 
the State. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Il8 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



WHAT TO SEE, AND HOW TO SEE IT. 



The tourist who reaches Concord via the railroads is 
not favorably impressed by his first sight of the town ; nor is 
it to be wondered at that a visitor's first view is disappoint- 
ing, for the stations are unattractive, plain buildings, and 
built in the least pleasant parts of the village ; but a short 
walk soon opens up an altogether different vista, as one 
comes on to the broad streets, beautifully kept, and shaded 
by wide-spreading elms or fine maples. As many visitors 
drive to Concord, and as the centre, or Mill Dam, is about 
equal distance from the stations, we will make this our 
objective, or rather starting point, in " What to See, and How 
to See It.'' 

In the centre of the town, at Monument Square, is an 
oval-shaped Common shut in by an iron rail fence, crossed 
by walks only. In the centre of this greensward stands a 
granite shaft, erected to the memory of the Concord heroes 
of the War of the Rebellion. To read its long list of names 
on the bronze tablet shows that the town's traditional patri- 
otism has been handed down from sire to son. Monument 
Street begins at the extreme end of this little Common, and, 
as the guideboard says, leads to the Battle Ground, a half 
mile beyond. In traversing this distance the old Jones 
house, now the residence of Judge John S. Keyes, is passed. 
It is a quaint structure, low-studded, with a long ell adjoin- 
ing. Near the front door of this ell can still be seen the 
bullet-hole made by a British soldier at the time of the Con- 
cord fight. By the threshold is a good-sized bowlder that 
once lay on the battle field, and on which Captain Davis, of 
Acton, fell, mortally wounded by the first volley fired by the 
red coats. On the opposite side of the road, a little beyond, 
stands the "Old Manse." A line of ash, elm, and maple 
trees borders the driveway to this ancient and dignified 
dwelling. For generations it was the abode of the ministers 
of the town, being built for the Rev. William Emerson about 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. il^ 

1765, and from its windows the inmates watched the fight at 
the bridge. Hawthorne lived here for a short time, and here: 
wrote his Mosses from an Old Manse, 

It is but a few steps to the Battle Ground, a quiet,, 
romantic spot now, in marked contrast to the thrilling scenes 
here enacted in 1775. Stately pines shade the well-worn, 
driveway, many of which were planted by the townspeople 
fifty or more years ago. The first monument, of granite,, 
was erected in 1836. To the left is a small enclosure con- 
taining graves of British soldiers. The bridge was restored! 
in 1874, and on the .opposite bank of the river stands the 
beautiful statue of the " Minute Man,'* justly considered the 
finest piece of bronze in America; of additional pride to. 
every inhabitant of the town because it is the work of a 
Concord boy, Daniel C. French, now a world-renowned, 
sculptor, at the present time a resident of New York. 

The green meadows and hills one sees are hallowed! 
ground, for here was struck the first blow for our freedom 
and independence. Retracing our steps over the same 
ground over which the British retreated in 1775, we return* 
almost to our first starting point, turning sharply to the left 
up a short road which brings us on Bedford Street. Our 
destination now is Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, only a short 
distance away. Here one can easily find by the well-worn: 
paths the graves of Emerson, Hawthorne, Thoreau, the 
Alcotts, and others of note in the great circle of literary 
genius that have helped make this town so famous. The 
cemetery is an ideal one in its many natural beauties.. 
Returning to the square, or centre, we turn to the left down 
Lexington Road, stopping first for a look at the old Hill 
Burying-ground, with its many curious epitaphs, where rest 
the remains of the old ministers and Revolutionary heroes. 
of the town. A slate tablet set in the wall is self-explanatory. 
Just across the street stands the Old Wright Tavern, where 
Major Pitcairn stirred his brandy with bloody finger on the 
morning of the 19th of April, 1775, with the remark that 
"he would stir the damned Yankee's blood before night."" 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



I20 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

A little beyond and in the same grounds stands the old 
Meeting-House of former days, now remodeled and modern- 
ized, noted chiefly because the first Provincial Congress met 
here on the nth day of October, 1774. Continuing dovm 
the road we pass a number of quaint old houses that have 
stood here for more than a century. A swinging sign, like 
the Ancient Tavern-hanger, attracts our attention to the old 
house containing that wonderful collection of antiquities, 
etc., the property of the Concord Antiquarian Society. The 
public can see this collection on payment of twenty-five 
cents to the Custodian. A short distance beyond, at the 
junction of the Cambridge Turnpike and the Lexington 
Road, is the home of Emerson, still the residence of the 
family. The next place of interest on Lexington Road is 
the farm of the late John B. Moore, one of the leading hor- 
ticulturists of New England. The farm is a model one, the 
present owner, Mr. John H. Moore, keeping it fully up to 
the high standard his father set. The "Orchard House" 
and "Hillside Chapel," for many years the home of the 
Alcotts, adjoin this farm. The School of Philosophy met 
here during its brief but brilliant career. " Wayside," once 
the home of Hawthorne, follows in line, an interesting struc- 
ture with beautiful surroundings of woods. A little further 
down the road we come to the home of Hon. E. W. Bull, 
the originator of the " Concord Grape," and where can be 
seen the great horticulturist, and the parent vine. An eighth 
of a mile beyond, at the junction of Old Bedford and Lex- 
ington Roads, is Merriam's Corner, where the British were 
attacked in flank by the Minute Men in 1775. A stone, 
properly inscribed, is set in the wall to mark the spot. We 
retrace our steps again to the centre, turning the corner 
by the "Wright Tavern," and are now on Main Street. The 
first building of interest is the low white house just beyond 
the bank building. It is probably the oldest house in Con- 
cord, being built for a block house in 1654. Many of the 
original timbers and logs form a part of the present structure. 
Just beyond is an old burying-ground, one of the seven 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECl-ORY AND GUIDE. 121 

oldest in the United States, which contains many interesting 
epitaphs and the graves of a few of the early patriots. The 
Concord Free Public Library comes now in view, occupy- 
ing a prominent position at the junction of Main Street 
,and Sudbury Road. It is a beautiful building of brick and 
stone, a gift to the town by a townsman, Mr. William 
Munroe. It contains, beside a large and complete library, 
many interesting and historical objects. From the library 
steps, looking across Sudbury Road to Stow Street, an excel- 
lent view is obtained of the substantial and attractive public 
school buildings. Continuing up Main Street, we pass in 
quick succession the Munroe and Wheildon estates on the 
left, and the residences of Samuel Hoar and the Hon. E. 
Rockwood Hoar on the right. A short distance beyond on 
the left-hand side of the street we see the Thoreau house, 
once owned by that famil)^ now the property of the Alcott 
family, and the last Concord residence of the late Louisa 
M. Alcott. Continuing up the street to a fork in the road, 
keeping to the right, we are on Elm Street, which passes the 
pretty little stone Episcopal Church, and a little further on, 
on the opposite side of the street, the colonial residence of 
Frank B. Sanborn, the well-known author and journalist. 
Passing over the bridge, on the right is the famous Lee 
farm, its first owner being Simon Willard, one of the found- 
ers of the town. A stone panel at the side of the road tells 
us of this fact. At the crown of this hill we turn sharply to 
the left on Wood Street, which brings us again on to Main 
Street, passing on the right the fine buildings of the Concord 
Home School. Returning, one can reach the Fitchburg Sta- 
tion by Thoreau Street, which leads off of Main Street ; or 
the Lowell Station, by continuing to the centre of the town 
and thence down Lowell Road. 

The route as laid out can easily be gone over by 
carriage in a half day, but a longer time could be spent to 
advantage. By referring to page 124, a list of *^ Places of 
Interest " by streets can be studied with, profit.. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



122 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

HISTORICAL TABLETS. 
On a panel cut in Egg Rock at the junction of the rivers: 

On the hill Nashawtuck 
at the meeting of the rivers 

and along the banks 
lived the Indian owners of 

Musketaquid 
before the white man came. 

On a slate in the wall of the Hill Burying-ground : 

On this Hill 

the settlers of Concord 

built their meeting house 

near which they were buried 

on the southern slope of the ridge 

were their dwellings during 

the first winter 

below it they laid out 

their first road and 

on the summit stood the 

liberty pole of the Revolution. 

On a bronze plate set in granite on Lowell Road, near Square : 

Here in the house of the 

REVEREND PETER BULKELEY 

first minister and one of the 

founders of this town 

a bargain was made with the 

Squaw Sachem the Sagamore Tahattawan 

and other Indians 

who then sold their right in 

the six miles square called Concord 

to the English planters 

and gave them peaceful possession 

of the land 

A. D. 1636. 

On a panel in a stone west of the Three- Arch Bridge : 

' On this farm dwelt 

SIMON WILLARD 
one of the founders of Concord 
who did good service for 

Town and Colony 
. for more than forty years. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 23 

On a bronze plate set in granite on west side of the Square : 

Near this spot stood 

the first town house 

used for town meetings 

and the county courts 

I 721-1794. 

On a stone by the road northwest of the Minute Man : 

On this field 

the Minute Men and Militia 

formed before marching 

down to the 

fight at the Bridge. 

On a stone at the junction of the Old Bedford and 
Lexington Roads (Merriam's Corner) : 

The British troops 

retreating from the 

Old North Bridge 

were here attacked in flank 

by the men of Concord 

and neighboring towns 

and driven under a hot fire 

to Charlestown. 

On a bronze plate set in granite near the sidewalk on 
grounds of the First Parish : 

THE FIRST PROVINCIAL CONGRESS 

of delegates from the towns of 

MASSACHUSETTS 

was called by conventions of 

the people to meet at Concord on the 

eleventh day of October 1774. 

The delegates assembled here 
in the meeting house on that day, 

and organized 

with John Hancock as President 

and Benjamin Lincoln as Secretary. 

Called together to maintain 

the rights of the people, 

THIS CONGRESS 

assumed the government of the province 

and by its measures prepared the way 

for the war of the Revolution. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



124 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND OUIDE. 



PLACES OF INTEREST. 

Arranged by Streets. 



Barrett's Mill Road — House of Col. James Barrett, 1775. 

Bedford Street — Sleepy Hollow Cemetery. 

Elm Street — Episcopal Church; residence of Mr. F. B. 
Sanborn ; Historical Tablet ; Massachusetts Reforma- 
tory. 

Estabrook Road — Old Lime Kiln. 

Lexington Road — Catholic Church ; Hill Burying-ground ; 
Wright Tavern ; Old Meeting House (First Parish 
Church) ; Historical Tablets ; Antiquarian Collection 
Old Beaton House (residence of Hon. Geo, Hey wood) 
Old Minott House (property of Hon. Geo. Heywood) 
home of Emerson ; the Moore Farm ; Hillside Chapel 
(School of Philosophy building) ; Orchard House (home 
of the Alcotts) ; Wayside (Hawthorne's home) ; home of 
E. W. Bull, Concord Grape (the parent vine) ; Historical 
Tablet (Merriam's Corner). 

Liberty Street — House of Major John Buttrick, 1775 
(residence of Joseph Derby) ; Battle Lawn (residence 
of E. S. Barrett) ; Historical Tablet. 

Lowell Road — Historical Tablet; home of the late Dr. 
Josiah Bartlett. 

Main Street — Old Block House, 1654 (known as the Dr. 
Barrett House); Old Burying-ground; Public Library 
Building ; home of Thoreau (property of the Alcoit 
family) ; residence of Hon. E. Rockwood Hoar. 

Middle Street — Thoreau's Academy (residence of Charles 
Emerson). 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 125 

Monument Square — Soldiers' Monument ; Catholic Church ; 
Town Hall; Court House (property of Middlesex Mutual 
Fire Insurance Co.) ; Historical Tablet. 

Monument Street — House of Elisha Jones, 1775 (resi- 
dence of Hon. J. S. Keyes) ; Old Manse (residence of 
Miss Ripley) ; Battle Ground, 1775 ; Minute Man 
Statue, etc. 

Nashav^tuc Avenue — Reservoir ; Willard Common. 

Stow Street — Public School Buildings. 

Sudbury Road — Residence of Judge George M. Brooks ; 
studio of Daniel C. French. 

\A^alden Street — Armory Building; Trinitarian Church; 
Concord's Home for the Aged ; Walden Pond ; Thoreau's 
Cove, and site of Thoreau's Hut. 

\Vood Street — Concord Home School Buildinors. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



126 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Wheeler Reflector Co. 

TUBERS OF 

REFLECTORS^ 



MA'NUrACTUBEBS OF- 



-FOS ALL PURPOSES. 



Oil, Gras oi» Klectric. 

Street Lights, Church Lights, Reflector 
Lanterns for Lawns and Stahles. 

ALSO A WIDE BANeE OF 8TTI.E8 FOB 

DOMESTIC AND MANUFACTURING USES. 

VATA.iA>etr!ma fskb. ' 

Street Lighting by Contract a Specialty. 

24 Washington Street, BOSTON. 

KEELER & CO., 

Furniture Manufacturers, 
Upholsterers, 

Washington and Elm Streets, 

^asPbambrldge. BOSTOj^N . 

THOMAS GROOM & CO., 

STATIONERS. 

Account Book Manufacturers and 
Importers of English and French Stationery, 

No. 82 State St., Boston. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 27 



W. W. BENJAMIN. W. C NICKLE8. 

W. W. BENJAMIN & CO., 

CommlMftlon If erchant* In 

Foreign and Doiestic Frnits, 

ORANGES, BERRIES, GRAPES, PEACHES, SWEET 
POTATOES AND GENERAL PRODUCE, 

26 Mercafltile SM anl 28 Bicliinoiil SM, 

BOSTON, MASS. 

Rbfkrbncbs: Fourth National Bank, Boston; Faneail HaU National Bank, Boston; 

Baldwins Bank, Penn Yan, N. Y.; Volusia County Bank, De Land, Fla.; and 

any Bo8t<m Commission House. 
CoBcord ConftlcBBtent* Solicited. 

A«paraca« and Strawberries a Specialty. 

Telephone Connection. 

THE WM. H. RICHARDSON COMPANY. 

Men's Outfitters and Shirt Tailors. 

385 WasUngton St., BOSTON, U. S. A. 

Dlreetly Opposite Franklin Street, 

Correspondents I PARI8| 18 Rue du Faubourg Polssonnlere. 

VIENNA, I Relchsrathsstrasse 29. 

T. D. COOK & CO., 

Caterers for Wedding Receptions, Lunches, Dinners. 

Orders for Cake, Ices^ Creams, Salads, Croquettes, 

Pates, etc., 

sent express all parts New England. 

Our "LADIES^ LUNCH ^^ is known everywhere as the Largest, 

Neatest and Most Convenient Place to Dine. Right in 

the center of the Shopping District. 

23-31 Avon Street, Boston. 

Telephone 9984 (I.onc Dtotance). 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



1*8 CONCORt! DlkKCTORV AUt) GUIDE. 



American House, Boston, Mass. 

Aaterlean and European Plan* 
RdoMSt Hl.OO PBR ]>AY AMI) VPWAttBS. 




Nearest to the NortJiern and Eastern Depots of any jlrst-cla^s hotel. 
New Management, New Furnishings, 

and injcr eased facilities. Offers attractions to bath permanent and transient 
guests that are unsurpassed. 

cuismri: uiiri:s:ci:i.i:.£]>. 

Keeler & Focock. 

DELIGHTFUL GUIDES 

OLD CONCORD : 

Her Highways and Byways. By Margaret Sidney. Illus- 
trations from photographs by A. W. Hosmer of Concord, and 
by L. J. Bridgman. 8vo, cloth, $2.00. 

" Old Concord gives the ideal portrait of that most ideal of New 
England towns. No one will be disappointed in any respect with this 
book. The shores ar« continually full of surprises as one drops down 
the stream of its pleasant English style. Here is the atmosphere, 
the Concord atmosphere, the place and 'the charm." — Wm. M. Puller- 
ton^ in Boston Advertiser^ 

CO N CO R D : Historic, Literary and Picturesque. By Georgk 
B. Bartlett, 12mo, illustrated, cloth, $1.00 ; paper, 50 cents. 
New and Enlarged Edition. 

" The book is very tastefully designed and prettily illustrated, and 
is both attractive and interesting, giving the reader a view of the town 
and of the localities which have become famous through association." 
—Literary World. 

For sale at the bookstores^ or sent^ postpaid, by 

D. LOTHROP CO., PaMlshers, Bdston. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. ' 129 

W. 177. RAWSOnr A CO., 

IM>H>JKTJBJK8 A.VD OKOIirSICS OF 

Garden, Field and Flower Seeds. 

Market Gardeners^ Seeds a Specialty. 

Vegetable Plants of all kinds in their season. Ornamental Decid- 
uous Trees and Shrubs, Roses, Chrysanthemums 
and Bedding Plants. 
SUMMER AND FALL FLOWERING BULBS. 

Seed Warehouse, 34 So. Market St., Boston. 

Trial Grounds and Greenhouses at Arlington, Mass. 

Walter C. Brooks & Co., 

Importing Tailors, 

15 Milk Street; 

Opposite Old South Church, RA CTm\I 

Birthplace of Franklin. L»V/«-7 1 V/1^. 

T. H. PEABODY. J. D. PEABODY 

Peabody Brothers, 

€01II1IIISSI0]V BIKRCHAIVTS, A]V]> 

Dealers in Country Produce, 

22 Mercantile St., and 27 Concord Aye., 

Pentonal Attention glren Consignments T} /^ Q* rp /^ f^ 

and Betnrns Promptly Hade. jDKJiS JLKJJM • 

TEBBETTS BROTHERS, 

New England Nurseries, 

NEW CANAAN, CT. 

EASTERN OFFICE, BEDFORD, MASS. 

Evergreens, Ornamental Trees, Shrubs, Plants and Hardy 
Roses our Specialties. 

Fruit Trees, Standard & Dwarf, Grape Vines, Best Varieties, 

True to Name. Grown in Open Air. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



130 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



" i^r a man has keen sensibility it is perhaps a wise economy to go 
to a good shop and dress himself irreproa>chably"—U* W. Embrsoi^. 



TOLMAN & BILLINGS. 

Merchant Tailors, 

7 Park Street, BOSTON. 

M. B. GARFIELD, 
East Acton, Mass., 

Carriage, Sign k Ornamental Painting, 

Carriages Varnished and Stored. 

HORSES BOAKDED. 

OTIS H. FORBUSH, 

EAST ACTON, MASS., 





Also Cattle Dealer. 75 Head on hand. Every animal 
for sale. 

Railroad Station, Acton on Old Colony and Concord and 
Montreal B. B. 

Cattle Bought and Sold on Commismn. 

Am in Brighton Cattle Market every Wednesday. 

Have had Large Experience in Judging Cattle at Fairs. 

For Terms Write or Telephone, 

TELEGRAPH, 

Concord Junct., Mass. East Actoii; Mass. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 131 



THOAAa TODD, 



STTIPEIilOrR 



Mercantile and General 

^f f pinling ^f 

No. 1 SOMERSET STI^EET, 

Elevator, j-A "Beacon Street. BOSTON. 



HAVING been in business over twenty years, 1 can 
refer to the quality and variety of my work as a 
guarantee that orders intrusted to me will be executed in 
the best manner. 

With the constant addition to my plant of all new 
faces of type that are desirable, I can assure my customers 
that my office will be fully abreast of the times in all 
the demands of the most cultivated taste. 

Work of an intricate and difficult nature given special 
attention. Prices reasonable, consistent with good work. 

Electrotyping and Stereotyping at regular rates. 

THOMAS TODD, 
/ Somerset Street, 
Congregational House. BOSTON. 

Telephone 1736. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



132 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



GENUINE BARGAINS 

Always to be obtained by examinfttion of the varied 
assoriiment of 

Imperfect Goods and Remnants, 

STRICTLY ALL WOOL, 

Made at the Assabet Mills, which are exelusiyely sold 
and at the lowest i»ices by 

THE PEOPLE'S DRY GOODS CO., 

MATNARP, MASS. 

BEDFORD HOUSE, Bedford, Mass. 

Steam Heat, Modern Improvements. 




Fine Spring Water. Open all the year for the accommodation of transient, 
summer and winter boarders. Oood stabling for horses. 

WILLIAM ADAMS, - - Proprietor. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



133 




Digitized by LjOOQIC 



134 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

NIGKLES, DARMODY & CO., 

Commission * Merchants 

— IN- 

Fruits and Produce. 
14 MERCANTILE STREET, - • BOSTON. 

J. W. NICKLES. ^ R. T. DARMODY. 

J. F. McCALLAR, ~ 

Dry and Fancy Goods, 

Oentlemen's Furnishing Goods, Hosiery, 

Gloves, Corsets, Underwear, Wrappers. 

MILLINERT m DRESSHAKISO at reasonable prices. 
173 to 176 Hanover Street, BOSTON. 

New York Life Insurance Co. 

ORGANIZED 1848. 

NEW ENGLAND BRANCH OFFICE, 

Oor. Milk and Devonshire Sts., Boston, Mass. 

BEIV. S. CAI^EF, JUanagrer. 

Send for particulars of the Accumulation Policy. 

CHAS. F. SMITH, AGENT, CONCORD, MASS. 
Remin^on Typewriter. 

A dispatch from New York says : 
Some idea of the present wonderful growth of 
the typewriter business may be gained: from the 
fact that the sales of Remington Typewriters 
for January and February, 18&2, exceeded those 
of the corresponding months of 1891 by j^ieO.OOO. 
The great and constantly gaining popularity of 
the Remington is clearly shown by the fact that 
the business has more than doubled within 
three years. The Remington Factory at Ilion, 
1^ N. Y., employs 700 men to fill the demand created 
by the sales agents. Wyckoflf. Seamans & Bene- 
dict, who dispose of the machines at the aston- 
ishing rate of one every five minutes. 

15 (SCHOOr STREET, BOSTOIV. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 




CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



135 




Brt * a 3 
. » Si * 



FEDERAL STREET, - BOSTON. 



In stock and for sale by 

JOHN C. FRIEND, - MAIN ST., CONCORD. 

CHEKP 

FOR CASH OR ON INSTALLMENTS. 

Parlor, Chamber and Kitchen Furniture, 

Lounges, Fancy Chairs, Carpetings, Oil Cloths, 

Straw Mattings, Children's Carriages, 

Alaska and Eddy Refrigerators and Ice Chests. 

6,000 Rolls Wall Paper with Borders to Match just received 
from New York and Philadelphia. 

Al«o IVlaoleMUe and Retail Dealers tn 

Dry Goods, Small Wares, 

Custom and Ready Made Clothing, 

Hats, Caps, Boots, Shoes and Rubbers. 
AGENTS FOR THE HARTFORD BICYCLE. 
Please remember our Stock is the largest to be found in this 
vicinity and our prices the lowest. 

TUTTLES, JONES & WETHEEBEE, 

(SOUTH ACTOIV, JUASS. 



Digitized by VjOOQIC 



136 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 





WEBSTER C. ROBBINS, 

EAST ACTOK, SIASS. 

Importer of Canada Horses. 
Dealer in Horses and Cattle. 

NEW MILCH cows ALWAYS ON HAND. 

(COBTNECTXat BT TEI^EPHOBTE.) 

OAL ICRA PH 

Greatest Speed. 
Best for Manifolding. 

100,000 Daily Vsen. 

The only writlB^ nacliine 
awarded a fold nedal at the 
HeehaBlcs* Fair, 1880. 




The Most Unrable. 

Single Case. No. 1, fflOM 

Double Case, No. 2, 85.00 

New Special, No. 3, 100.00 

For account of speed con- 
tests and circulars, address 

W. M. Belcher & Co., 

New England Agents, 
36 Bromfleld St., Boston, Mass. 



E. J. DERBY & CO., 

Commission JHereliaiits, 



-AI7D DBALBR8 I IT- 



FOBEKfN and DOMESTIC FBUITS and FSODUCI, 

46 Commercial Street, Boston* 

CONSIGNMENT OF ALL KINDS SOLICITED. 

Oranges, I^emons and Sananas a Specialty. 

RBFERBNCUS: 

Commercial National Bank. Farnum A Co. Seavems & Co. Wiggin & Upton. 
Sands, Furber & Co. 

CHAUNCY B. ROBBINS* 

ACTOR, MASS., 

Dealer in Live Stock. 

New Milch Cows a Specialty. 

p. O. ADDRESS, EAST ACTON. 



Digitized by vjOOQIC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 137 

The Concord Enterprise 

Has gained a place in the '* hearts of the people," as 
is evinced by its steady growth in circulation and in- 
creased advertising patronage. It is the only local paper 
that has made a success of itself in Concord. 

Among our list of papers, covering as they do a 
larger territory than any local papers in Massachusetts, 
we have none that we prize more fully than the Concord 
Enterprise. Subscription price jSi.oo per year, re- 
ceived at Post Office and H. L. Whitcomb's Bookstore. 



Enterprise Printing Co., 

Hudson, - - Mass. 



JOB AND MERCANTILE PRINTING 

— OF — 

EVERY DESCRIPTION 
From a Mammoth Poster to a Neat Wedding Card. 



Our facilities are complete to meet the wants of a 
first-class Job Office, and we solicit the patronage of all 
who can conveniently reach us by mail or express, guar- 
anteeing in all cases perfect satisfaction. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



138 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

"The Kitchen" 

Home Made Cake in Variety. 

Birthday Cakes a Specialty. 

Miss F. 0. Willis, Middle St., Concord. 

p. O. Box 229 (closed in Augrast). 

ALBERT E. WOOD, 

Ciyil Enpeer ani Snneyor. 



Office at Residence, Middle St., Concord, Mass. 

WILLARD T. FAERAE, 

Fnneral Director and Undertaker. 

supplies all Famlshiiigs required for Funerals and 
Burials. Slate Yanlts a Specialty. 

Bedford Street, - Concord. 

CYRUS W. BENJAMIN, 

riASON. 

Bricklaying, Plastering and Jobbing promptly 
attended to. Prices reasonable. 

Hubbard St., Concordi Mass. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 






Flannels, 

Dress Goods, 

Cloakings, 
Worsted Serges, 

Bedford Cords, 

All Wool Cloths. 



REMNANTS AND DAMAGED GOODS AT LOW PRICES. 



SALESROOM : 

CONCORD JUNCTION . . . MASS. 



p. 0. Address, Sales Department: 

Damon Manufacturing Co. 

westvale, mass. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 139 

PRESCRIPTIONS CAREFULLY PREPARED FROM 
SELECTED DRUGS, 

AND ALL ARTICLES USUALLY FOUND IN A 
WELL-APPOINTED PHARMACY, 

AT 



FRIEND'S. 



Benj. W. Brown, 

WHOLESALE AND RETAIL DEALER IN 

FLOUR and GRAIN 

Agricultural Implements, 



Member of Bcton Chamber C^nCOrd, MaSS. 



of Commerce. 



Agent for the BOWKER FERTILIZER CO. 

Chemicals, Stockbridgre Manures and Bowker's Phosphates 
always on hand. 



E. L. TUTTLE, 

DEALER IN 

M. Salt il SioM Flsb ol all Mi 



LOB8TER8, OY8TER8 AND CUM8. 
WALDEN STREET, - - • CONCORD. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



140 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

JAMES B. WOOD, 

Coal, Lime, Wood, 
Cement, Hair, Brick 



AX» 



Ail Kinds of Lumber, 

CONCORD, MASS. 
Rear Concord Station, Fitchburg R. R. 

A. S. LOWDEN, 

BnildBi' aqd Ijeqeral Jobber 

CONTRACTS TAKEN FOR ALL KINDS OF 

Brick, Stone and Wooden Bnildings. 

BESrOEIVCi: AND SHOP, 

HuTDlDarci Street, Concord. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 14! 

LORENZO EATON, 

DEALBB IN 

Carryalls, 
Top Buggies 
and Wagons, 

Harnesses, Robes 
and Blankets. 

Monament Street, 

Concord, Mass. 

Mark Mara, 

Painter. 

House Painting in all its Branches. 

Davis Court, Concord, Mass. 

WILLIAM A. KANDAL, 




Upholsterer and Decorator. 

MAIN ST., CONCORD, MASS. 

N. A. Davis, 

' PROVISIONS * 






Fruit a Specialty. 

Main St., Concord, Mass. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



142 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



J. D. nURRAiJ, 



- DEALEB IN - 



Groceries * Flour * Crockery 

AND GENERAL MERCHANDISE. 

Main St., Concord., Mass. 

M. L. HATCH, 

Manufacturer and Dealer in 

Stoves, Fnrnaces, Ranges and Tin Ware. 

A Foil Line of Bnllders' Hardware and Drain Pipe. 

PLTJMBING "WORK OF ALL KINDS BY PRACTICAL WORK- 
MEN AT REASONABLE RATES. 

MAIN STREET, - - CONCOR D, MASS. 

Concord Wagon Works 

A. HARRINGTON, Proprietor. 



- MANUFACTURER OF - 



EXPRESS and MILK WAGONS. 

WALDEN STREET, CONCORD, MASS. 

G. W. & C. H. TOWLE, 

CONCORD, MASS., 

DEALEKS IN 

CMce Erroceries, Merj, Seeds and Farmuiii Tools, 

Creamery Bntter in Small Tobs and Prints 

A. ■PSCIAI.TT. 

MAIN STREET, • CONCORD, MASS. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. I43 

Concord Bakery. 

E. D. HAIITELL, • Proprietor. 

Wholbsalb jltxj} Rbtatl Dealer in 

GMers, 64 Gal^e, Pastry, Ice Grei, etc. 

CONCORD, MASS. 

Board for Horses, 

ALSO 

Excellent Summer Pasturage, 

AT 

NashawtuG Farm. 

Address William Wheeler, Concord, Mass. 

B«»t»a (Miee, S» State Street. 

Concord Nursery. 

Trees, Shrubs & Plants, Wholesale & Eetail. 

HfttiTe PbiBts is large or small quantities a speeialty. 
catai.ogi;e8 ok appi.icatioii. 

F. Q. Pratt, Monument St., Concord. 

JOHNSON'S PHARMACY, 

Coneord Junction, Mass. 
B. F. JOHNSON, - - - Proprietor. 

A FIITE I^IirX: OF 

Drugs, Chemicals and Toilet Articles 

GOMSTAMTI.T OM HAiril. 

Prescriptions a Spocfaliy. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



144 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 




1 BROOKS FARM. 

Summer Board 

on this large and attrac- 
tive Fruit Farm. The 
best of table. House 
stands on high ground^ 
shade trees, pine groves. 
Good stable accommo- 
dations. 
Strawberry- Hill Road, 

CONCORD. 
P. O. Box 368. 



J. H. LORING & SONS, 

COIVCORD JIJIVCTIOIV. 

Wholesale and Retail Dealers in ICE. 

COMMOIfWEALTH OF MASSACHITSETTS. 

State Assayer's Office, Boston, Mass., Jan. 29, 1892. ■ 
Dear Sib :— The sample of water submitted for analysis has been care- 
fully examined, with the following result :— It shows no trace of organic or 
mineral matter whatever. It resembles in purity frozen distilled water. 

H. L. BowKER, State Assayer. 
Orders left at John C. Friend's Drug Store will receive prompt attention. 

JONES BROTHERS, 

l-I Ve STOCK. 

MILCH cows A SPECIAITY. 



PICS AND 8HOAT8 



PIC 

Ah 



ways on Han 



Hand. 



CONCORD, MASS. 



GEORGE F. WHEELER, 

COKCORI), mASS., 

Dealer in Choice Plants, Strawberries, 
berries, Blackberries, Currants, Aspar 
agus and Rhubarb Boots. 

SEND FOR CATAI<OeVE. 



Digitized by vjOOQIC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 45 

JOHN C. FRIEND, 

PHARMACIST, 

Drugs and Medicines, Toilet 

Articles and Perfumery, 

MAIN STREET, - CONCORD. 
HORACE TUTTLE, 

l"™*"*"' M^^^^ Walden St., 




Courteous r / /isi^Bi?? n-^ ::»s.\ /I J 

Hack, Livery 6l Boarding Stable. 

CONNECTED BY TELEPHONE. 

MISS EDITH A. BUCK, 

IHAITK ST., COKCORD. 

Millinery and Fancy Goods, 

Fans, Fancywork Materials, 
Ribbons. 

Agency for Barrett's Dye House. 

ANURSNAKE STOCK FARM, 

Opposite Reformatory. 

Boarding and Pasturage for Horses. 

Draft and Trotting Stallions for servicer 
The imported Shire Stallion, 

««KI]!V«} OF TRUniPS," 515ft. 

Percheron Stallion, 

"MATADOR,'' 6404. . 

Wilkes Stallion, 

"FAUWTtEROY,»> 88«2. 

UVUl stand at •WS» with the asual return priTllese. 

F. C. PIERCE, Concord, Mass. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



146 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

H. L. Whitcomb, 

Concord, - - - Mass. 

DEALER IN 

Mih, Moiery ol iill iilli!, H Misic, 

Fancy (Ms, Soifenir Crockery and Scotch Wood 

Articles with Concord Views, niotographs 

of all na^s of Interest in Concord. 

Rvjal Worcester, HariUnd, AnstrUn China, Glassware, 

Paper Hangringrs, Baseball Goods, Tennis Goods, 

Fishing Tackle, Hanunocks, 

The Best Orades of CONFECTIONERY, 

1Ml»f T0789 Books, Daily and Weekly Papers and 

Ma§razines9 Paper ICapkinSy 

Cutlery^ Soaps and Toilet Articles^ Coneord Guide Books, 

Agent for Canard, White Star and Inman Steamships. Also Laundry and Dye House . 

BENJAMIN DERBY, 

Farmer, - - Main St., Concord Junction, 

DEALER IN ALL GRADES OF 

Cattle, Breeder ol Helium and Small TorMire Fis. 

HOUSE LOTS FOB SALE. 

Also Desirable Lots for Manufacturing Purposes. 

OLE O. THORPE, 

DEAI.ER IBT 

BOOTS, SHOES & RUBBERS 

W. L. DOUGLAS' $3.00 SHOE A SPECIALTY. 

Miain St., Concord. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 47 

Concord Home School, 

I, MASS. 




A Family School for 
Boys. 



Prepares for College, Scientific School, or 
Business. 

Only Twenty-five pupils admitted. 



Four M€ister», iMboratory, CfymnoHutn, Tenais 
Courts, Athletic Fields, Seventy-five Acres of Chround, 
and unrivaled facilities for boating and canoeing on 
the Concord River. 

Terms, $600 per annum. 



APPLY TO 

JAMES 8. GARLAND, Principal, 

CONCORD, MASS. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



14^ CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



Chas. W. Sanford, 

6eal Estate Agent and Anctioneer, 

OfBee in store of H. L. Wbiteomb, 

Miain St., Concord, M!ass. 



W. D. CROSS 6l CO., 

Dry Goods, (ients'Fiirnisliings, etc. 



M^IISr STREET. 

TAWS GONOOHI] ill BOSTON EIFB, 

BOSTOM OFFICES} 

34 COURT SQUARE, 

25 MERCHANTS ROW, 

And 77 KINGSTON STREET. 

Ofllee im Coneord, Rteliardsoii's Block. 

J. M. CRAVES, Proprietor. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 149 

H. S. EIOHARDSON, 

EAST COB. MAIN AND WALDEN STS., 
CONCORD, MASS. 

Tlews of all Places of Intei^st* 

N. S. DANIELS, 

WATCHMAKER AND JEWELER, 

AMU heai^ek im 

Watehesy Clocks, Jewelry and Sllyer Ware, 

Concord, - - Miass. 

Coneord SonTenli* Spoons. 

GEORGE J. EMMOTT, 

Sanitary Engineer, 

Plumber and Tinsmith. 

MAiSrUFACTlTRER Aim SEAUBR TS 

Stoves, Ranges and Furnaces, 

Concord., Mass. 

Carriages, with Guide, to all Points 
of Interest. 




nmm visitisg historic concord 

CAN BE FUBNISHED WITH 

Lunch or Permanent Board at 

MRS. L E. BROOKS'S, 

Opposite Flteliburg: R. R. Depot* 

Connected by Telephone. 



Digitized by L3OOQ IC 



150 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

ESTABI^ISHED 1848. 

WALCOTT, GARFIELD & HOLOEN, 

DEALERS IN 

firoceries, Hardware, Crockery and 
. Fnrnitnre. 

:M[^IISr STREET. 

JOSEPH FITZPATEIOKi 

BLACKSMITH, 

SHOEING, JOBBING & ALL WORK PERTAIN- 
ING TO THE BLACESHITHING 
BUSINESS SOLICITED. 

Shop Sear of Bank Building, Main St., Concord, Mass. 

ESTABUSHED 184S. 

CHARLES E. BROWN, 

MAIN ST., CONCORD, MASS. 

Dry Goods, Hosiery, ((loves, Small Wares. 

Ready-Made Clothing, Gents' Fnmishingr Goods, 
Hats, Caps, Tmnks, etc. 

E. H. MAKER, 

Jobbing, Fnrnitnre Moving, Teaming. 

ImproTed Apparatus for Cleaningr Cesspools. 
Builder of Cellars, etc. 

WOOD AND CHESTNUT POSTS ON HAND AND FDR SALE. 
Walden St., Concord, Mass. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 



151 




Vermont Butter and Poultry every week. 
J. BUCKLEY, 

Electrical M Mecliaiiical Speclaltfes, Bells and WIriiii 
Scissors, Knives ani Elp Tools tanl 

Bic7cle8 Repaired and Keys Fitted. Jobbing of all Kinds. 

AT THE PRATT HOITSE, X-EXUTeTON^ STREET, 

Concord, Mass. 

CHAS. W. HUNT, 

MEATS AND PROVISIONS, 

FRUITS AND VEGETABLES. 

Basement Store, Association Block, 

CONCORD JUNCTION, MASS. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



152 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

GEORGE W. HUNT, 

Main Street. News Dealer. 

Sally Papers delivered bjr Carrier. 
All Che Periodicals and Masaslnes on sale. Also 

Fine ConfeetioneiT, Clgrars, Tobaeeo, Sporting: Goods* 

ICE CREAM 

Served at Store and delivered anywhere- 
Large and Small Orders Solicited. 

Established ISTS. 

FLAGG & RUSSELL, 
— DEALERS IN— CoDcord Juietioii, Mass. 

Groceries, Orain, Hay, Produce, 

Dry Ooods, Boots and Shoes. 

A Foil sad wcU-seleetcd Stock of Gooia mnllj kept la a B«a«r«l Coaatrj Stort. 

" Quick Sale, asd Smmll Profit.." 

Special price, on 'Wholeutle lot. of any Ctood. we kaatUe. 

GEO. H. HOPKINS, 

MANUFACTUBER OP HKAVT AND LIGHT 

Oiastom-JVIade Harnesses, 

SHOP, MAISr STKRET. 

Coastaatly oa kaad : VUp«, Bobes, Cnrry Combs, Blsakots, Axle Oil, Neat* Foot 
OU, Carriage Washers, Collars, Harness Soaps, Spoages, Traaks, Bags, etc. 
Also, on aad Babber Clothing. 

BEPAIBING DONE AT SHORT NOTICE. 

MAIN STREET, .... CONCORD. 

DR. STETSON, 

DENTIST, 

COURT HOUSE BLOCK, 

CONCORD, - - - MASS. 

2!^='Ofl&ce open every day. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 53 

Hosmer Farm. 

HORSES BOARDED SUMMER AND WINTER. 

EXCELLENT PASTURAGE. 

The best of care. Befcrences yiTen U deglred. 

GEORGE M. BAKER, Proprietor, 

COKCORD, 9IA88. 

R W. White, 

Horse Stoeii. ^ CoM FittiM a Specialty. 

CARRIAGE WORK AT REASONABLE PRICES. 

Repairingr done Promptly and Nicely. 

Rear of A. F. Bowman's Provision Store. 

WHEELWRIGHT. 



BOSTON HARNESS COMPANY, 

Wholesale Manufacturers of 

Hanesses, Saddles, Reins aed Strap Work. 

FACTOKX Aim OFFIG£t 

Main St., Concord Junct., Mass. 

EDWARD CLAHANE, 

HOUSE PAINTER. 

GLAZING, KALSOMINING, ETC. 
"W^alden Street, Concord. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



154 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

T. MASON & CO. 




Wholesale and Retail, 
Cor. Barrett's Mill and Lowell Roads, 

CONCORD, MASS. 

H. F. "WOie/TIiLEir, 

Wholbsalb and Retail Dbalbr in 

Milk, Cream, Butter, and Eggs, 
ALSO 'orooD. ■ 

CONCORD, MASS. 

NEWTON D. GROSS, 

Grist and Saw Mill, 

BABBETT'8 MILL BOAD, 

CONCORD MASS, 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 55 

CONCORD GRAIN ELEVATOR, 

Grain, Mill Feeds, Flour and Hay, 

VECETABkC, GRASS, AND FIELD SEEDS; 
FEBTILIZjEHS, ASHES, PLASTER, &c. 

Garden and Farming Tools. 
IF. 0". H-A-STIITOS & OO. 

opposite Fitchburg Depot. CONCORD. MASS* 

Carriage % Sign Painter, 

REAR OF FITCHBURG DEPOT, 

CONCORD MASS. 

A. MOREAU^ 

Blacksmith I Horse Sheer, 

REAB, OF FITCHBURG DEPOT, 

ILL WORK WARRAJTED. CONCORD, MASS. 

LOUGHUN & DEMPSEY, 

House Painters. 

Inside and Outside Work of every description done 
with neatness and despatch. 

GRANT STREET . . CONCORD, MASS. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



156 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

TM E 

MUTUAL LIFE 

INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW YORK, 

RICHARD A. MoCURDY, President, 

IS THE LARGEST LIFE IMSURAHGE CONPANT IM THE WORLD ! 

The Annual Statement for December 31st, 1891, shows that the 
Company transacted a larger business during the year indicated than 
in any previous twelve months since its organization in 1843, ^^^' • 
$172,7**^9^08 ; and has now 225,507 policies in force, insuring 
$695,753,461.03, constituting the largest and best selected army of policy- 
holders to be found in any life insurance company in America or in 
Europe. The assets now amount in the aggregate to $159,507,138.68, 
and the liabilities to $147,476,171.52. The surplus fund, for the payment 
of dividends and to insure the policy-holder against every emergency, 
amounts to $12,030,967.16. But for the former system of the Mutual 
Life, which allowed its policy-holders to reap immediately the benefit of 
the profits accrued in the form of annual dividends, the amount credited 
to this account would be largely in excess of the surplus of any other 
company. 

During the twelve months, the policy-holders of this Company 
received $18,755,711.86. It is, and always has been, a purely Mutual 
Company, and its entire assets belong exclusively to its policy-holders, 
who are partners in the largest and strongest Financial Institution in 
existence. It has paid to its policy-holdfers, during the past 49 years, 

Three Handred and Twenty "seven Million Dollars I 

Its Life Insurance, Endowment, and Annuity contracts afford invest- 
ments as safe as United States Government Bonds, while yielding much 
larger returns. 

The Distribution Policies issued by this Company not only afford 
absolute protection to the families or estates of the insured, but give to the 
surviving policy-holders, at the end of the distribution period (10, 15, or 
20 years), valuable options of settlement for their own benefit; among 
others : 

To draw in cash the entire reserve and accumulated surplus ; 

To take a paid-up policy for the total cash value, with a guaranteed annual 

income for life ; 
To take a paid-up policy for an amount larger than the original policy ; 
To purchase an annuity with the total cash value of the policy, etc., etc. 

Policy-holders in this Company do not have to "<//> /tfw/«,**but 
may secure all the benefits during their own lives ; 

Instead of assuming an ever increasing burden with no possible 
benefit to themselves, they secure an estate for middle age, or a safe 
provision for old age. 

Those who already have life insurance, /fly/a^/^ only at deaths for the 
protection of their families, will still further protect their families, and 
2X^,0 protect t/iemselves against adversity, disaster, and poverty in their 
later years, by getting a Mutual Life Distribution Policy. 

Full particulars in regard to plans, cost, etc., may be had on application to 

WILLIAM M. BUSH, Affent, 

Ojfflce at Residence f Main Street^ near Thoreau Street ^ 

CONCORD, MASS. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 57 

MIDDLESEX 

Hntnal Fire Insnriince Coinany, 

CONCORD, - - MASS. 



INCORPORATEB IHARCH 8, 18196. 



Casli Assets (January 1, 1892) $556,06II.18 

I^tobiUties, « «< ftl90,180.84 

Permanent Fund '* 8l97,58ft.84 

70 Per Ceut. Return Premium on 5-year Policies. 
50 P^i* Cent, an all others. 



' INSURES IN HASSACEnSETTS OEY. 

OEOBOE H£TT?OOD, President. 

RICHARD F. BARRETT, Secretary and Treasurer. 
WILLIAM BARRETT, Asst. Secretary. 



niBBCTORS. 

GEORGE HEYWOOD, Concord. 

GEORGE M. BROOKS, Concokd. 

DUDLEY FOSTER, Billbrica. 

JOHN CUMMINGS, Woburn. 

FRANCIS MURDOCK, Newton. 
JOHN S. KEYES, Concord. 

JOHN S. SAWYER, Cambridge. 

RICHARD F. BARRETT, Concord. 

CHARLES F. STONE, Waltham. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



158 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

Qiicj Hntniil Fire Ince Goupii, 

QUINCt, MASS. 

Incorporated Mareli dd, 18(S1« 

CHARLES A. HOWLAND, President and Treasurer. 
WILLIAM H. FAY, Secretary. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

HoMii IntDul Fire liiiiiiice Coiiy, 

SALEH, MASS. 

Incorporated Mareli 14, 1848. 

CHAS. H. PRICE, President 

THOS. H. JOHNSON, Vice-Pres. and Treas. 

WALTER L. HARRIS, Sec. 
WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Traders, and Heehames' 

NflM Fire liisnce Coiiy, 

LOWELL, MASS. 

Incorporated June, 1848. 

LEVI SPRAGUE, Pres. EDWARD M. TUCKE, Sec. and Treas. 
WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Memmack Motual Fire innce Gompany, 

ANSOTER, MASS. 

Incorporated February 7, 18Sd8. 

WILLIAM S. JENKINS, President. 

JOSEPH A. SMART, Sec. and Treas. 
WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 59 

Worcester Nntnal Fire Insurance Company, 

WORCESTER, MASS. 

Incorporated FebFoary 11, 182S. 

JOHN A. FAYERWEATHER, President. 

ROGER F. UPHAM, Sec. and Treas. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Cambridge Nntnal Fire Insurance Company, 

CAMBRIDGE, MASS. 

Incorporated mareh IS9 181IS. 

DANA W. HYDE, President. 

ALFRED L. BARBOUR, Sec. and Treas. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Itna Insurance Company, 

HARTFORD, CT. 

Incorporated June, 1819. 

CASH ASSETS, - - - 810,659,130.03. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

American Insnrance Company, 

BOSTON, MASS. 

Incorporated June 12, 1818. 

CASH ASSETS, - - - - 8630,160.54. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



l6o CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

BoylstOD iDsarance Company, 

BOSTOJH^, MASS. 

Incorporated December SdO, 18729 

CASH ASSETS, ^ - - - 8015,809.27. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

German-Aierican InsnraDce Company 

JVTETF YORK. 

Ineorporsted Msreli, 187S. 
CASH ASSETS, - - - 85,879,208.45. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Hartford Fire Insurance Company, 

Hartford, Ot. 

nVCOBPORATED ■ . ISIO. 

CASH ASSETS, - - - 86,373,262.00. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Home Insurance Company, 

NMW YOBK. 

Imeorpopsted April, 18SS. 
CASH ASSETS, - - - 80,723,430.07. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. l6l 



kpaoj of Ml 



IJliva, 



PHILADELPHIA, - PA. 
Iiieorpomted April 14> 1794. 

CASH ASSETS, ... 89,278,220.00. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

iJ ...»" -„ 

Hartford, Ot. Incorporated May, 1854. 

CASH ASSETS, - - 85,720,136.70. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 





J) 

Providence, R. I. 

IIVCORPORATED ... 1790. 

CASH ASSETS, - - - - 81,480,603.16. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 



Sp 




1 fire m mm idsiim miij, 

Springfield, Mass. 

IIVCORPORATED - - - 1849. 

CASH ASSETS, - - - 83,631,060.42. 

WILLIAM BARRETT, Agent. 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



l62 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

William Barrett, 

.*. .*. .*. General Insurance Agent. 

Bepresents the Iiesding Companies 1»otli 

STOCK AND MUTUAL. 

OFFICE: Conrt Honse BIo«k, Nonnment Square, Coneord. 



STOCK COMPANIES. 

Insurance Company of North America of Philadelphia. 
German- American Insurance Company of New York. 
ProTidence Washington Insurance Company of ProTidence. 
Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance Company of 
Springfield. 

Pheenix Insurance Company of Hartford. 
Hartford Insurance Company of Hartford. 

Boylston Insurance Company of Boston. 
American Insurance Company of Boston. 
Northern Assurance Company of England. 
Home Insurance Company of New York. 

MtnsL Insurance Company of Hartford. 



MUTUAL COMPANIES. 

(!UINCY,-HOLYOKE,-DORCHESTER, 

TRADERS & MECHANICSV-WORCESTER, 
CAMBRIDGE,-MERRIMACR,-CITIZENS'. 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 1 63 



INDEX TO ADVERTISERS. 



CONCORD PATRONS. 

PAGB 

Baker, George M 153 

Barrett, William 162 

Benjamin, Cyrus W . ,138 

Boston Harness Co 153 

Bowman, A. F 151 

Brooks Farm 144 

Brooks, L. E., Mrs 149 

Brown, Charles E 150 

Brown, B. W. 139 

Buck, Edith A., Miss 145 

Buckley, John 151 

Bush, William Mack 156 

Chapman, H. H 155 

Clahane, Edward 153 

Cross, W. D., & Co 148 

Damon Manufacturing Co. (See colored page). 

Daniels, N. S. 149 

Davis, N. A. . . 141 

Derby, Benjamin 146 

Eaton, Lorenzo 141 

Emmott, George J. 149 

Farrar, W. T 138 

Flagg & Russell 152 

Fitzpatrick, Joseph •. .150 

Friend, John C . . . 135, 139, 145 

Garland, James S 147 

Gross, N. D. 154 

Harrington, A 142 

Hastings, F. J., & Co 155 

Hatch, M. L 142 

Hopkins, George H 152 

Hunt, Charles W 151 

Hunt, George W .152 

Johnson, B. F . . . 143 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



164 CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 

PAGE 

Jones Brothers 144 

Kandal, W. A 141 

Loring, J. H., & Sons 144 

Loughlin & Dempsey 155 

Lowden, A. S. . , 140 

Maker, E. H 150 

Mara, Mark , 141 

Martell, E. D 143 

Mason, T., & Co 154 

Middlesex Mutual Fire Insurance Co 157 

Moreau, A 155 

Murray, J. D. ; 142 

Pierce, F. C. 145 

Pratt, F. G. . 143 

Richardson, H. S . . .149 

Sanford, C. W 148 

Stetson, J. T. 152 

Taylor's Express 148 

Thorpe, Ole 146 

Todd, Thomas 131 

Towle, G. W. & C. H 142 

Tuttle, E. L 139 

Tuttle, Horace ^ . 145 

Walcott, Garfield & Holden 150 

Wheeler, George F 144 

Wheeler, Will&m 143 

Whitcomb, H. L 146 

White, P. W 153 

Willis, Fanny C, Miss 138 

Wood, Albert E 138 

Wood, James B 140 

Worthley, H. P 154 

OUT OF TOWN PATRONS. 

PAGB 

iEtna Insurance Co. 159 

American Insurance Co 159 

American House . .128 

Beacon Press 131 

Bedford House . . ^ 132 

Belcher, W. M., & Co. . ' 136 

Benjamin, W. W., & Co 127 

Bowker Fertilizer Co 139 

Boylston Insurance Co 160 

Brooks, W. C, & Co 129 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



CONCORD DIRECTORY AND GUIDE. 165 

PAGE 

Cambridge Mutual Fire Insurance Co ^ I59 

Cook, T. D., & Co 127 

Derby, E. J., & Co 136 

Enterprise Printing Co 137 

Forbush, O. H 130 

Garfield, M. B 130 

German- American Insurance Co 160 

Groom, T., & Co 126 

Hartford Fire Insurance Co 160 

Holyoke Mutual Fire Insurance Co 158 

Home Insurance Co. 160 

Insurance Co. of North America 161 

Johns, H. W., Manufacturing Co 135 

Keeler & Co 126 

Lothrop, D., Co. . . 128 

McCallar, J. F 134 

Merrimack Mutual Fire Insurance Co 158 

New York Life Insurance Co. 134 

Nickles, Darmody & Co 134 

Peabody Brothers 129 

People's Dry Goods Co 132 

Phoenix Insurance Co 161 

Providence Washington Insurance Co 161 

Quincy Mutual Fire Insurance Co 158 

Rawson, W. W., & Co 129 

Reed & Barton 133 

Remington Typewriter 134 

Richardson, W. H., Co 127 

Robbins, Chauncy B 136 

Robbins, Webster C 136 

Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance Co 161 

Tebbetts Brothers 129 

Tolman & Billings 130 

Traders' & Mechanics* Mutual Fire Insurance Co. . . .158 

Tuttles, Jones & Wetherbee 135 

Wheeler Reflector Co 126 

Worcester Mutual Fire Insurance Co 159 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



Digitized by VjOOQ IC 




igitized by Google